We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Colombes

Hotel Royal Colombes
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal Colombes to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Colombes
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 av de l'Agent Sarre, 92700 Colombes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Colombes
Dorking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We booked three rooms for 30 days for staff working nearby. Here is what one of them said:
"Arrived at 10:30pm, and the whole hotel smelt musty. The rooms were small and unclean, there was mould in the shower with the shower not attached to the wall. The bed sheets were stained, and felt damp and only a blanket to cover you. The bed had bugs crawling in it. There was a curtain clamped in the window to keep it at the window, as the pole was with the other curtain on the floor. There were building works going on. Generally the “hotel” was not a hotel at all it was more like a squat."
We moved the staff out after a few days because of the poor conditions and the bedbugs. The hotel refused to consider even a partial refund.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
11
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The room was small with only one socket but the bed was comfy. Ceramic mugs would have been better than plastic cups for coffe and tea in the room. Staff were lovely and very helpful when we overslept and nearly missed our flight!


  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The first day we arrived 3rd of May 2014, the person on duty was not very helpful with our baggage, he just told us the room is upstairs and there was no lift to go up there, he didn't offer to carry at least one of our suitcase. The other gentleman who were on most night duty, throughout our stay, we didn't get to know his name was very good, when we request for more coffee and tea and sugar, he gave it to us in our room and also towels and toilet tissues and also one night when room A23 was noisy about 11.00pm to 1.00am, he soon sorted them out and thanks to him. That was a young man with newly shaved head.

Room Tip: The room was tight for double bed, the toilet smells of sewage from time to time. The room was clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Mediocre. There isn't wifi in the room, but you can go to the lobby, it's just a little inconveniencing. It was clean, that's the best part. We spent about 10 euros a day per person to get into the heart of paris. Easy...once you figure it out. The public transportation in paris is confusing. One of the front desk staffs was a little awkward, and his friend that hung out all afternoon in the lobby (while we were Internet-ing) was downright rude to us. Otherwise, it was okay. I would stay in another part of town, maybe walking distance to the city center or something, next time is paris. But the price was right.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Royal Colombes for 7 days in Sep 2012. The hotel is recently renovated which helps end some otherwise typical issues with inexpensive French hotels (such as being gross). But the hotel has its good and bad.

Pros:
- Cost is low. Paris hotels can get real expensive, real fast. And price does not always reflect quality. Generally price reflects location. A few realities about Hotel Royal Colombes location. Hotel Royal Colombes is in a Paris suburb. The Colombes suburb, believe it or not. So to get to and from Paris you will be taking the light rail train. This train to the suburbs is a SNCF light rail (J line) train. It is on a separate pay network from the normal Paris metro (subway). So one way ticket from your Colombes to Paris suburb is 2.50 Euros (and return is the same). A 5-Euro round trip each day. Consider that when pricing out your options for hotels. I did and staying was still tons cheaper than staying in central Paris. And the train ride is about 15 minutes. Tons of people take it. Not tourists, actual residents. The light rail station of Colombes takes you to the central Paris station of Saint-Lazare. From Saint-Lazare, you can get anywhere in Paris by taking the metro. The Paris metro is very cheap at about 1.25 Euro a ticket (as of Sep 2012).
- The hotel rooms have recently been renovated. Not super fancy, but newer fixtures and fresh paint is nice and it will be years before the mold and nasty builds up.
- Rooms come with Air conditioning and heat which is nice. Works surprisingly well.
- You get free WiFi. Its slow, but good for emails and light surfing. Doubt you can watch movies via internet though.
- The Colombes neighborhood has all the necessities you'd want. There is a baker right next to the hotel, a grocery store a few blocks away. Tons of specialty shops like a butcher, fish seller, fruit seller, chocolate, restaurants, bars, etc. Colombes really fits all the French stereotypes you can imagine. It is a diverse neighborhood.

Cons:
- The neighborhood may not be for everyone. Being a diverse neighborhood is a good thing, but the social economic realities of the residents in this neighborhood are on the lower income levels. I found it safe and enjoyed my stay, but consider the realities for yourself.
- The hotel says it takes credit cards, but could not take my credit cards. Its not the hotel's fault, American credit cards do not have a chip inside them needed to be processed on European machines. None of our American credit cards will work unless the shop/hotel happens to have an old school machine for you to swipe your card through. Most places do not, except McDonalds. So I had to go to a bank to get a pile of Euros to pay for the room. This was a bummer since my bank didn't much care to give out a pile of cash to someone in Paris. What an ordeal that took 2 days to sort out. If the hotel would charge the room before arrival like other hotels, the issue would be resolved. But they cannot (or will not) so nothing is charged until you arrive. Thus, a real issue if you don't carry around a pile of Euros and use American style credit cards. Fortunately the hotel staff was flexible on the issue and did not require I pay until my bank came through.
- Hardly anyone speaks English. And some find it repulsive that an American cannot speak French. Expect some attitude from your fellow humans. Not at the hotel actually. But in general. The hotel staff was very polite.

For a hotel near Paris, this Hotel offers a good value with recently renovated rooms. I found it to be a good choice for me considering much higher priced options. But note that the neighborhood may not be for everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Colombes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Colombes

Address: 8 av de l'Agent Sarre, 92700 Colombes, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > Colombes
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Colombes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Royal Colombes 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal Colombes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Colombes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.