We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, will definitely return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Tarter

Save Saved
You added Hotel del Tarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel del Tarter
Crta. Nacional 2, El Tarter AD100, Andorra   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Tarter
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic, will definitely return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Overall a lovely hotel – We stayed from the 22nd Feb the 26th, holiday started off badly as we had some issues with our transfer from Barcelona to Andorra and finally arrived 6 hours later. Eli was very helpful at check-in with the keys to room, wifi code and the ski locker key all ready quickly for us so we can have a rest!

Since it was late we decided to have dinner at the restaurant and it cheered us up instantly, food was fantastic (lots of choices) and the wine was beautiful. Everyone at the hotel & restaurant are extremely accommodating and helpful, the room was spotless and even though it is small-ish room on the top floor everything was functional and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was also excellent with lots of choices.

Ski locker is at the basement and from there it is a 5mins walk to the chair lifts and 10mins to the gondola lifts – you can even ski all the way down about 20 meters from the basement door!

Highly recommend and will defiantly come back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    16
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I simply loved the hotel! At first it was planned as a 1 night stay on our way from Carcasson to Costa Brava and I intended just to have a look at Andorra. When we arrived I could not but prolong our stay for one night (it would be more if I had had more days in my holidays). The arrival was a story itself. We were travelling with a car from France, our navigation system was kind enough to show all possible villages, forests and serpentine roads so that before we even reached Andorra it was already around eleven p.m. A madam at reception was really kind to wait for us until midnight or even later, and when we could not find the hotel even to turn on the lights and an outdoor sign.
We had a room with a very nice terrace and beautiful view to the mountains, there was a river right under it, actually it was noisy with an open window, but I did not mind at all. The room was really good for a 3* hotel, clean, spacious, with good quality furnishings and linen.
Breakfast might have been richer but what was served was very good indeed with tasty coffee and great pastry and bread.
The staff was attentive and helpful.

Room Tip: It is worth to pay a little bit more and have a room with a balcony/terrace. But it might be noisy d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We married in March so we knew we would want a 'second honeymoon' later in the year. I have been coming to Andorra for 20 years & love it in summer & winter. Driving around the Pyrenees is an experience in itself! The hotel is fairly remote, but many places to visit near-by & the perfect place to relax. During a heat wave at home it was lovely to be next to the river with the crisp mountain air.
Everyone at the hotel & restaurant are extremely accommodating, the room was spotless & views spectacular. The bar/lounge is very relaxed & a lovely setting to sit & unwind. The food is tasty & a good selection, the service is brilliant. Breakfast buffet is excellent. As it is right next to the slopes for winter, if you haven't booked already for 2014 ski season - do it now!
Fantastic - thank you Hotel del Tarter!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel is fantastic. Very friendly and comfortable. The service was excellent and the people very nice and professional. Rooms were small but perfectly clean and refurbished and the food was fantastic!. Only 5 minutes walking to the El tarter Slopes through a nice path. We are looking to coming back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarter H, Owner at Hotel del Tarter, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Google Translation
Buenas tardes!!

Sentimos el retraso de la respuesta por nuestra parte...
Nos alegramos que su estancia fuera agradable y esperamos volver a verles.
Saludos desde Andorra!!

Eli y Dani Mateu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is friendly and efficient with comfortable beds (once the increasing prevalent plastic undersheet was removed) and a good position. The building had some character, unusually for the area. We were in a small-ish room on the topfloor, but it was reasonably sized and had a small but functional bathroom and good cupboards. Breakfast was good, the staff friendly and the service good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarter H, Owner at Hotel del Tarter, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Good afternoon from Andorra!!

Sorry for the delay of aswering...
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, for next time you should try the doble with terrace rooms, are bigger and terrace is nice to sit and see the mountains!!.
Hope to see you again and best wishes,

Eli and Dani Mateu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you're looking for a good, clean, quiet, well run hotel thats close to the slopes then this is a great choice given the very reasonable prices.

Danny and his team made us feel very welcome and were particularly helpful when it came to helping us get our car our of the car park after 4 days of full on snow - it took one and a half hours!!!

The only down side is the food - it needs improvement to be honest - breakfast is fine, a nice enough spread and perfectly adequate, dinner however was not so good - edible, but thats about as far as I would go.

Overall though a great stay and we'd return for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarter H, Owner at Hotel del Tarter, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Good afternoon from Andorra!!

Thank you for your comment, It was a plesure having you, sorry that we havent replayed before... And sorry aswell, that the meals ware not to you liking but we can assure you that we have impruved... So we hope to see you againt and that you will be able to enjoy your next meal in our restaurant.
Best wishes,

Eli Mateu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very welcoming hotel, high standard of cleanliness, extensive breakfast buffet with hot/cold choice. Comfortable bar area for having a glass of beer after hard day skiing. Fabulous location to chair lift. Parking on site. Staff attentive and helpful and speak perfect English - we will be back.

Room Tip: small doubles are very good value and big enough for short stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth M, Manager at Hotel del Tarter, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words!! Hope to see you again soon, there is a lot of snow now!!
Best wishes,

Eli and Dani Mateu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel del Tarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Tarter

Address: Crta. Nacional 2, El Tarter AD100, Andorra
Phone Number:
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > El Tarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Tarter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Grandvalira’s ski slopes and 5 minutes’ walk from El Tarter’s chair lift, this hotel offers rooms with satellite TV and free Wi-Fi. It features a sauna and a restaurant.GrandValira Soldeu Golf and Bike Park is 3 km from the hotel, and Canillo’s Family Park is 3.5 km away. Andorra La Vella is 20 km away. Secure bicycle and skiss storage is available on site.Each heated room at Hotel del Tarter has simple, traditional décor. Some rooms have a private balcony with mountain views.Guests can enjoy a buffet breakfast in the Tarter’s restaurant, which serves traditional Andorran cuisine for dinner. There is also a café-bar with a terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel del Tarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Tarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.