We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club to your Saves list
Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Greenock Road, Langbank PA14 6YE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langbank
Bellshill
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked for an overnite break with two other couples. Room was good and nice n warm. Comfy beds and plenty of hot water. Food was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. The only thing was the lack of a nice lounge to sit and have a drink after Dinner although this would not stop us from returning in the future. Was a good value break.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, General Manager at Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear annebryceland.

Your comments are very welcomed thank you.

I will pass your review to Pamela in our restaurant.

I am very disappointed that your request for an omelette was refused, my apologies I will address this with our team immediatly this should not have been the case.

I do hope that you concider returning to Gleddoch House soon.

Kind regards,

Neil Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    236
    146
    103
    70
See reviews for
167
308
21
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

It's been a while since we've stayed but it is a lovely hotel in spectacular surroundings especially in the snowy midwinter. We got an exceptionally good deal from Hotel Connexions. £38 DB&B. The staff are first class throughout, from a warm wecome at reception to waiting staff and housekeeping. We had a bar snack on arrival and found the young waitress Pamela to be particularly friendly and helpful , a credit to the hotel. We just had toasties but they were very tasty and beautifully presented with dressed salad and very reasonably priced for a hotel. It is a bit of a trek from reception to the new wing with luggage ( LOTS of stairs and a bit of a mystery tour ) but they did offer to take our luggage for us and had the snow not been so deep we could have parked nearer to our rooms The rooms were large , well heated, two very comfortable , double beds in the twin rooms . Iron and board is a bonus as is the good hairdryer. Ok so it's a girl thing! Bathroom is spotless with heated towel rail. Wifi is free throughout the hotel, wish it were so in all hotels. The restaurant has really beautiful views of the golf course and countryside and with the snow it was a winter wonderland. Very picturesque. As we only stayed one night we didn't use the pool which is a good size or the gym which is fine but we have enjoyed these facilities on previous stays. Now to a few very minor complaints. The evening meal was good for the most part. Some of us enjoyed very tasty desserts but one dessert which three of our party had was so tiny it wasn't worth dirtying the plate.Miniscule. However the waitress immediately offered to bring a different dessert. I didn't have coffee but one of our party thought it was instant coffee. At breakfast there was a wide selection of continental and cooked breakfasts.Fresh toast, tea and coffee were plentiful. Eggs were offered in several guises but as a vegetarian I asked for an omelette and was refused. I was very surprised. I asked for mushrooms , tomato and potato scone instead. I got half a tomato , one potato scone and at least two sliced mushrooms. Really for what we paid I could not complain . Had we paid full rate I would have asked for the manager and been very annoyed indeed. Having said that this is a gem of a hotel with well trained staff , giving an excellent experience.Highly recommended especialy if you get a great deal. Hope to be back often! Well done.

Room Tip: All rooms we have stayed in have been good. Views to the river or golf course, Take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW, SCOTLAND
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was our second visit. Food was lovely and couldn't fault our meal!
However there is just no atmosphere or anywhere nice to sit after your meal to enjoy a nightcap. Hotel itself it's quite cold & dark/gloomy. Think they could do with adding a bit of grandure to their reception area; it's just a large square hall with a lonely work desk sitting in it to to receive/check in guests so 1st impressions not great!
Leisure facilities ok, bit grubby at the poolside but nice enough.
Whole place could do with an overhaul but as regular hotel goers, it's pretty much in the same state as other hotels in Scotland; owners spending money in some areas and not others!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, General Manager at Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear holibagslisa,

Gleddoch House was recently taken over by Bespoke Hotels in December 2012.
As General Manager of Gleddoch House Hotel this is fantastic news as I am pleased to let you know that we will be upgrading our facilities during the spring / summer 2013.

We will be looking at the bar and public areas and enhancing the furnishings to create a more relaxed ambience in response to our guests feedback.

Your comments are important to us and I thank you for your review.

Kind regards,

Neil Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Spent two lovely days B & B at Gleddoch House Hotel. Our first vsit, but will not be our last, I trust. Large and modern room. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Lovely swimming pool and leisure facilities. Nice setting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, General Manager at Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear derekhughes,

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed a relaxing break at Gleddoch House Hotel.

It is always very nice to read such a positive review such as yours and I will share this with our team at Gleddoch House.

We do hope you make a date during the spring or summer to visit us again!

Kindest regards,

Neil Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We booked three rooms with this hotel and were delightfully surprised with everyhting. The rooms were spotless and had two huge double beds in each of them. We used the swimming pool which was heated and lovely. We had dinner and breakfast and the food was outstanding and service like so. A lovely hotel in a lovely setting with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, General Manager at Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear 709maggie,

I do appreciate that you have taken the time to post your very positive feedback regarding your recent visit to Gleddoch House.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Neil Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed at the Gleddoch for two nights, Thursday 3rd and Friday 4th January 2013. Got good deal with Sunday Mail for £40 per night for two in double room with breakfast. Room was big with huge bed and all the usual facilities. Leisure facilities looked good although due to using hotel as base for visiting family no time available to use. Had dinner the first night which although tasty was small portions and didn't fill us up. Breakfast was lovely and the waiters were very attentive. All in all a very good couple of days in beautiful surroundings on the Clyde. One last comment and this is not the hotel's fault but rather inconsiderate fellow guests. On the second night we had a family with a very exuberant dog above us. They arrived back from the bar at 11 ish and the raised voices, kids fighting and dog running around the room with a toy went on till nearly two in the morning. We did try to phone reception but couldn't get a reply. Shame this spoilt our sleep on the last night. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, General Manager at Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear 709 Maggie,

I do appreciate you posting such a nice review regarding your recent visit to Gleddoch House Hotel,I will certainly share your comments with my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Gleddoch House in the near future.

Regards,

Neil Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Booked two rooms,first had stained bedding counter pain,mould around shower head,used tissues underneath bed & hair in the drawer,second room was not much better.
loost a days buisness through very poor internet connection.complained to manager who dealt with complaint very professionally.although we changed rooms my sons rooms overlooked the bin s so he could not open his window and our new room although was large had a lovely bath which we could not use to toaplugwhich did not fit.ALL STAFF were very friendly,polite and helpfull but lack of general funding towards the upkeep of the hotel seems to be lacking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, General Manager at Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear GaryD,

I appreciate your comments and apologise for the issues regarding your room.
We pride ourselves on our housekeeping standards and I will discuss this review with our housekeeping team.

Gleddoch house will be going through some upgrades and refurbishments during 2013 which will certainly enhance the overall ambience and look of the property.

Your comments help us manage our guests experience and give us the opportunity to improve.

I do hope you concider returning to Gleddoch House and ask that you contact me directly should you wish to make a reservation so I can handle your booking in person.

Thank you,

Neil Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Langbank hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club

Address: Old Greenock Road, Langbank PA14 6YE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Langbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleddoch House Hotel and Golf Club and its 360 acres estate was once the home of the shipping baron, Sir William Lithgow. It is an ideal base from which to explore Scotland's famous sites and attractions and is uniquely situated for Glasgow International Airport and Glasgow city centre. Gleddoch House Hotel & Golf Club takes you away from the bustle of the city with breathtaking panoramic views of the Clyde Estuary. The property boasts 70 bedrooms with two suites, bar and dining facilities, indoor swimming pool and gymnasium, as well as an on-site 18-hole golf course that has dramatic views across the River Clyde to Ben Lomond. We consistently strive to not only meet but to exceed your expectations in delivering a first class service and invite you to sample our welcoming hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Langbank
Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club Langbank, Scotland
Gleddoch Hotel Langbank

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gleddoch House Hotel, Spa & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.