We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, but not recommended” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club to your Saves list
Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Greenock Road, Langbank PA14 6YE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langbank
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great views, but not recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Gleddoch has some great views from its hillside position but these dont make-up for the poor presentation and service.

There is a large impressive reception room for check-in complete with piano, however from there things begin to slide, some rooms are far away from reception with 2/3 stairways (the hotel sits on a hill), my room was large with a king or queen sized bed, lots of storage space and tea making facilities (wireless internet is £10).

The bathroom was clean, but;

- poorly repaired tile next to hand sink
- large hole where WC handled had become lose
- mildew around the base of the glass shower curtain

Do not under any circumstances get a link room, you will be forced to shoot next doors
occupants after hearing about the price of tea for the ninth time, there is simply no sound proofing between these rooms.

Resturatant, staff tried but lacked experience or training e.g "is this your main course" well considering I was the only person sitting at my table I think so... a fellow guest tried to order a jug of water three times. The views from the resturant are excellent however.
Food was average to good.

Breakfast was OK with service levels and memory improving.

Didnt try, gym, pool or golf.

Pros

- Quiet location away from town
- Excellent views
- Free parking
- Clean
- Gym, pool and golf

Cons

- Damaged bathroom
- No sound proofing in linked rooms
- Service levels need to be improved
- Very very basic bar

Overall, looks for a day out playing golf, but staying not recommended

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, GENERAL MANAGER at Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club, responded to this review, September 24, 2009
I am sorry you experienced some cleanliness and maintenance issues in your bathroom. These will be addressed by our in house maintenance team, likewise the service issues you experienced in the restaurant.

Incidentally, the Wi-Fi is free to all guests and has been for some time and a minimum standard for all Best Western Properties so unsure why you were given the impression there was a £10.00 charge (possibly some older literature that ought to have been removed?) I would be grateful if you could advise in order to prevent any recurrence.

If you are returning to the area please contact me directly in order that I can personally oversee any arrangements.

Once again, my apologies and I hope you will give us the opportunity of restoring your faith in Best Western Gleddoch House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    236
    146
    103
    70
See reviews for
167
308
21
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for our 22nd wedding anniversary and had a really lovely time.ARRIVAL... On arrival we were met by not one but two very friendly and approachable members of staff who were quick to welcome us. We were given our room number and clear instructions on how to find it. The receptionist also asked us if we wanted to book for dinner and this was done with the greatest of ease.ACCOMMODATION... Our room was lovely,big,bright and clean. The bed was huge however this turned out to be two beds pushed together and while this was not really a problem for us we think perhaps this should be mentioned when booking the room. The bedding was very clean and fresh. The floor in the bedroom and the hallway was creeky but for us this simply added to the quaintness of the hotel. Our bathroom was very clean and spacious. The towels were fluffy and kept warm on the towel warmer. FOOD...Admittedly the restaurant was up two flights of stairs(sadly no lift) but once there it was easy to see the thinking behind it as the views over the golf course were tranquil and pretty. Our evening meal was very nice, although if we were to be picky perhaps the portions were a little small. However everything was beautifully cooked and the staff could not have been friendlier. The music could do with something of a review though as it was more cafe than restaurant. RELAXATION... Back at our room for the night and the peace and quiet is something to behold,it was heaven!!! A very restfull sleep was had by us both. Next morning and we were off for breakfast.BREAKFAST.... On arrival at the restaurant we were greeted by wonderful smells of freshly cooked bacon etc and the bustle of people happily enjoying their breakfast. The staff were the same as on the previous night and remembered us which was lovely as straight away we felt welcome and relaxed. Now for the food....YUM! YUM! YUM! Everything was lovely and fresh,all the staff were very attentive and quick to fill any finished items. There was plenty of choice from a wonderful array of cooked breakfast items to the more continental approach of cold meats,croissants,danish pastries,cereals, fresh fruits and fruit juices. The staff were happily going around the tables ensuring that we all had everything we needed and that our tea & coffee requirements etc were met. GOLF COURSE....As we did not on this occassion take advantage of the on site golf course, it would not be right for us to review it. However,as my husband, Alan, is Senior Starter of Belleisle Golf course on the west coast of Scotland, we do feel we would like to leave a small comment. After meeting the assistant pro Lyle, a very pleasant and informative young man it was clear to us that the golf course is well run and works well in conjunction with the hotel to offer golfers a chance to play and eat in very pleasant surroundings. We would like to thank all the members of staff who we had the pleasure of meeting during our stay and we look forward to our next visit.

Rhona and Alan Thomson.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Booked 1 night's accommodation for my husband's birthday. Didn't last the night. Extremely disappointed with the whole experience. Definitely not 4* accommodation as stated on Bookings.com.. Lack of staff and staff they had were very inexperienced, chaos in the bar/restaurant which was located at the back of the hotel. Dining area and bar area very shabby and no character what so ever. The bar area at the entrance to the hotel which had more character closed as only used for "weddings".

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 26, 2009
I am sorry that you were disappointed following your recent visit to Gleddoch. It is unfortunate that you decided not to stay with us as you would have realised we have both the golf bar and the residents lounge available for guests to make use of. I accept that the Golf bar was extremely busy when you arrived but can assure you this was only temporary. The old bar downstairs is presently only used during functions as it is some distance from the restaurant, the majority of bedrooms, leisure club, spa facility and gym. The residents lounge beside the restaurant offers great views over the clyde estuary and the city and is well liked by guests who enjoy it warm and contemporary style..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Langbank hotels

england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

could not fault the accomodation,but was disgusted with the the toasted sandwiches which were inedible There was no butter on the bread and they were dry and tasteless.We asked for 2 bowls of chips which were £2.50 each and were given 1 bowl which was supposedly 2 bowls in 1 about 2 dozen chips ridiculous.Also only 1 waiter on at breakfast and every table was dirty when we arrived.Guests were actually walking out as they were sick of waiting for their food.It was like Fawlty towers at breakfast time.The waiter deserved a medal as he stayed so calm even though he was taking all the complaints from guests.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Stayed here for 1 night, room looked onto air conditioning unit so noisy all night. Had a bar meal and were entertained by a couple of 'regulars' who were quick to tell us how down hill the hotel has gone recently. Food OK but nothing special, service fine, pleasant young staff. Don't think I would return although only 15-20 mins from airport so very handy.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

Dont believe everything you read on trip advisor. This hotel is exellent value for money. The staff are extremely helpful and polite. The food in the restaurant is superb and the service efficient and friendly. The rooms are spacious and clean.There has recently been several changes to the management team at this hotel and it shows. The staff are taking pride in their hotel and nothing is too much trouble. If you do encounter a problem please approach the management team they will do everything they can to rectify it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renfrew
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Having recently been married at Gleddoch House, I feel I am in the position to review this hotel having made numerous visits and had a few meals etc over the past year.

I have read the other 'negative' reviews and at some points I did worry that perhaps we had chosen the wrong venue .... however, I can honestly say that I have been nothing but impressed by the professionalism and courtesy of the staff. The food was fabulous and hot, the rooms were spotless, the service at dinner was impecable.

We had booked a good number of bedrooms for our weddng guests, some of them withing the main part of the hotel and some over by the leisure facilities, all rooms were of a good standard - fair enough someone that had difficultly walking may need a room nearer reception, but for any other able bodied person none of the rooms are such a far walk that it should be an inconvienience.

As a travelling rep I have stayed in many 4* hotels and as far as I am concerned Gleddoch is as good if not better than any of them.

We will be staying again, and I am looking forward to it. I would recommend this hotel with confidence,

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club

Address: Old Greenock Road, Langbank PA14 6YE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Langbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleddoch House Hotel and Golf Club and its 360 acres estate was once the home of the shipping baron, Sir William Lithgow. It is an ideal base from which to explore Scotland's famous sites and attractions and is uniquely situated for Glasgow International Airport and Glasgow city centre. Gleddoch House Hotel & Golf Club takes you away from the bustle of the city with breathtaking panoramic views of the Clyde Estuary. The property boasts 70 bedrooms with two suites, bar and dining facilities, indoor swimming pool and gymnasium, as well as an on-site 18-hole golf course that has dramatic views across the River Clyde to Ben Lomond. We consistently strive to not only meet but to exceed your expectations in delivering a first class service and invite you to sample our welcoming hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Langbank
Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club Langbank, Scotland
Gleddoch Hotel Langbank

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.