We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistently great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel to your Saves list
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Store Bay Local Road, Crown Point, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“consistently great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is the third time at this place. I have no regrets. The only drawback to this place is that it is not on the beach,but there are shuttles for pigeon point and store bay is not far. Great for just chilling, liming and some r&r.

Room Tip: Take the rooms by the pool. If you want more privacy, ask for rooms at the back. And do not miss out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    60
    12
    6
    8
See reviews for
41
97
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here in January and we cannot fault it on anything. We are not into Yoga etc. but the gardens are just wonderful, so many beautiful flowers to be enjoyed and they attract a good range of birds including humming birds. Food is excellent, although there are several restaurants within walking distance. We have stayed at several hotels in Tobago over the years, but this one is the best and we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night last month with my two girlfriends. While the room was a bit on the smaller side, the property itself was very well kept and perfect for relaxation. We ended up being very pleased with our choice.

We were mostly impressed with the service and staff. After our arrival at noon, we realized that we had missed the shuttle service to Pigeon Point which departs at 11am. However, the management were happy to accommodate us and arranged with the driver to take us. On check out we were informed that our meals and drinks from the previous day would be complementary and did not have to pay any additional charges. And if that wasn't enough the management arranged an airport drop of for us as well and at no additional cost!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights in february 2012 and are so pleased. The rooms/bungalows are of ok standard, cozy and clean. The food is excellent! Its not far to walk to the beach. There are different classes of yoga in the mornings, try it! The breakfast is the best. The best of all; the service and the people working in the hotell are so nice. We can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Had a wonderfully peaceful, relaxing week at the Kariwak in February 2013 before going to Port of Spain for Carnival. For us, not having a TV in the room is a plus point and ice and water are available 24/7 in reception, so a fridge is not essential.

We've have eaten at the restaurant on previous Tobago holidays but this was our first stay at the hotel. It was good to find that despite being close to the airport there is virtually no noise disturbance, even when outside enjoying the beautiful, immaculate gardens, pool, hammocks and jacuzzi.

The food is outstanding; every single mouthful of every meal was delicious! Breakfast consisted of fresh juice, fresh fruit platter, homemade granola, homemade yoghurt, Kariwak honey and jam, freshly made breads and bakes, eggs any way you like, buljol, fried fish and a selection of hot drinks including their own delicious tea blend,

Even if you are a resident, you do need to book a table for dinner each day as the restaurant is very popular. Enjoyed the live band and dancing on Friday. The lunch menu of sandwiches, salads and snacks is available all afternoon - until 7 pm which is ideal if you don't want to be clock-watching when out. The new cookbook is a real bonus and we've enjoyed the recipes we've tried.

Our pool side room was spacious, spotlessly clean, well furnished, had a comfortable bed and was thoughtfully equipped with an iron and ironing board. Sound insulation between the rooms is not brilliant, but only on the first night did we have noisy neighbours. Putting the air-con on helps muffle voices but didn't drown out the relentless, late night bathroom door slamming.

There's a small supermarket within a 50 metre walk, plus other shops, restaurants, bars and banks nearby. Sheppy Car Hire is virtually opposite and we've found them good in the past.

As well as the courtesy bus to the beach each day, the Kariwak helpfully offers an airport drop off service on departure.

Can't wait to go back for another stay!

Room Tip: Next time we will try a garden room - a longer walk to meals but it will burn off some calories!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent only one night at this hotel and decided to change hotels. There is nothing to complain about but it's a particular place that caters to a special clientele that is looking for a holistic/yoga/healing kind of place. The rooms are small and quiet but rustic and there was no TV or fridge in room for the price they charge. We had to walk a long distance in the dim torch lights to get some ice, not the kind of comfort and luxury hotel we were looking for. Breakfast was included but we had to eat what they prepared which meant I ended up having a cup of coffee and some stale bread with very little butter and jam, not being able to eat smoked herrings in the morning. The staff is very nice but the service is very slow when the place is fully booked as they tend to be understaffed. Just make sure it really corresponds to the kind of vacation you are looking for.

Room Tip: For the same price you can book at one of the big resorts on the island with breakfast buffet and al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a wonderful first time experience at Kariwak in March. It is an excellent retreat in many ways, and we will definitely return, but our peace of mind was affected by the dog in the next door property that sometimes barks all night long. The Kariwak owner does an excellent job of maintaining standards, but on the occasions she wasn't around, the quality of service in the restaurant deteriorated significantly. On one occasion the number of outside visitors to the restaurant meant that there was no hot food left by the time we arrived to eat. We heard rumours that Kariwak is up for sale, and hopefully this won't affect the personal touch that has obviously contributed to the excellence of this retreat. The yoga was wonderful with Tanya, but the massage with Anthony was grumpy and a bit unnervin, with no bedside manner to speak of. The extreme proximity to the airport was more invasive than we thought it would be but that might have been because we're already sensitive to noise because of the dog.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from noisy dog next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel

Address: Store Bay Local Road, Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kariwak is an intimate 24 room Tobago hotel with unmistakable Caribbean ambiance. It features wholesome cuisine using its own home-grown herbs in the restaurant, and holistic holiday activities - yoga, massage, Tai Chi. There is an award-winning tropical garden with abundant plants and bird life in addition to the garden jacuzzi, pool, weekend live entertainment. Kariwak enjoys a high percentage of repeat clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Regatta Hotels so you can book your Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven Hotel Crown Point
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven And Hotel Tobago/Crown Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.