We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westpac Inn

Westpac Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatan-cho
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westpac Inn
Save
You added Westpac Inn to your Saves list
Omura | Camp Foster, Marine Corps Base, Nakagami-gun, Chatan-cho 904-0107 , Okinawa Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
4.0 of 5 stars 12 Reviews
NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Westpac is a clean, well maintained hotel that has all the basics but not much else. The front desk staff is lovely and quite helpful and they offer a free shuttle covering the surrounding 5km everyday except Wednesday and Sunday. There is also an on site laundry room. The rates are extremely reasonable and it is overall a great value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
4
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
morro bay, ca
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

simple place to stay when visiting your Marine at Camp Foster. Price was VERY reasonable. I made several new friends at the Westpac that I have stayed in touch with since returning home.
Desk staff were mostly friendly. Helpful exchanging Yen from the ATM just outside. Became comical when we had almost nightly firedrills and had to evacuate because SOMEONE would burn something causing the smoke alarms to go off. It became another chance to get together and chat about our travels. Shuttle was nice, drove us around the base to destinations. Cheaper than 'honchos'. I would stay there again because it IS inside the base and i could walk to my daughter's barracks or we would meet half way.

Room Tip: get a room with cooking facilities, makes it easier than eating out all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

If your miltiary and can get reservations here. Id suggest it. Free pc in room with internet. The rooms nie and its right next to the Camp Foster AAFES.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

We were planning a visit to Okinawa in November 2008 to visit our Marine son. After much checking we made reservations at the WestPac Inn. I was hesitant to stay in a military hotel as I was told by others that if the need arises for military purpose your reservations could be bumped. I specifically asked this question when making the reservation and was guaranteed that this would not happen.
Well, dont bet on it. We were to fly out on Sunday and the Thursday evening 9PM I received a call from the WestPac. Guess what, we no longer had a reservation as there was a meeting of some military contractors and we were bumped out of the hotel.

Our trip turned out fine and we stayed at a lovely lodge (Eagle Lodge) near Kadena Air Force Base. I would recommend it, as the reservation we made was actually held for us.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

A very nice place to visit, only concern it gets a little cold at night since they don't turn off the conditioner. Would love to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

I needed a place to stay last minute in the middle of PCS season, so finding a room that was available for 2 consecutive nights was impossible. I had to move rooms every day for a week. If you know you'll be in Okinawa in the summer and will need somewhere to stay, book well in advance. The rooms were nice. I loved how they had free internet and a laptop in every room! No fees, no signing up for it. It's right next door to a Macaroni Grill and the PX and movie theatre are less than a mile away. The staff is friendly and in the lobby you can rent DVDs for free, but there is a time limit and you will get charged a late fee if they are late in being returned. I didn't need to use the shuttle they offer, but if you need a ride to the airport it beats the high taxi fares.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

This is probably the best military base lodging I have stayed at so far; 10 to date. Three story building with elevator a few hundred yards inside gate. [There is another building which the active duty personal and their families stay at called WestPac Lodge.] Internet in room and they supply the desktop computer if you need one. Biggest laundry room I have seen so far with many free washers/dryers on each floor. They even supply a basket on rollers so one can easily move the wet clothes to the dryer. Macoroni Grill located about 200 yards from Inn. The Inn provides shuttle bus service to Naha International Airport several times a day for $10. Contact the Inn for schedule. The Inn is located at Camp Foster which hosts Camp Butler, Marine Corps Bases Japan command. Most of the base is housing for Marines and their families who work at other Marine bases. Convenient location for in you are working/visiting Camps Foster and Kinser [Marine Corps] and Kadena Air Base [Air Force]. A bit too far south for my commuting if going to Camp Courtney to drive daily.. If going to Camps Hansen and Schwab [Marine Corps], check there for on-base lodging as they are much further north.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westpac Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westpac Inn

Address: Omura | Camp Foster, Marine Corps Base, Nakagami-gun, Chatan-cho 904-0107 , Okinawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Nakagami-gun > Chatan-cho
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty lodging in Chatan-cho
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Westpac Hotel Chatan-Cho
Westpac Inn Okinawa Prefecture/Chatan-Cho, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westpac Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.