We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club to your Saves list
Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Greenock Road, Langbank PA14 6YE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langbank
Dundee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

As a travelling businessman I stay at a lot of hotels and Gleddoch House was up there as one of the best I have stayed at within this price category. It's not 5 star but was clean, comfortable with pretty good leisure facities including a gym and swimming pool. The staff were all helpful and friendly and no request was too much trouble for them. My only complaint was the price of some of the bar snacks - £5.95 for beans on toast : at least dick turpin wore a mask!!! That a side it was a relaxing place to stay between business and I managed to get a round of golf in on the excellent 18 hole course between work engagements. This would be an excellent hotel for people wishing to get a break from a hetic everyday rutine. I would definetely stay again and it was only a short 20 minute drive from the centre of Glasgow.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    236
    146
    103
    70
See reviews for
167
308
21
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lenzie
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

I was slightly nervous about booking this hotel due to some of the negative reviews on tripadvisor but I was very pleasantly surprised with the quality and standard of Gleddoch House. We arrived on a bitterly cold January evening and were greeted by the very friendly general manager. Our room was spacious and due to the weather thankfully very warm and comfortable. We had a terrific meal, at a reasonable price, before using the swimming pool and sauna facilities which we found very relaxing. This would be an ideal hotel for golfers with the course literally on the doorstep. Overall we had a great break with all the hotel staff helpful and friendly, the room very clean, warm and comfortable and the food of a high standard. Great value for money and we would definetly stay again, hopefully around June of this year.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 3, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Gleddoch House Hotel on tripadvisor. It was with great delight to learn that your stay with us was relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable. What you have described is indeed everything we aim to achieve. We shall look forward to welcoming you back to Gleddoch House Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

We too stayed at Gleddoch House Hotel the weekend it had its powercut and at £40 per room including breakfast I still consider it to be great value.

I stay there at least once a month and always pay the same £40 which includes a fantastic breakfast- i have stayed in most rooms and at the end of the day the pay for what you get- If you want 5 star then stay at Cameron House at the side of loch lomond but it is £150 a night.

If you want 5 star this hotel is not for you , but if you want good value clean and family friendly then this is just the place., Stunning views are free

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 3, 2010
We are delighted to read that you stay with us on a regular basis and you find Gleddoch House Hotel great value for money. Thank you for commenting on our wonderful views and I shall look forward to welcoming you back to Gleddoch House Hotel during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

My friend and I have just returmed from a 4 day Hogmany Break at Gleddoch House Hotel and we had a wondeful time. The hotel, in beautiful surroundings, was first class, the staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. Large, spotlessly clean bedrooms, with a plentiful supply of toiletries in the bathroom, hairdryer and ironing facilities. There was a large heated indoor swimming pool and gym. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to family and friends and hope to return some time in the future.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 3, 2010
Thank you for your recent review on Gleddoch House Hotel. It is wonderful to read that you had a wonderful time here and your well deserved New Year Break was excellent. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

I was there for a party night with friends and colleagues. I am local so I am used to the great views but the frosty weather made the landscape even prettier. Rooms were comfortable and spacious with queen size beds in twin rooms.Iron and board were among the in room amenities though no remote control for flat screen TV unusually. We had a room with a view in main building. The staff I found friendly and welcoming in every area even on a busy party weekend. We didn't have time to use the leisure facilities but they looked terific. My only complaint was that my vegetarian meal was not substantial compared to my friends' meals. I was offered a different meal but my friends would have had eaten theirs by the time it arrived. Breakfast was good in lovely surroundings. I would have liked to have stayed longer and highly recommend the hotel and staff.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

Me and my husband got married at this hotel. 20 plus people stayed on the Friday night before the wedding then even more after the wedding on the Saturday night. No one who stayed in the hotel had any problems. The facilities are really good. The leisure facilities are great nice pool and gym. My husband tells me that the golf course was superb and in great conditions even given the winter months. The staff could not do any more to help. The rooms are really big and comfy. On the Saturday night we stayed in the bridal suite which is massive with great views over the Clyde.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club, responded to this review, December 14, 2009
It is with great delight to read your comments posted on trip advisor regarding your recent wedding at Gleddoch House Hotel. Firstly, thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we are extremely pleased to read that you managed to relax and enjoy all the facilities we have to offer especially leading up to your big day. On behalf of all the staff here, we would like to say how much we enjoyed accommodating you, your family and friends and we hope to see you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

My disabled daughter and I stayed for 2 nights. Had been assured by Last Minute.com that we had a ground floor room to minimalize walking for daughter. On arrival it was a different story! Reception denied this conversation (I have evidence to the contrary) with agent and stated said room did not exist! Our room (Number 44), up many stairs, through convoluted corridors was so fatiguing, my daughter had to rest for an hour before retracing the route to go out to meet friends. There was evidence of water ingress in the corridor (strong damp smell) and the ensuite had mould on the ceiling. The room is brown and basic, certainly not as described on the web. Dining Room equally difficult to access form room. Approach road to the hotel potholed and poorly lit approach.
Don't go there if disabled and don't expect sympathy.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club, responded to this review, December 14, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor following your recent stay at Gleddoch House Hotel. Firstly, please accept my apologies for being unable to accommodate you and your daughter fully on this occasion. I can confirm that we do indeed have an accessible bedroom with a ramp to all the facilities at this hotel. Unfortunately, we do have to be advised prior to your arrival of the request for this bedroom. I have investigated with my front office team your concerns, I have checked the correspondence we received from your agent that reserved your bedroom and it does not state that an accessible room was required. Please accept my sincere apologies for the hotel being fully booked and on this occasion and for us being unable to offer you and your daughter a bedroom that would have been more comfortable. Please rest assured we take all our guests feedback extremely seriously. I have instructed my maintenance team to investigate and correct the bedroom faults with immediate effect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Langbank hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club

Address: Old Greenock Road, Langbank PA14 6YE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Langbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleddoch House Hotel and Golf Club and its 360 acres estate was once the home of the shipping baron, Sir William Lithgow. It is an ideal base from which to explore Scotland's famous sites and attractions and is uniquely situated for Glasgow International Airport and Glasgow city centre. Gleddoch House Hotel & Golf Club takes you away from the bustle of the city with breathtaking panoramic views of the Clyde Estuary. The property boasts 70 bedrooms with two suites, bar and dining facilities, indoor swimming pool and gymnasium, as well as an on-site 18-hole golf course that has dramatic views across the River Clyde to Ben Lomond. We consistently strive to not only meet but to exceed your expectations in delivering a first class service and invite you to sample our welcoming hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Langbank
Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club Langbank, Scotland
Gleddoch Hotel Langbank

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.