We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monasterio De Rueda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Monasterio De Rueda to your Saves list
Monasterio De Rueda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50780 | Ctra. Sastago-Escatron, Km. 9, 50780 Sastago, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sastago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Larnagol
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful old building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is one of a suite of hotels revamped by the region of Aragon. Rather than let these buildings fall into ruin, they have turned them into high quality hotels, with beautifully designed rooms, but since they are all off the beaten track, they do not command the prices asked for in the Paradors. This monastery is situated in a desolate area, so if you go there, don't think of getting out to see the local attractions. Just be content to wander around the gardens and the water wheel, and lounge around reading in the many public rooms soaking in the old splendour.

Room Tip: Look for special offers before you book, a romantic meal, weekend special, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    25
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
36
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived one afternoon intending to just look round the monastery. It was so interesting that we spent ages there and not having booked a hotel, enquired about staying the night. We were most impressed with the helpfulness of Javiez Aguayo, the manager. Room was good and looked out at the huge water-wheel with the River Ebro beyond. Dinner, wine and breakfast were excellent. It was wonderful to be able to wander around the building on our own. A bit like staying in a Parador but considerably cheaper. Liked it so much we came back the following night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here yesterday and found it a delightful place to spend a night. The 2 gentlemen at Reception were extremely pleasant, attentive and helpful and gave us lots of useful information. As hotel guests, we were able to visit the monastery free of charge. We also had time to do the 2 short walks recommended by one of the receptionists. It was interesting to see the huge restored wooden waterwheel and to walk by the fast-flowing River Ebro.

We had the set menu (@ €16) which was a little disappointing: small portions and the main courses weren't hot enough, though the food quality was fine. The wine, however, a white Montesierra @ €15, was excellent.

The room was fine though nothing special; it was overly warm though the heating wasn't on. We slept well, however, in the comfortable bed. The hotel is extremely quiet and has a very nice atmosphere.

On check-out we offered a tip as one of the receptionists had gone out of his way to provide useful information and both had been very friendly. The other receptionist declined this, saying that what they appreciate is knowing that guests have enjoyed their stay. Not only that, he gave us a very nice small book about the monastery. Remarkable!

Well, we certainly did enjoy our stay and can heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have spent there a week end, just to escape from the noise of Madrid. The place is quiet, perfect for families. The staff is nice and friendly, very good the Restaurant "Bodega" at the ground floor. Room was correct and nice. Not bad at all for a little escape.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

First of all, this is Aragon. If you were visiting the US for the first time, would you make straight for Iowa??? Probably not. You would want to see NYC, the Washington Monument, etc. Ditto for Spain. Best to see Madrid and Barcelona before you head to the arid moonscape of central Aragon. But when you are ready to see "the real Spain", by all means visit the beautiful forgotten towns of Caspe, Samper, Sastago, and Alcaniz.....and stay at the Monastery of the Wheel. (Rueda means wheel in Spanish and the old mill wheel is still standing.)

I just got back from a week at the this lovely hotel. Here are some observations:

1) There are not many guests. That's good. Very quiet. Also bad, because it makes me wonder how healthy the business is. (Better get there quick.)

2) The old cloister dates from the 1200's. The rooms are located in a more modern section (500 years old?). They are very clean and elegant. However, they are small (by American standards). Also, the TV is a 20 inch computer monitor. That being said, I hope you do not go there to watch TV. Temperature control is excellent......very important for Aragon, where it is either very cold or very hot.

3) Service is excellent, from front desk to housekeeping. Management resides on site and is always available.

4) Restaurant is excellent. However, at about 25 Euros for the fixed price menu, it was a bit expensive for my taste. I prefer the cheaper, more rustic fare available at most bars. Breakfast is 10 Euros.....a buffet.....very well prepared. I think you can get it included in your rate at a discount. I did not.

5) Really nice swimming pool. Don't miss it if you are there in the summer.

6) Value? Very good. I will not say what I paid. I suspect that rates change frequently based on season, length of stay, etc. I will simply say that it was an excellent value in comparison to Parador hotels.......about half the price .Thumbs up.

I am going to give 4/5 stars because I cannot give it 4.5.

.5 = Restaurant prices a bit high, rooms a bit on the tight side, and (despite my love of Aragon), this place IS in the middle of nowhere.

Please visit this beautiful, historic hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

We chilled out here for two nights in August after flying in to Zaragoza airport and prior to a tour of Aragón and Navarra. Peaceful and beautiful place to stay with great food and pleasant staff. As there were not many people staying, there wasn’t always someone staffing the bar/café but you could always summon someone from reception. We arrived slightly too late for lunch, but they were happy to bring us something up to our room. You can take a guided tour of the monastery itself, which was great: swallows swooping around, wall-paintings and a lovely cloister.

  • Liked — Peace and relaxation
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monasterio De Rueda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monasterio De Rueda

Address: 50780 | Ctra. Sastago-Escatron, Km. 9, 50780 Sastago, Spain
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Sastago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sastago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monasterio De Rueda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monasterio De Rueda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monasterio De Rueda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.