We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aruba Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aruba Mara Camp
Save Saved
You added Aruba Mara Camp to your Saves list
Postbox 727 Narok | Talek Massai Mara, Narok, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Narok B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Aruba for two nights and did two short safaris and one full day safari. Our guide, Peter, who is also the manager of Aruba, was really good. He made sure saw all of the animals and he knew the park inside out. The food was very good, except for maybe the packed lunch on the full day safari, which was a little plain. Overall though, we were very happy. The rooms and bathrooms in the tents were very nice and spacious. We had hot water all the time and had electricity in the tents from early evening to morning. The staff was friendly and attentive. The only thing to keep in mind is that this camp is by the talek gate, which, coming from Nairobi, adds another hour of travel. However, it is well worth it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ponce Inlet, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was my first stop on a 7 day safari. The tents were clean and spacious. The food was good. There was a fire in the evening. The location is near the park entrace making it a great place to stay. Meals were served and there is a bar available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our first visit 'out west' was a family adventure, with my husband's parents visiting East Africa for the first time. Daniel met us at Ol Kiombo airstrip and the adventures really began. Within 24 hours, just four game drives later, we'd spotted the Big 5. The food was great, tents just what we needed (spacious), plenty of time to relax and chill out. Daniel was really superb and was patient and informative. Peter and the team really went out of their way to make the trip special - our Papa was celebrating a big birthday and we have wonderful memories of a sundowner with Wildebeest and a Secretary bird. Super for families as you can watch animals grazing by the river at breakfast and sit around a fire pit at night. Felt safe and secure during our four day stay. Questions to owner answered quickly - make sure you get clarification of cost/currency as no credit cards accepted.

Room Tip: Residents can pay the lower charge to enter the park - make sure you have ID with you. Take warm cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Traveled with our two children and loved the accommodations. Enjoyed hearing the wildlife at night and seeing the stars around the campfire. Fantastic food...much, much better than you'd think you'd get at a safari camp and they cooked around any dietary concerns that we had. Staff is thoughtful and friendly. Our standard, permanent tent had a four-poster bed and all the comforts of home. Can see baboons playing across the river...also other animals. Very pleasant.

Actually (to address a complaint in a previous review), our driver took us so far into the park that we nearly didn't make it back out when the park closed! We saw *all* the animals that we wanted to see, right off the bat. We felt like we had a very good experience with the safari drives.

They provide a footlocker-style bench to lock up valuables while away from the tent.

The dining hall tent provided electrical strips for guests to charge their electronics, if wished.

The Masai village was also a fun experience--have to recommend that tour, as well.

Room Tip: All of the permanent tents are on the river...with nice views, I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

While the staff were nice, the camp looked tired and was massively overpriced for what you get. You feel quite ripped off, especially given that the camp cost didn't include the park entry fees (us 300 per day for our small family). Also, the drivers only go a few kilometres into the park - so you see the same scenery on every game drive and are there will several other groups.

I suggest to do your research and look for game.drives that go all day and that go deep into the park - with lunch prepared while in a quiet spot out on the drive.

Hope this helps

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunia, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in July, during the wildebeest migration. The manager sent a driver to pick us up in Nairobi and bring us by road to the camp. We were traveling with my brother and his family, their first time in Africa, so the drive gave them a chance to see more of Kenya than if we had flown. The drive was long (6 hours), but pleasant and we stopped as needed.
The camp itself is small and beautiful, right on the edge of the park. My husband and I had previously stayed at one of the "big name" camps, and it had more amenities (like a pool), but this was every bit as enjoyable. It's small enough that the staff all know you and can help with any questions or problems. We stayed in a standard permanent tent, and it was spacious and just as comfortable as the ones at the big name camp. We had a great driver, friendly and knowledgeable, for our game drives.
We would highly recommend the visit to the Masai village. They asked 1000 KES, and it is obviously a commercial venture, but it was relaxed and friendly just the same. We saw some dancing, visited a house, learned some about the customs, and were invited to join in with some of the dancing. Afterwards there were crafts we could buy, and the guide helped us haggle a bit. But it was all very low pressure, no problem. And a pleasant walk.
We were delightfully surprised by the quality of the food! Delicious, varied, lovely presentation. They catered to the needs of my sister who is vegetarian, as well. We highly recommend this camp.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed at the Aruba Mara camp after reading positive reviews on TripAdvisor; I wasn't disappointed. Questions prior to arrival were answered promptly, and travelling tips were helpful. The flight to Olkiombo airstrip was an adventure in itself. I was met on arrival at the airstrip by Tom, in his Masai finery. He was my safari driver too, very knowledgeable and considerate, a really lovely guy. My tent was lovely, big bed and cosy hot water bottle for the cooler evenings. From the verandah you could see warthogs, baboon, gazelle, mongoose etc across the river, I even saw a hippo too. The food was good, and the guys had no trouble catering for me even though I'm vegetarian. The full board deal with inclusive game drives is excellent value. My stay was great, I only wished I had stayed a little bit longer.

Room Tip: All the tents overlook the river (not sure about the bush tents)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aruba Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruba Mara Camp

Address: Postbox 727 Narok | Talek Massai Mara, Narok, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Narok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Narok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruba Mara Camp is a tented Camp boardering the Talek River, next to Talek Gate in north Massai Mara. From Nairobi 260 Km driving through Narok. Just outside the gate, so no parkfee if you not do game-drive. We have from budget tents ( comfortable beds with mosquitonet an public bathroom ) to Big-tent ( spacious with privat bathroom ) and Luxury ( ask us for new pictures please ) category for every budget for everyone. We also have a spacious campsite with facilitys like kitchen/dining, toilets and hot water shower, security, carwash, firewood and laundry service. our buffalo bar and restaurant serving highly recomended food and a fine selection of wine, spirits and cold sodas. Naturewalks,visit of cultural village, birdwatching and hotair-balloon is available.Bushbreakfast, sundowner and fullday-drives with Lunch on request.Shutteltransfer from Nairobi can be arranged. Transfer from our airstrip is free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aruba Mara Camp Hotel Narok
Aruba Mara Camp Kenya/Narok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aruba Mara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.