We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nordic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nordic to your Saves list
Hotel Nordic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carreterra General s/n | Prat De L'Obac, Sant Pere Del Tarter, El Tarter AD100, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Tarter
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here as a family for February half term week. Fantastic hotel, very helpful staff and great accommodation. The location is absolutely superb, ski in ski out takes away all the hassle of getting to the slopes early. The food was good but, as noted in previous reviews, not particularly hot at times. The only other minor negative we had was that dinner didn't start until 7.30pm and the slopes close 4.45/5pm so we found ourselves hanging around waiting for dinner. Having read the previous reviews I didn't expect much from the wifi but actually we found it acceptable just for checking in a few times a day, it did the job! who wants to spend all the holiday using the wifi anyway!!? Bar prices very reasonable, a lot cheaper than what we are used to. Fantastic place to stay, can definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    120
    28
    22
    11
See reviews for
122
77
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Went there is Feb half term 2013. Fantastic food, ski in/ski out. Swimming pool, bowling alley - plenty for kids to do. Quiet area but taxi or bus into Soldeau and there is lively pubs. skiing really good and connections easy. Queues not at all bad.dissapointed disco was shut though.
Caught the local bus into Andorra to do some shopping.
15 minute walk down the road there are some lovely shops and eating places.
Went on a few trips.
would definately go again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Oh my god, wahta shame, worese service I've evver seen, from the momento you arrive to reception and onwards you are treated like a problema, with employees that have a terrible attitudde and make everything complex. You have to keep signing, papaer, bouchers, presentig cards... a nightmare...and a pitty, as the building is nice and well located, very close to the slopes and equipment rental. only exception are the waiters that are nice...you have to queu for evyruthing!!!!

A real bad experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here w/c 26.01.2014 location for skiing could not be better. The hotel itself is very nice, spacious, clean, professional staff. Rooms fairly small but comfortable and well appointed. Hot water and water pressure was great in the bathroom. Minor grumble no tea and coffee making facilities.

The restaurant was brilliant. I am the Fussiest of fussy eaters and I cannot believe anyone would leave the place unsatisfied. The choice available both at breakfast and dinner is huge. The previous complaints about the coffee machine apply to coffee snobs only. There are two machines in the restaurant so you never have to wait long to get it and I found it perfectly adequate, if its not strong enough you can just put a shot of espresso in it.

The WiFi as mentioned in other reviews is not good enough in this modern age, and I wasn't aware extending it to the room for an extra charge was an option. Didn't bother me too much though, holidays are for getting away from it all.

The staff are incredibly hard working and efficient. It shows a difference when working in the hotel industry is treated as a proper proffession as it is in Andorra.

I heard many complaints from other guests about our noveux riche cousins from the east, of which there are many in this hotel. Please just remember that these people are 30 years behind us culturally and socially and that where they are from it is normal to wear tracksuits with their country's name emblazoned all over it all day and to wear flip flops and shorts to the evening meal. Please also remember they have not had much to smile about so this is a very new concept.In fact when you have a hangover a dour,expressionless face that makes no attempt to communicate with you is just what you need.

Great hotel, great ski area for all levels. Much cheaper than France and friendlier locals.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I've read some of the previous reviews and find a few of them rather unfair, especially those that mark the hotel down for being in a quiet town. It is true that El Tarter is quiet and I'm sure in summer it's not the most exciting place to visit but this hotel is perfect for those wishing to have a hassle free and enjoyable skiing holiday. Those that go on a skiing holiday and spend most of their time in bars or clubs rather than skiing should consider elsewhere.

The hotel and apartments benefit from being beside the El Tarter slopes and you can ski from the locker room, where you get a free ski locker, to either the gondola or the chair lift, after a day's skiing you can ski back to the locker room door if you're capable on the slope, so no carrying skis up a hill, a massive bonus.

The hotel is modern, spotlessly clean, well maintained and the staff are very friendly. Special mention to the bar and restaurant staff who are both very friendly and professional. They deserve credit for their service standard.

The food available at breakfast and dinner is incredibly varied and there is something for everyone. I agree with previous reviewers that some labelling might help but apart from that I've no complaints about the food, it's fresh, plentiful and a good standard. The only thing I would criticise is the lack of fresh tea or coffee for breakfast, a four-star hotel really should be offering this at breakfast as the machine stuff isn't great.

Our room had a great view toward the town and wider Pyrenees which was nice and I don't see the point of paying extra for a slope facing room as you're looking at ski slopes all day when skiing. Housekeeping was both efficient and thorough and the rooms were maintained very well. If you want a double room then email reception in advance of your stay, the rooms come as a twin as standard.

The only criticism I have is that the rooms should come with both free wifi and a free safe. We paid for the wifi and safe but this really should be included. The free public wifi in the bar and lounge area is unpredictable and doesn't always work, something that really isn't good enough and needs to be addressed.

I rather enjoyed the games room in the basement with the indoor bowling alley, a great way to wind down after skiing with a few drinks.

Overall the stay was very enjoyable and we'd happily return. It's perfectly located for skiing and the hotel and staff are both pleasant and welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Perfect location. Out of the ski-room and you have a chair lift to take you up the mountain or you can ski to the gondola just 200 metres down a gentle slope. You ski back to the ski-room door.
The hotel is modern,smart and spacious. In the public areas of the reception and the bar/lounge there is a display of many classic motorcycles and two classic cars - Rolls Royce and Porsche. All the specimens are restored to the highes standard!
Hotel staff were always very kind and helpful. Restaurant and food - excellent. We like buffet style restaurants and this restaurant was excellent. The waiters and waitresses were always happy, smiling and very attentive and we would particularly like to mention the restaurant receptionist and maitre d' who were on duty on the 20.1.2014 who helped us to celebrate our daughter's engagement on that day.
The variety of both hot and cold food available was great every day, the display was most attractive and most important of all: the food was delicious and freshly cooked. They never run out of any dishes - very attentive staff replenished any dishes, well before the serving dishes could look empty.
The room was modern, very clean and warm. There were no problems in controlling room temperature, although the public areas felt slightly cool.
Travelling in this day and age one expects reliable and free wi-fi both in the room and in the reception area. Unfortunately, there is no free wi-fi in the room and what is available in public areas is so slow that is virtually unusable. Very fast and free wi-fi is available in all mountain cafes and therefore we are surprised that the hotel can not provide at least an equivalent service for it's guests. There are such high standards in this hotel that this is disappointing.
The hotel spa - pleasant, small swimming pool and jacuzzi. They still insist that you wear a swimming cap in the pool and even though we only wanted to use the jacuzzi we were told it was obligatory to purchase the caps to enter the spa area. From our travels we feel that majority of spas have moved on and do not even mention swimming caps.
Despite these two very minor negative points we thorougly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return to this hotel in the future or recommend it to others.

Room Tip: A slope side room gives a more interesting view, but at a hefty premium!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Having spent a week there, it was really sad to leave such a wonderful place. The interior was nice, rooms were cosy, although our standard room seemed a bit worn out and adjusting the temperature inside was kind of a challenge, which I never coped with. Paying some extra money would give you a room facing the slopes, which didn't appear reasonable, since we found the view of the town more attractive. While breakfasts, however tasty they were, did not provide many options, dinners were truly impressive with a lavish choice of meals to satisfy everybody. As for the location, it's really great and convenient to have a lift just a few metres away from the lockers room, especially after a long day on the slopes. Finally to crown it all, what deserved special attention and left us completely enthralled was the staff; rarely have I seen so pleasant, friendly, helpful and simply adorable people to help you out.

That being said, poor WiFi and a really small spa area (it's not about crowdedness, it's about too little space to accommodate the crowd) were nothing to complain about and could not spoil the overall good impression.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Tarter
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Tarter
Hotel del Tarter
#2 of 4 in El Tarter
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#3 of 18 in Soldeu
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Andorra Park Hotel
Andorra Park Hotel
#1 of 38 in Andorra la Vella
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Princesa Parc
Hotel Princesa Parc
#5 of 12 in Arinsal
4.0 of 5 stars 886 reviews
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Andorra
Holiday Inn Andorra
#5 of 38 in Andorra la Vella
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nordic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nordic

Address: Carreterra General s/n | Prat De L'Obac, Sant Pere Del Tarter, El Tarter AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > El Tarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Tarter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nordic 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Nordic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic Hotel El Tarter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nordic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.