We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends wedding - lovely time!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brook Meadow Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Brook Meadow Hotel to your Saves list
Brook Meadow Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heath Lane, Childer Thornton, Ellesmere Port CH66 7NS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wallasey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Friends wedding - lovely time!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed over the bank holiday for our friends wedding. Rooms are basic but clean, staff lovely and the food superb. Wedding ceremony on the lake was lovely. Drinks not over priced and all round great time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thanks for the review and so glad you enjoyed the wedding

Best Regards

Tom & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    81
    30
    14
    4
See reviews for
39
129
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with family for a wedding occasion. My parents had a nice suite and my brother had a decent room. Unfortunately that was not the case for me. While the bed was comfortable I have to really judge the negatives as I think it wouldn't cost much to get the issues I experienced sorted. Walking into the room (105) for the first time heating was blaring out and the stench in the room was horrid and stale. Unlike the other 2 rooms, entering the bathroom was a nightmare. Decor peeling. Shower was filthy with damages perfectly clear and peel damage of the seal obvious and why a cleaner can't pick that up is beyond me. There was a sign saying there was water issues. No disrespect but having paid £80 for the room this wasn't good enough. The shower was FREEZING and I had to use my brothers room. Why!!??????? This needs addressing ASAP.

Small positives were the breakfast and the bed itself but my experience was ruined. Will not be recommending unfortunately which is a shame as the location is beautiful. Go elsewhere.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry you did not have a pleasant stay with us, as you stated the rooms your brother and parents where in where fine yet this one was not up to standard. not wanting to make excuses but unfortunatley we had a guest staying with us every week in this very room for under a year which has meant it has been hard to do any work in it, however I am pleased to advise all of the faults you raised have now been fixed by Ged our handy man / painter. Sadly I cannot post pictures to show what has been done but it does look alot better!

Thanks again for the review

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorient, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Dear

Last saturday 23/3/2013 we held our diamond wedding celebration at Brook Meadow,Heath Lane, Childer Thornton.

The co-ordination of this event,with the hotel, was through our son and daughter-in law (Karen and Mike Shaw)

The majority or the guests actually stayed overnight in the hotel.

The manager (Brian) was presiding for the occasion.

Although my wife and I did not stay in the hotel,all comments concerning the accommodation were excellent.

The facilities afforded for the dinner and separate room for pre dinner drinks and chatting were very good.

The meal,which was without fault of any kind,served hot and on time and the staff were courteous at all times,in fact we were pampered throughout.

It's not every time you attend a function that one can make such positive comments,but this was outstanding.

I write to you so that you have the choice to pass these comments to all your staff involved on this memorable occasion.

Yours sincerely-----Peter Shaw

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Wow what a great review!

Glad everything was to your liking and look forward to seeing you again soon

Best Regards

Tom & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My son had his wedding here lin November which was brillaint but since then have taken my elderly mother for Sunday lunch, which was excellent, not just the food but the service too.
The conservatory is bright and airy and lovely watching the irds and squirrels playing in the garden.
KW

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Glad you have enjoyed coming back after the wedding and the big day was also memorable for all the right reasons

See you soon we hope

Tom & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed at the hotel approx 7 times in the last few years, loved the suites, stayed in all of them and the standard rooms too, standard rooms have a spa bath which is good but there is time guidelines when it can be used which is not allowed after 10pm. not to upset any other guests but some people ignored it and did use the spa.

The suites have the most huge Spa bath which is a reason we kept staying as it was a proper chill out time.

The last time we went August 2012.. we noticed the dining room had been redecorated but sadly the bathrooms were starting to look a bit tired, dated and you could see repairs had been made with silicon... silicon was moldy and the bulbs not working in the bathroom, could see a huge difference from the times of staying before.

Staff are really helpful and called a taxi for us to eat out at the local Chimneys pub, which is a great place for a meal if wanting to eat out.

The meals within the restaurant here are well worth the value of money and would advise to pre book as you can add it to your bill and get room and evening meal in one price, which is well worth it as the food is of high quality.

Will go back but hope the bathrooms do get finished to a high standard, like the rest of the place.

Room Tip: Worth booking extra for the Suites though...as has sitting area too and comfy sofa's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Great to see comments from regular guests!

Regards

Tom & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here again ,probably stayed about 6 times in the last 6 months.all rooms we have stayed in have been great,this time we stayed in the Marlborough .room was superb with an enormous spa bath.excellent peaceful views over the garden,four poster bed(very comfy).dinner very well cooked and presented ,staff very attentive and friendly as always.breakfast a little on the cold side (disappointing really as is normally very good).all in all a very nice stay and will be returning soon,nice just to get away with your partner for a break away from the hustle and bustle of the working week .thanks to the staff .......

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thanks for a lovely review

Hope to see you again soon

Regards

Tom & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
391 helpful votes 391 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We checked in early(12 noon) and were met with a happy smile and a no problem. The room was nice over looking gardens thst in summer must be absolutely lovely, still nice in winter but without the birds and flowers. The bedroom itself was comfy enough, firm double bed, plenty of drawers and hanging room.but the bathroom was in serious need of refurbishment. Rust and mould around the bath are not acceptable. Dinner in the restaurant was included in our package on the first night, this was ok but In my opinion the chefs rely on too many brought in ingredients. Things like bread and desserts are cheap and easy to make but they prefer to buy in , so missing out on the personal touches. Breakfast on saturday was curious. With a menu advertising many different dishes to be available for you to help yourself to. Yet only half of them actually available. The cooked breakfast though was excellent. We spent the day out in Liverpool, £4.10 return on the train, and returned to find a nicely cleaned room, still rust and mould in bathroom though. Breakfast the next day was much better maybe because the hotel had more residents that morning so they thought that they had more people to impress. This may seem a negative review but it isn't meant to be. It is a three star hotel that seems to be happy where it is. But with a bit more effort and attention to detail it could be much better. And yes I would go again, it is near to liverpool and Chester, both accessible by train, but it is nestled in lovely English countryside.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for your review

We are continually looking to improve and your comments have been noted by myself and my team. we have just completed this week an uplift of our first bathroom which we like so will be looking at doing this on a rolling programme within our rooms. I hope you come and try it out for yourselves if you return

Best Regards

Tom & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brook Meadow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Meadow Hotel

Address: Heath Lane, Childer Thornton, Ellesmere Port CH66 7NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port > Childer Thornton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Childer Thornton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook Meadow Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for a relaxing stay at one of the South Wirral's superior 3-star hotels, close to the beautiful village of Childer Thornton. The period charm exudes from every corner of this hotel, yet each of the 25 beautifully-appointed rooms has en-suite facilities complete with spa bath, in addition to ISDN lines and air conditioning. The conservatory, from which you can enjoy uninterrupted views of the glorious gardens, is the place to enjoy exquisite cuisine served by our welcoming and attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Brook Meadow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Meadow Childer Thornton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brook Meadow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.