We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aruba Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aruba Mara Camp
Save
You added Aruba Mara Camp to your Saves list
Postbox 727 Narok | Talek Massai Mara, Narok, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Narok B&B and Inns
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

jambo, Aruba mara camp, we had a wonderfull time, so the crossing over the talek river, and in front of our tnet there we 2 big elefants walking one evening. the locals are very friendly we visit a school and a village of the masai mara, wonderfull.
the mara itself was otstending, with our local guide Toneig we found right near our jeep allmost all the big five!!, going from the paths into the bush we loved it very much.our trip did we booked bij lokenjo, situetted in nairobi and working with local guide, fantastic!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
19
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Aruba is a great value (even though the prices have gone up quite a bit in recent years). All our tents faced onto the river (we could see hippos below), and they were far enough apart that you couldn't see your neighbors. The tents were HUGE, and had many great amenities.
The food was good (a little less so the nights they served a buffet, but we still liked it). Sammy, our waiter/manager was great in satisfying our every request. We loved having hot water bottles put into our beds at night (it was pretty chilly).
The one big downside was there was no water pressure- the water just dribbled out. The beds were a bit short and the pillows slightly uncomfortable, but I would stay here again in heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawai Madhopur, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

The camp is run efficiently and the food is excellent. The staff was warm, friendly and we learnt a lot about Maasai culture from them around the camp fire. An easy going and relaxed atmosphere, helps to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

My fiancée and I stayed at Aruba Mara for 5 days during the Wildebeest migration. It was her first time on safari, while I had worked previously in the safari business in Kenya and Tanzania. I was not sure what to expect from a tented camp so reasonably priced. But the Lonely Planet review got it right: Aruba Mara is arguably the best value in the Masai Mara. The owners, Gerdi (German) and Paul (Masai) are excellent hosts and care deeply about giving their guests an authentic, high quality experience, including surprisingly good food, private game drives (we did not arrive with our own vehicle), and an openness to creating activities according to the tastes of its guests. The tents were well-situated and clean, the Masai staff were genuine and amusing company, and we felt perfectly safe at all times.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

If you want to travel to Masai Mara and live in tents that take care of your most important needs (comfort, spacious, ensuite bath / toilet) at the most economical price - this is the right place! The under-canvas camp consists of 6-7 large tents (plus many smaller ones) that can sleep upto 3 people in each comfortably. The dining area is more basic as compared to the lodges, and the spread is not lavish - but everything is just right - quantity and quality! The owner Gerdi Simon is extremely hands on and the camp staff is willing to go to any lengths to ensure you have a comfortable stay. The water pressure in showers does suffer occasionally but there is always a hot water solution available! On one occasion I stayed in a smaller tent with an outside toilet - it's a great experience to shower under an open sky on the African savannah! All tents have an outside wooden balcony with seating area which faces the Talek river. There was a resident hippo when I visited Aruba first time - you could hear him all the time! There is a bench which faces the opposite bank and overlooks the Mara - on one occasion a female leopard with cubs had made a home within sight of the camp! Plus there is plenty of bird life within camp. The camp is located a min drive from the Talek Gate, so you are technically outside the park but can view the plains and animals from across the river. Park fees need to be paid every time you enter the reserve, but there is plenty of wildlife - lion, leopard, cheetah - even outside the reserve. For people who want to see the Africa on its terms this is a fantastic pricing opportunity. Imagine staying economy whilst getting treated like business class - that what we felt like when we were lucky enough to view the migration incl a river crossing last year! But remember, this is a natural setting and typically for nature / wildlife buffs...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

This was our favorite of three safaris that we made in Africa. The wildlife was incredible. The lodge and food were very good. Our guide was excellent. The rooms were clean, spacious and had 24/7 hot water.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

A real hidden gem! Aruba Camp appears to be really good value for money in comparison to the other tented camp we stayed at in the Masai Mara.

The camp is nicely laid out, feels cosy with only 5 tents and a small number of staff which is very attentive and caring but also laid back and genuinely friendly.

It is located right on the other side of the river from the park, so we can still spot much wildlife. Our tent had a view over the river and the park, which meant that on our two nights we had the company of a hippo right by our terrace (apparently really safe since it couldn't have climbed up to our tent). We could also see zebras and wildebeest passing by on the other side.

The common areas are very nicely decorated, with an outdoor fire lit up at night where guests and Masai staff gather.

The food, prepared by a chef trained in Europe, was really delicious considering the location. We particularly enjoyed the barbecued meat.

The tents themselves have a wonderful colonial luxurious style to them, with a trunk, a dressing table, a four poster bed and a bathroom made of wood and stones. And being able to hear the sounds of the animals before falling asleep at night is simply magic...

Amazing stay! We would gladly have stayed there for many more days and nights...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aruba Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruba Mara Camp

Address: Postbox 727 Narok | Talek Massai Mara, Narok, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Narok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Narok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruba Mara Camp is a tented Camp boardering the Talek River, next to Talek Gate in north Massai Mara. From Nairobi 260 Km driving through Narok. Just outside the gate, so no parkfee if you not do game-drive. We have from budget tents ( comfortable beds with mosquitonet an public bathroom ) to Big-tent ( spacious with privat bathroom ) and Luxury ( ask us for new pictures please ) category for every budget for everyone. We also have a spacious campsite with facilitys like kitchen/dining, toilets and hot water shower, security, carwash, firewood and laundry service. our buffalo bar and restaurant serving highly recomended food and a fine selection of wine, spirits and cold sodas. Naturewalks,visit of cultural village, birdwatching and hotair-balloon is available.Bushbreakfast, sundowner and fullday-drives with Lunch on request.Shutteltransfer from Nairobi can be arranged. Transfer from our airstrip is free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aruba Mara Camp Hotel Narok
Aruba Mara Camp Kenya/Narok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aruba Mara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.