We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - thanks so much” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aruba Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aruba Mara Camp
Save Saved
You added Aruba Mara Camp to your Saves list
Postbox 727 Narok | Talek Massai Mara, Narok, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Narok B&B and Inns
Bunbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place - thanks so much”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We heard of Aruba Mara via word of mouth and made our booking direct with them (via SMS!). They were great, highglights for us were - the service (Sami, Jacob and everyone were very friendly and efficient!), - the tents (set us up with extra beds for the kids and they loved the novelty of an outside bathroom!) and the animals!! So much stuff so close to the camp, we were amazed. This was our first Mara experience and we all loved it. The staff (service and drivers) were great with our kids (5, 3 and 1 years old). Aruba mara worked for us! (I am trying to think of what didn't work for us or we didn't like... and there wasn't anything that stuck out...)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We had very negative experience here. We just needed a place to spend one night, we had our own vehicle and guide so we did not require any game drives from them. They charged 3000 ksh more per person than we were quoted before we arrived. Their extremely high rate also did not include any bottled drinks like water or soda. When we checked out they claimed they could not make change for our cash so they insisted we take one of their employees with us to the next city and give him the money there as well as pay his way back to the lodge. When we came up with the exact amount they still wanted us to give him a ride to Narok. So it turned out they were just lying about the change to get us to pay for their employee’s trip to Narok. I have stayed at other places on the Mara and can tell you there are much nicer places to stay for that kind of money and plenty of places that won’t try to take advantage of you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

My family was in Masai Mara for a Safari trip in the middle of June 2010 and stayed at the Aruba camp for two nights which were for all of us an unforgettable experience. After many weeks of research and looking on the web we finally decided on the Aruba Camp and I am rally happy to say that we really made a good decision. The camp is really value for money; an intimate (only 6 tents) comfortable, clean and with great service. The tent was far beyond our expectations, very clean, roomy and fresh with all the needed amenities. The food was consistently delicious with an excellent variety of choice each day and even our kids loved it.
The staff, Masai people was excellent hosts and made us feel at home. Our kids (4 and 6 years old) were playing with the ovner’s dog Eros and they really had a place to run.
The staff even put a hot water bottle in the beds while we were at the diner if they think it is going to be a chilly night.
To sum up our trip it surpassed all expectations, everything was amazing from the wake up call in the morning with tea, coffee and hot chocolate. I would not change a thing about our stay and I would thoroughly recommend to anyone who wants an extra special safari experience. There is no doubt your visit will be unforgettable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

jambo, Aruba mara camp, we had a wonderfull time, so the crossing over the talek river, and in front of our tnet there we 2 big elefants walking one evening. the locals are very friendly we visit a school and a village of the masai mara, wonderfull.
the mara itself was otstending, with our local guide Toneig we found right near our jeep allmost all the big five!!, going from the paths into the bush we loved it very much.our trip did we booked bij lokenjo, situetted in nairobi and working with local guide, fantastic!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Aruba is a great value (even though the prices have gone up quite a bit in recent years). All our tents faced onto the river (we could see hippos below), and they were far enough apart that you couldn't see your neighbors. The tents were HUGE, and had many great amenities.
The food was good (a little less so the nights they served a buffet, but we still liked it). Sammy, our waiter/manager was great in satisfying our every request. We loved having hot water bottles put into our beds at night (it was pretty chilly).
The one big downside was there was no water pressure- the water just dribbled out. The beds were a bit short and the pillows slightly uncomfortable, but I would stay here again in heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawai Madhopur, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

The camp is run efficiently and the food is excellent. The staff was warm, friendly and we learnt a lot about Maasai culture from them around the camp fire. An easy going and relaxed atmosphere, helps to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

My fiancée and I stayed at Aruba Mara for 5 days during the Wildebeest migration. It was her first time on safari, while I had worked previously in the safari business in Kenya and Tanzania. I was not sure what to expect from a tented camp so reasonably priced. But the Lonely Planet review got it right: Aruba Mara is arguably the best value in the Masai Mara. The owners, Gerdi (German) and Paul (Masai) are excellent hosts and care deeply about giving their guests an authentic, high quality experience, including surprisingly good food, private game drives (we did not arrive with our own vehicle), and an openness to creating activities according to the tastes of its guests. The tents were well-situated and clean, the Masai staff were genuine and amusing company, and we felt perfectly safe at all times.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aruba Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruba Mara Camp

Address: Postbox 727 Narok | Talek Massai Mara, Narok, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Narok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Narok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruba Mara Camp is a tented Camp boardering the Talek River, next to Talek Gate in north Massai Mara. From Nairobi 260 Km driving through Narok. Just outside the gate, so no parkfee if you not do game-drive. We have from budget tents ( comfortable beds with mosquitonet an public bathroom ) to Big-tent ( spacious with privat bathroom ) and Luxury ( ask us for new pictures please ) category for every budget for everyone. We also have a spacious campsite with facilitys like kitchen/dining, toilets and hot water shower, security, carwash, firewood and laundry service. our buffalo bar and restaurant serving highly recomended food and a fine selection of wine, spirits and cold sodas. Naturewalks,visit of cultural village, birdwatching and hotair-balloon is available.Bushbreakfast, sundowner and fullday-drives with Lunch on request.Shutteltransfer from Nairobi can be arranged. Transfer from our airstrip is free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aruba Mara Camp Hotel Narok
Aruba Mara Camp Kenya/Narok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aruba Mara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.