We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, slow service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of A la truite argentee

A la truite argentee
Bellevue 3, Malmedy, Belgium
(32)80 78 61 73
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Malmedy
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Zoersel, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Nice interior, friendly staff that even made an effort to speak Flemish. Our whole group decided to go for the suggestion menu ( 4 course) which was reasonably priced. The food as well as the chosen wine was of excellent quality. However waiting times were too long....started at 7Pm we ended our dinner close to 11Pm.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best place in Malmedy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

This restaurant is very nice and quite.
The specialty is off course the trout, which are grown and catch by the chef himself.
The staff and owners are very friendly and all is with quality fresh made and delicious.

It's so good, that we actually don’t mind to drive two hours all the way from Antwerp just to have a delicious dinner here. Each time we visit the Ardennes we come back to this nice place.

Since the place is not too big and the service is personalized, it's better to call in advance to book a table.

Muchas gracias!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

To complete the few comments on this restaurant, I can confirm that this is a very nice place.
The setting, the service, the friendly staff and last but not least the excellent food.
With not much choice in Stavelot (as le Mal-Aimé was fully booked) we found a few good reviews on several restaurants in Stavelot.
If you like fish, just try the trout. They fish it straight from the pond and first show it to you before preparing it in the kitchen. Fresher than that is impossible!
From arrival till departure (with excellent food in between...) we were spoiled by attentive and friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant in the middle of the ardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011 via mobile

We went here august 2011, guided by only one review in trip advisor. Must say that this was far more than we expected. Its atmosphere is of local ambiance and very cosy. Its cuisine however flirts with Michelin star quality!

We will definitely come back and enjoy the Truite de Maison here!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A la truite argentee also viewed

Malmedy, Liege Province
Malmedy, Liege Province
 
Malmedy, Liege Province
 

Been to A la truite argentee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A la truite argentee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.