We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had a fantastic week in the Conrado , the staff were great ,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conrado Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crown Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Conrado Beach Resort
Save
You added Conrado Beach Resort to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   LP #9 Pigeon Point Road | Pigeon Point, Crown Point, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Crown Point B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I had a fantastic week in the Conrado , the staff were great ,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

I went to the Conrado in October 2010 , its the first time i have been in this part of the world , the staff were really helpful and friendly , the food was delicious and the rooms were very clean , i loved my stay there , my favourite thing in the evening was to relax on the veranda with a drink and watch the sun go down , the most beautiful beach is only 5 minutes along the road and its paradise , we were not hassled by the locals in any way and everyone was friendly , i would certainly recommend this hotel and irs friendly staff , i will certainly be back this year for another holiday .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    39
    7
    8
    7
See reviews for
29
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Me and my husband stayed for 7 nights and were very pleased. Staff is friendly, food in restaurant good and reasonably priced, the generous breakfast included was cooked for you on demand. Location is fabulous right on the beach, a 10-minute walk from the Pigeon Point and Store Bay beaches, as well as the restaurants/bars of Crown Point. We stayed in a superior ocean front room which had a lovely balcony (with sundbeds) from which we could enjoy amazing sunsets. Rooms are basic but good and functional, maybe the cleaning could shape up a little, e.g. a couple of days we didn´t get any towels. Free wireless internet worked very well in room, a treat. We really recommend this place if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing experience without luxury demands.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

You can't beat this hotel's location. The hotel is located literally ON the beach! The expansive porch has to be the best place in all of Tobago to watch the sun set. The hotel is also a short walk from Pigeon Point beaches, the fantastic Store Bay beach complex, as well as all other sights in the Crown Point area. Unfortunately, the rooms are minimal, a bit dingy and the could use a bit of sprucing up.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

This hotel covers all basics and is reasonably priced, is not meant to be posh or exclusive but staff are lovely. I read a few negative comments about fishers and fish boats in front of the hotel but indeed they do not cause any noise or nuisance at all and are not even there most of the time. The beach looks nice but if you are planning to do snorkeling go elsewhere (I mean to another country altogether), the water is cold, shallow and there are no fishes what-so-ever.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amersfoort
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

We stayed here one night while actually staying on the east side of Tobago for 2 weeks. The location is great, walking distance to Pigeon Point. The hotel is litterally on the beach! The rooms were quite run down and could use a nice upgrade. Really shame, cause some renovated rooms could make this place really top!!
Very friendly staff.

Dennis
Holland

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

The hotel is walking distance to the Pigeon Point beach, one of the best beaches in the island. The room rate includes fresh breakfast with a variety of choices for all. The location is quiet. The rooms facing the ocean are the best and quiet. The street side facing rooms are not as quiet due to light vehicle traffic and three caged parrots. The rooms are very clean, AC, cable TV and clean linens. It is better located than the expensive hotel down the street. A great value for your buck.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Conrado beach resort has many things going for it, but although we enjoyed our stay I can imagine anyone with higher expectations re: cleanliness and facilities would be a bit disappointed.

The best things about it are:
The Management. Maria is a friendly and interesting woman with a real laid back Tobagan attitude. We arrived at night and were instantly greeted with 2 beastly caribs (two cold beers in Tobagan). She was good for recommending things to do and set up a boat trip for us (can't quite recall were we went but included the Nylon sea/bank and I would recommend it).
Food was simple but excellent. We found the food in Tobago a bit dull to be honest and there weren't many nice places to eat out. Cafe Coco is just down the road and although servicable was a bit like a more expensive Bella Pasta but in cute surroundings. For some reason dinner service in Tobago seems to finish really early (about 9) so get in early and book if possible. Dillons seafood restaurant in Crown Point was a better option, good food but pricey - good service and jolly experience. But the overall winner was Conrado. It's pretty straight forward, you get an option of chicken/beef/lamb and the just bring you their surprise dish with aromatic local spices, really delicious. If you're thinking of eating at Kariwak Village (which seems to be quite highly recommended), don't just roll up like we did - do book in advance otherwise you'll be disappointed. Our only other food recommendation was a surprising find when turned away from Kariwak, our taxi driver took us to a place called Bonkers. Sounds like it should be terrible but was actually a really sweet fairy lit little place with pretty okay food and nice atmsophere.
The other and probably most important selling point is that it is without doubt the best hotel location on the island. Don't bother booking unless you get a sea view room. You get your own balcony and I don't believe you can get a room this close the sea anywhere else on the island. This stretch of beach is also deserted bar a few fishermen and we didn't experience any "hawkers" as mentioned in reviews of other areas. You are a 5 min walk along the beach from Pigeon Point - the most idyllic beach on the island. Worth buying a week pass to this beach and I recommend their cocktail bar and the restaurant (though very low key) is fine. Do buy the Rough Guide Guide to Trinidad and Tobago (it was our bible). You'll find the palm tree on the cover is a 2 min walk from Conrado up to pigeon point. The only other great hotel location I would have been tempted with was Bacolet Beach - we went there several times, it's a bit less picturesque in that the sand isn't white and the water a bit deeper but it's great for secluded swimming and there looks to be a charming hotel just above it. Good beach for slightly rainy/stormy days with nice beach restaurant.

For some reason the management of Conrado don't seem to be particularly motivated by money. With a bit of a refurb, they could charge much greater prices - it's a nicer location than Coco Reef (which although nice enough felt quite artificial and a bit cheesy). The whole place is a bit run down and there are a few resident stray cats and dogs - even in the dining area. We had a hole in our patio windows (with shoddy lock) which we stuffed with a towel to keep the mossies out. The worst aspect without a doubt was the bar. It was pretty grim in terms of decor althought the balcony is lovely as you're looking out to sea. It had the same group of locals in each night and although it was fun to play pool for a while, sometimes you just want to be able to drink a cocktail and have a romantic evening without feeling you had to escape without being rude. If anyone suggests taking you to a disco/their studio/bar etc I would recommend against it - don't let your guard down. On a serious point women should really watch their drinks as rohynol is certainly in use on the island and even being out with your husband won't necessarily protect you. I don't mean to scare anyone off, most of the people were lovely and genuine but do beware of people's motives to befriend you no matter how old/harmless they seem.
All in all I would say Conrado was a great little find but I wish we'd spent less time in the bar feeling arkward and had a little more luxury. Stunning location, good food, very relaxed but don't go there if you're in any way high maintenance.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conrado Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrado Beach Resort

Address: LP #9 Pigeon Point Road | Pigeon Point, Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Conrado Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Conrado Beach Hotel Crown Point
Conrado Beach Resort Tobago/Crown Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrado Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.