We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aruba Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aruba Mara Camp to your Saves list
Aruba Mara Camp
Postbox 727 Narok | Talek Massai Mara, Narok, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Narok B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were blown away with our stay at the Aruba Mara.

From our porch that faced the Talek River we saw impalas, warthogs, baboons, vervet monkeys, even zebra and wildebeast in the distance! On the last night we saw a hippo in the river. And there are so many beautiful birds in this camp.

The game drives were fantastic. There was a great nature walk in the afternoon with a guide that is so knowledgeable!

Accomodating my vegetarian diet was no problem. The food was fantastic.

It is perfectly peaceful. I dream of someday returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
20
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Spent two nights at Aruba Mara Camp and apart from being difficult to find in the dark it was great. Couldn't
believe the hot water bottle in the bed! Flask of coffee left on terrace before early morning game drive.
Staff very helpful and friendly. We sat round the camp fire after dinner and were joined by staff who enjoyed
hearing about the animals we had seen that day. We would recommend this as a good small camp -
only 5 large tents next to the river.

Room Tip: Some tents have one double bed or for families there is a tent with more beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed two nights at Aruba Mara Camp and wish we could have stayed longer.
The camp is ideally located right by one of the main gates to the reserve (Talek Gate) so is great for those early morning game drives. On such mornings they bring coffee and biscuits to your tent to keep you going before breakfast is served after the drive.
The tents are fab with four poster beds and a brick attached bathroom. They all have a deck that overlooks the river and it was nice to sit and watch the warthogs and impala on the other side. At night they even provide the nice touch of a hot water bottle.
The food provided is also to a very good standard and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. One word of warning if you are self-driving is that a 4x4 is essential.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Aruba camp sits perched on the river on the edge of the Masai Mara right alongside one of the gates into the Masai Mara, ideally positioned for a Safari or four! The camp has large tents or a slightly more back to nature versions we chose not to sample, which also looked clean and comfortable. Our tents had two very firm, but comfortable four poster beds with a large outdoor en-suite with very hot solar heated water supply. The meals were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

The highlights were the owl that sat on the roof answering my friend’s snore all night which had us all in stitches, watching banded mongoose playing while we ate our breakfast and hearing a lion attack in the reserve at night.

Getting to Aruba is a real adventure in itself, however once you are there it is well worth it, not 5 star, but comfortable, safe and accommodating, all you need for an African adventure!

Room Tip: All tents look over the river and out on to the park, so any one of them ios ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I can't imagine how anyone has had a negative experience of this place, it just doesn't seem possible! The staff (Sammy) and masai guides (Tom and Daniel) made our short time in Masai Mara absolutely wonderful. Aruba camp is a little haven on the edge of the talek river. Most tents have a river view, with deck chairs on your balcony where you can sit and watch for hippos. Inside, you've got a stunning four poster bed, with carvings of the trees and animals - done by the team themselves. The bathroom is huge, with a gorgeous stone floor, hot shower AND bottles of water. The camp does three activities per day; two game drives and a nature walk - all included in the full board price. Before the morning drive, they wake you up with a cup of tea or coffee IN BED and biscuits. At night, if it's going to be cold - they bring you a hot water bottle. What more could you want??? What about delicious food, a three course lunch and a four course dinner, a fully stocked bar and beer garden? Aruba has it all. Highly recommend anyone looking for a bit of luxury at a fraction of the price - to come and stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We heard of Aruba Mara via word of mouth and made our booking direct with them (via SMS!). They were great, highglights for us were - the service (Sami, Jacob and everyone were very friendly and efficient!), - the tents (set us up with extra beds for the kids and they loved the novelty of an outside bathroom!) and the animals!! So much stuff so close to the camp, we were amazed. This was our first Mara experience and we all loved it. The staff (service and drivers) were great with our kids (5, 3 and 1 years old). Aruba mara worked for us! (I am trying to think of what didn't work for us or we didn't like... and there wasn't anything that stuck out...)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We had very negative experience here. We just needed a place to spend one night, we had our own vehicle and guide so we did not require any game drives from them. They charged 3000 ksh more per person than we were quoted before we arrived. Their extremely high rate also did not include any bottled drinks like water or soda. When we checked out they claimed they could not make change for our cash so they insisted we take one of their employees with us to the next city and give him the money there as well as pay his way back to the lodge. When we came up with the exact amount they still wanted us to give him a ride to Narok. So it turned out they were just lying about the change to get us to pay for their employee’s trip to Narok. I have stayed at other places on the Mara and can tell you there are much nicer places to stay for that kind of money and plenty of places that won’t try to take advantage of you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narok
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olarro
Olarro
#1 of 15 in Narok
5.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#13 of 132 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#62 of 132 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
#100 of 132 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruba Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruba Mara Camp

Address: Postbox 727 Narok | Talek Massai Mara, Narok, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Narok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Narok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruba Mara Camp is a tented Camp boardering the Talek River, next to Talek Gate in north Massai Mara. From Nairobi 260 Km driving through Narok. Just outside the gate, so no parkfee if you not do game-drive. We have from budget tents ( comfortable beds with mosquitonet an public bathroom ) to Big-tent ( spacious with privat bathroom ) and Luxury ( ask us for new pictures please ) category for every budget for everyone. We also have a spacious campsite with facilitys like kitchen/dining, toilets and hot water shower, security, carwash, firewood and laundry service. our buffalo bar and restaurant serving highly recomended food and a fine selection of wine, spirits and cold sodas. Naturewalks,visit of cultural village, birdwatching and hotair-balloon is available.Bushbreakfast, sundowner and fullday-drives with Lunch on request.Shutteltransfer from Nairobi can be arranged. Transfer from our airstrip is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aruba Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aruba Mara Camp Hotel Narok
Aruba Mara Camp Kenya/Narok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aruba Mara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.