We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, room and food could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Llop Gris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Llop Gris to your Saves list
Hotel Llop Gris
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cami Del Pont Del Tarter, Prat De La Mestranca, El Tarter AD100, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in El Tarter
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, room and food could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just back from a lovely week in El Tarter. Hotel is right on the slopes, by the lift up to main ski area. Can ski down to door of hotel, and can ski out and down to telecabine up to main ski area. Hotel has ski and boot storage room one flight down. Useful. Hotel is eclectic. Lots of interesting paintings and sculptures in the lobby (sculptures created by owners brother). Went with my wife and 2 kids (boys, 10 and 8). Booked a family room, which was tight (not enough storage), and a little cold at night. Not enough electrical outlets for charging stuff. Otherwise room was clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. Always tried to help. Dinner (we booked half board) was mixed. Varied menu, and good options for kids, but food sometimes cold and lots of pig/shellfish (not eaten by us!). Hotel also has a pool/sauna. Pool chilly (for me), but my wife liked it. Jacuzzi too small for hotel this size, can only seat 4 really. Overall pool area a bit run down. Overall though had a lovely stay and skiing was excellent. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room above level zero.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rikki f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

A lovely small hotel providing convenience with excellent service. This hotel has everything needed for skiers, which makes it so comfortable: Llop Gris is located right on the slope, yet close to the parking lot and ski lift ticket booths. It has a skis locker room, ski rental shop, swimming pool and spa facilities, various game rooms bar and dining room. All are exquisitely designed, with unique antiques collections of the circus, agriculture tools, diver gear and more. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Food is delicious, especially the freshly baked (on the spot) breakfast croissants…

Room Tip: Junior suit is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ns0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Visited this hotel with family and friends in February. Our primary activity was skiing, but as a large group we also needed nice hotel facilities to meet in the evening etc.

We booked rooms with half board and were quite happy with both the selection of the morning buffet and the 3 course dinner in the evening.

The hotel has a rustique decor and the rooms are small and a bit dated, but otherwise quite OK.

Pool area was also OK, didn't use it much as especially the jacuzzi was normally occupied with a bunch of kids...

The staff was nice and helpful, especially our (french) main waiter at dinner made us smile :-).

Best thing was the ski-in, ski-out! Great location directly by the slope and the two lifts from El Tarter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I have been here three times in winter, always like the hotel (llop gris=gray wolve).
Perfect location for a skiing vacation! There is a ski rental downstairs and you can leave your equipment in the hotel basement at night.
Rooms are good, no complaints.
Breakfast and food is rural/catalan, I like ot a lot!
Pool and sauna OK, could be maintained better, ut still good to heat up after a day on ski.
Service was usually very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
1,042 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Admittedly we did not spend much time in the hotel because we were there to ski with a group of about 16 adults. The hotel facilities and rooms were exactly what we needed and we had no complaints. Excellent location for the slopes and nearby restaurants, bars and shops. No complaints.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed 4 nights immediately after New Year with my family - The first impression was rather negative. It is impossible to park in front of the hotel as the alley taking to the hotel is very narrow. You need to park your car in the parking lot and drag your suitcases. Not very practical if you travel with children. The reception desk was very unfriendly, almost uncouth - two intractable ladies. Please be careful when making a reservation. Three stories of the hotel are underground. We were on ground floor.
The WIFI system was almost always down and you needed to go to the front desk to have it reloaded - It worked only in the main hall, when it did!! - The rest of the personnel working there, instead, was very efficient and polite.
Downstairs you have a ski shop selling and renting equipment - very nice and competent people. This is a REAL PLUS - Very reasonable prices for excellent equipment, even for rent. Staying at the hotel gives you a 10% discount on any item, be it on sale and rent.
Breakfast and dinner are above average both in terms of quantity and quality.
Turning to the room, we got a duplex for four people. The room was quite cold and the bathroom also. Not very pleasant when coming out of a hot shower. The two children upstairs in two beds - There was a huge girder at the height of the children's head and thus children needed to be very careful in going into bed to avoid unpleasant bruises. Beds and pillows were comfortable and the bath clean, albeit small. There was no bidet. No minibar in the room either.
Let's go to the swimming pool. The size was OK but the water was cold. Even the temperature downstairs was not very balmy. You cannot seat around the pool as there are only four long chairs - always taken. So if you go after 6pm (which is normal if you ski until 5pm), then you need to drop your towels on the wet floor. Not very nice. Jacuzzi is slightly larger than a puddle. Three adults need to make compromises to sit together. Sauna is for midgets.
SKI RESORT: The hotel is 200 metres away from the cable car, which takes you to 1700 - El Tater is a perfect learning area and ski instructors were competent and patient with children - Children had both individual classes (120 EURO for two hours) and school classes (3 hours) - Very good - For expert skiers slopes are very easy but the ski resort offered a decent variety - There are no black slopes even if they claim they have two - Quality of snow was mixed - If you are an expert skier go to Grau Roig Resort, which is much, much better.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank novembre1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carcavelos, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

From the older reviews I was afraid of getting regrets going to this hotel...
First thing to say is that the disco nemo is not opening this season! So no fun until late unless you go to soldeu, but that said, there isn't any noise problems until late!
The food is excellent and the 3 meal dinner (with the 3 options on each plate) is a must have for this hotel. There is heated pool, jacuzzi and sauna for free and an additional spa (paid). I'm still at the hotel, leaving tomorrow and will enjoy the special new years eve dinner tonight that I believe will be awesome for sure!
The parking behind the hotel is 14€ night, a little tight to enter with a big car.
The location is excellent, you leave the hotel and 20m you have a lift to take you to the top of the mountain! There's also another lift 150m (closed cabin) you can buy forfeits 10m from the entrance o the hotel and there is 2 great ski/snowboard shops in the same building of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Tarter
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nordic
Hotel Nordic
#3 of 4 in El Tarter
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Tarter
Hotel del Tarter
#1 of 4 in El Tarter
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#4 of 18 in Soldeu
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.0 mi away
Ski Plaza Hotel
Ski Plaza Hotel
#5 of 10 in Canillo
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Llop Gris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Llop Gris

Address: Cami Del Pont Del Tarter, Prat De La Mestranca, El Tarter AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > El Tarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in El Tarter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Llop Gris 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned hotel in Andorra. Right near the slopes of Grand Valira ski resort. A mountain atmosphere perfect for families. Traditional and mountain cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Llop Gris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing