We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Gruyerien

Hotel Le Gruyerien
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Le Gruyerien to your Saves list
Hotel Le Gruyerien
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clos d'Amont 2, Morlon 1638, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morlon
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night and enjoyed an extremely comfortable stay. We were greeted warmly by Elizabeth who was very caring and engaged throughout our short stay. Our room was a decent size with a very comfortable double bed covered in very good linen. The bathroom was very clean and fresh with a very powerful shower, plenty of good quality towels were also provided. The room had a decent balcony with a lovely view of the mountains. We slept really well without any noises or interruptions. Morlon is an extremely peaceful village with nothing else happening there but convenient Gruyere amongst many other places of interest. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of fresh options to suit everyone's tastes. All in all it is a very comfortable family run hotel. We did not get a chance to sample the restaurant but looking at its popularity it would be well worth a try. Free wifi worked very well.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

In a little village the nice hotel with excellent restaurant.
We had the superior room, very large bedroom and convenient bathroom.
What we estimated most, were the long duvet, in most hotel they are too short for us, as we are quite tall. Here nice long duvet, ideal mattress not too hard and not too soft. You could here some noise from the restaurant, however after 11.00 PM it was quiet. In morning we enjoyed a great breakfast buffet, different breads and croissant, home made jams, fresh cream (the speciality of La Gruyère), fresh fruits, meat and most excellent cheese.
Elisabeth Yerly, the owner, is very friendly and helpful.
In the evening we enjoyed a marvelous dinner and some lovely wines from Switzerland. Of course at the end some nice fruits with a lof of fresh creme, not clotted, just fresh cream, so thick it did not flow, what a dream.

Room Tip: Superior room: Large bedroom with a sofa. Convenient bathroom with window. Free Wi-Fi Internet acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Stayed for 4nights during a 6 week European Holiday.
It was good to get away from the "Tourist" hotels and stay in a place where one could just relax - yet be close to the tourist attractions. A car is required.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
674 reviews 674 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
740 helpful votes 740 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

This hotel located near a lake outside of Brulle is a small hotel with a lot of charm. Most of the rooms have a balcony with wonderful views of mountains and a nearby lake.

The food was fabulous! For breakfast, they had a simple buffet of croissants, cheeses, yogurts, cereals, and other breads. But, dinner was terrific.

You can hear the bells of cows from the hillsides.

This hotel was very reasonably priced and is near Friborg and Gruyere.

Check out the village on the hill top in Gruyere. There is a castle, shops, and and museum and bar for the artist Giger, who created the creatures for the Alien movie series. Who would have thought that in a charming sleepy village was a museum of a sci-fi cult artist.

The fondue in the region is the best in the world!

  • Liked — Views and the food
  • Disliked — no internet
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Somerset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

This hotel is situated in Morlon, a quiet village on the outskirts of Bulle, a short taxi ride from the railway station, or easliy accessible by car. There are lovely views of the mountains of the Gruyere region and the lake.

The hotel appears to serve as the local pub/meeting centre, so there was always a lot of local life around us during our stay. Our rooms (with balcony) was pleasant and quiet.

The food (which can be taken on the terrace in fine weather) was excellent and very professionally served. The breakfast buffet was the best we have had in Switzerland. If you love locally produced dairy products, this is the place for you!

Without a car it would be difficult to explore the wider area.

  • Liked — the breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Gruyerien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Gruyerien

Address: Clos d'Amont 2, Morlon 1638, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > La Gruyere > Morlon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morlon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Gruyerien 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Gruyerien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Gruyerien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.