We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful all around!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Glenorchy Hotel

The Glenorchy Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenorchy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Glenorchy Hotel
Save
You added The Glenorchy Hotel to your Saves list
Mull Street, Glenorchy, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Wenatchee, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful all around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at this fine establishment earlier this year with a mate from the U.K. We arrived late on a Saturday night to a bar full of people all dancing merrily away to an awesome cover band that was playing. The music was great and the crowd really fun, with everyone dancing and having a good time. We ended up staying longer than we had anticipated just because of the friendly locals in the pub every night, and the excellent access to the hiking tracks and fishing. They had just hired a new chef, Barry, who cooks a mean poached egg, which certainly helped to start us off in the right direction every morning before we went off on another excursion. We found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating, and were hardly ever want for anything we needed. It was also rather nice that it was late in the season and relatively quiet around the area. They were also screening Top of the Lake every week when the new episodes came out, and it was a neat experience to get to watch the show from where parts of it were filmed! I was also introduced to Tim the owner while I was there, and he was a great bloke who sought to make sure that we were comfortable in all regards. I know where I'll be staying next time I'm around the area, and that's for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi, Thankyou for your positive comments. It was nice to see that your stay in Glenorchy was'' Top of the Lake'' Our staff will be pleased that you enjoyed your stay .thankyou for choosing the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    8
    9
    1
See reviews for
6
16
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Visiting Glenorchy on what wanted to be a day trip, myself and a friend ended up staying in this place for one night, and certainly did not regret the choice.
The place is very welcoming, and all members of staff have been available and very friendly. For the price of a backpacker room we had access to a fully furnished, independent cottage on our own, including kitchen and a fireplace.
It would certainly be a good idea to try the food at the restaurant - even just simple scrambled eggs in the morning will make a difference for a very good day!
In short: homely venue, nice people, gourmet and good value for your money. Can't certainly ask for more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi, We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our hospitality and that you loved the fire and of course the food. Next time you return ask us to organise a special activity for you as there are so many here besides eating. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Myself and a group of friends very recently stayed at the Glenorchy Hotel as a quick get away from the hustle and bustle of Queenstown during a recent ski trip. We ended up having a great weekend!

The staff were superb, as was the food (highly recommend the lamb shanks) and we discovered after talking to the owners while in the bar that the rooms had recently been renovated and were very comfortable and modern.

We had a great night in the bar as the locals were very friendly and the manager was very knowledgeable about the area. Would highly recommend and looking forward to hopefully coming back in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thankyou for your comments. Our staff noticed that you all enjoyed the food . We also heard that you were not frightened of the wine either. Good to see you enjoyed yourselves. See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Whilst visiting Glenorchy, we had couple of drinks in the Hotel bar, followed by a quieter dinner in the separate dining area (a nice touch). There were great, varied choices on the menu and an extensive local wine list, which was great, being in a recognised wine area of NZ. The pork belly was beautifully cooked and the vegetables perfect. The fire in the restaurant added to the cosy ambiance and the service polite and not intrusive to our meal. Others in the restaurant voiced appreciation similar to ours as well-thank you Glenorchy Hotel!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hi, Thankyou for your comments. Yes we have two new top chefs now producing great Gastro Pub food. Unfortunately it took a while for a previous chef to move on. We are pleased you also enjoyed the scenery in Glenorchy and all it has to offer. The hotel is only one part of the ''bigger picture'' as it were. Thankyou and we hope that you will take the time to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The rooms are shabby. Seem like they were furnished in the 1960s and untouched since. They are clean, however, and as a frequent tramper of the tracks around Glenorchy, I know there are no better options for a night before the tramp when you want to save the hour or so it will take to get to here from Queenstown.

The bar in the evening (probably any evening) is a true rural New Zealand experience replete with dogs. REally fun and welcoming. The staff in the whole hotel are nice. I'll stay again when I want an early start or to be picked up by the 9.00 am shuttle.

Here's a tip: The breakfast bagel with egg and bacon for $7.50 across the street at Roxy's is a great deal and just right before the tramp!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi thanks for your comments. The Ensuite room rate includes breakfast so at 105.00 per night including breakfast for two we think is reasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we wanted to get to the Routeburn track easily the next morning and the location is perfect for this. We checked in and found the staff very friendly which is why I am giving 2 stars and not 1. The room, which was called Paradise was anything but. Although fairly large all the furnishings were quite tired and worn and two of the three lights didn't work. The ensuite bathroom was very dated, quite small and worst of all had not been cleaned - with a hair on the toilet seat and several in the basin. I asked the receptionist if they could clean the room and she was most apologetic and someone came to clean it, which she did most thoroughly. I was also told I would receive a complimentary something to make up for it. We weren't having the complimentary breakfast as we were leaving around 8.30am and breakfast doesn't start until then - which seems a bit late when this location is a prime place to stay for hikers who want to be up and out early.

Before going to bed I had a shower and found that it was stone cold. I don't recall when the bar closed but despite being in the room furthest away we could still hear the music and people outside.

In the morning my partner also had a cold shower so our theory about the hot water being turned off at night was proved wrong. I went to give the key in at 8:40am and found no one in the reception/breakfast area except someone waiting for their breakfast. There was also no sign of anyone in the kitchen either so I'm pretty sure it would have been quite a wait before any food was available. Thank goodness for One Square Meal.

Positives: Close to Routeburn, large room, tea and coffee facilities, friendly staff
Negatives: Dirty, tired, noisy, cold shower, expensive ($105 a night)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Owner at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thankyou for your comments. The rooms are older but clean and tidy. However this is reflected in the room rate which is not mentioned along with the fact the rom rate includes breakfast .Next time you stay the rooms will all be renovated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent one night in this small windswept enclave at the top of Lake Wakatipu. Although reasonable value for money, the rooms were clean and a little cramped. The hotel has great character and the journey to Glenorchy is well worth it. We had a good dinner in house and the breakfast (included in the room rate) was generous. Unfortunately we woke up to huge rain and so walking was out..... I would go back...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thankyou for your comments .Unfortunately the weather was not so good at the time.Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glenorchy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenorchy Hotel

Address: Mull Street, Glenorchy, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Glenorchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Hotel located 47kms or 35 minutes from Queenstown at the Head of the Lake in the centre of town. Recently renovated. We have ensuite rooms with TVs and free wifi,BackPackers accommodation and parking for self contained campervans. We have a separate restaurant, with a full Gastro Pub restaurant menu, both breakfast, lunch and dinner, Bar with HAPPY HOUR FRIDAY AND SATURDAY NIGHT, and bar menu and a large terraced outside beer garden. FREE OFFSTREET CARPARKING, luggage storage and boat parking.Our Glenorchy Information Centre and Glenorchy General store provides maps, track transport bookings arrival and departure centre,bike and fishing rod hire. Free information for trout fisherman,and trampers from experienced staff.Special rates during winter.Recently renovated ensuite rooms.Self contained campervans park for FREE. Backpackers has recently been renovated. Twin rooms and bunk room cabins. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glenorchy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.