We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mt Earnslaw Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenorchy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mt Earnslaw Motel
Save
You added Mt Earnslaw Motel to your Saves list
89 Oban St, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Glenorchy B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Not too impressed - met with a key in the door which didn't work, grubby furnishings, mucky cutlery, bathroom floor which hadn't been cleaned for a while (I know because I cleaned it myself!). Perhaps we just caught the owner on an off day but she wasn't interested in offering advice or guidance on the local area. Such a shame as the location is stunning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The Mt Earnslaw Motel was clean and comfortable, the room was bigger than we expected and while the bedspreads may make it look a little dated the rooms weren't.
Easy walking distance to the pub and cafe.
The staff were very thoughtful, bringing us candles when Glenorchy lost power.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The Mt Earnslaw Motel, is located in the sleepy town of Glenorchy which proved to be a great kick off to start our tramping (Greenstone, Routeburne, ReesDart). Rooms were very adequate with kitchenette, Clean and very Quiet. Great place in nice town with a stroll to cafes and Pub, all the important things after tramping.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The Glenorchy area is one of New Zealand's gems being the launching place to experience the Dart River ("Lord of the Rings" set), Routeburn Track (one of the Great Walks), the Greenstone and Caples tracks and Rees River Valley. Paradise, a locality ten minutes away, is aptly named.
Glenorchy in distance is only 40 minutes travel time but 50 years behind Queenstown; however, it is fast changing with increasing tourism so be quick before they build the flash and expensive hotels and restaurants. If you can't survive without 5 star accommodation and restaurants, then stay in Queenstown and venture no further.
Having said that, the Mt Earnslaw Motel was surprisingly comfortable with a good ensuite, king size bed, kitchenette etc., (the website photographs don't do it justice) and it is excellent value. Great base if taking day walks in the local area, or taking-off or arriving back after one of the four or five day walks.
No upmarket restaurants locally but the hotel has well priced meals (Blue Cod cheaper than on Stewart Island) and opportunity to mix with both the locals and other tourists.
Just keep Glenorchy and the Mt Earnslaw Motel quiet as I'm back again next year and don't want to find it booked out.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Booking online is always fraught. What I was looking for was a comfortable place for a couple of days R&R between tramps. It needed to be central to bus connections, restaurants etc [I had no vehicle], quiet, and reasonably priced.
This Motel is all of this and more. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and certainly belie the slightly warn first impression of the welcoming sign and reception. The rooms are also very quiet. Laundry facilities are limited but I had no problem in getting my full wash done and dried within hours of arrival.
Perhaps best of all, the Motel is efficiently and unobtrusively run and the warm and friendly Corrine happily accommodated my repeated change of plans.
I'll certainly back up for a repeat stay next visit.

Room Tip: The motel actually fronts the street but there is no noise at night at all and the rooms are very so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed here 4 nights in February 2012 having booked online.
First impressions were not good. The parking and reception area gave the impression of needing attention. There are a small number of units all looking very much alike.
Our unit was in good condition, with relatively new furniture and fittings throughout, was keep clean and tidy, and had a good wall mounted heating / air conditioning facility (which may only be in units 1 to 4). The style of unit often leads to high noise levels being experienced from next door - but these units were quiet. The shower operated well and the kitchen was well equipped. There was a set of outside table and chairs to use if required.
Wifi was available with a good quality signal and was free, to us at least, for a reasonable level of MGB's.
Plenty to do in and around Glenorchy. Try a walk around the Lagoon - good for bird spotting (kingfishers, fantails, black swans, tom tit etc) and the mountain reflections in the water on a calm day are wonderful. A number of eat-out options available within easy walking distance Totally happy with our visit. And the motel is very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Rooms numbered 1 to 4 are best situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

When you first look at this motel from the road you may think you made a mistake but you will find this motel a wonderful surprise. There are only 7 units. The one we stayed in had the most comfortabe beds, the best equiped kitchen I've seen and very very clean. There were three of us and the unit was large with a king bed and a single. Windows open which is
important to me. We extended our stay because it was so comfortable. The owners are very gracious and I highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt Earnslaw Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Earnslaw Motel

Address: 89 Oban St, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Glenorchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven comfortable studio units close to the centre of Glenorchy. Units have super king sized beds, en-suite, kitchen, TV heat pump air conditioning and are serviced daily. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt Earnslaw Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.