We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfying Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Elms

The Elms
St Johns Business Park, Lutterworth LE17 4HB, England
01455 552301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 37 Restaurants in Lutterworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This lovely family pub is situated on the edge of Lutterworth. The Elms has a sun drenched patio which is perfect for those long summer days and a children's play area to keep the kids amused. During the winter we invite you to come and bask in the heat of our real fire, a feature which only adds to the traditional ambience of this charming pub. With quality pub food being served at very reasonable prices, the Elms is the perfect pub for all the family.Also, Find us on Facebook!!If you like our page you can receive free offers when you show our team the page on your phone.Alternatively, if you do not have facebook the go onto our pub page and sign up to our database to receive all our latest offers
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Satisfying Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited The Elms recently on a Sunday evening. The restaurant was very busy which is normally a good sign. We were immediately seated at a window seat. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We all decided to go for the carvery as we were a bit tight for time. The quality of the food was excellent, the quantity plentiful and good value. As the carvery was quick we had time for a very nice desert. We will definitely return

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
This is nice to know. Thank you for the plesant feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    58
    27
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

went as a party of twelve for my sons 30th, staff were very accomodating and moved tables so we could all be together, food and service was excellent, no long waits for food or drinks, at the end of the meal staff brought out the cake that i had taken in, candles were lit and we were provided with plates to serve the cake.
a very enjoyable day and service and staff were brilliant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for this lovely comment. We do try our best to always cater for everybody so i am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Roast Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Good food quick service I have been to the Elms 4 times now and not been disapointed.The staff were very helpfull.The food is hot and plentifull and served with a smile.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Elms2013, Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments on The Elms. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed it. Unfortunately we do not have a say in the prices as it comes from above, so apologies on that. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“hot and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went for sunday cavery at the elms , we arrived at 12noon and found plenty of free tables, after ordering drinks at the bar and sitting down the place soon filled up.we went to the serving area where there was a queue that was quickly severed. All the food was hot and great choice, we counted 6 veg.as we chose the large meal we had more meat than we actually needed and on our next visit would go for the smaller carvery. The staff were all friendly and helpful.we did find one downside and that was price of soft drinks very expensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Elms2013, Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Sunday is our busiest day of the week so you came at a good time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“It is what it is.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

If you want five star fine dining in it's strictest sense go to an appropriate place and pay five star prices.
If you want good pub food, a carvery or weekend breakfast The Elms will fit the bill perfectly. The young staff are a delight and work really hard.
However, how anyone can be critical of breakfast is beyond me. It is fantastic value at, What I recall was £3.49 per person or thereabouts. Try and buy a coffee at a well known chain of coffee shops for less than £2 and then have some appreciation about "value". Whether it is for one visit to the buffet or multiple visits, how much can people eat regardless of the size of the plate . Furthermore, I know where I would prefer to sit and eat a breakfast if I had to choose between a well known supermarket chain and the Elms, there is no contest. The simple fact is that buffet style anything brings out the worst in certain people. "I've paid for it so I am going to get as much as I can " attitude, evidenced by the mounds of food piled onto the plate . For some ,it would be simply easier for Marstons to provide a trough and allow certain customers to consume their food out of that.
The breakfast is undoubtedly provided at an operating loss being "the sprat to catch the mackerel'. The ingredients appear to be of good quality ,real scrambled egg(not powdered), sausage that actually contains a good percentage of meat, bacon that is not salty and well cooked with little fat,fried eggs, beans, hash browns, toast, tomatoes......the works. The fact is that you rarely satisfy all members of the public all of the time, and who ,in some instances ,are wholly unreasonable and whose expectations are inconsistent with the type of establishment they choose to eat at ,to the price they are paying. Context is everything, and without doubt I would recommend that you try the Elms ,you will not leave hungry and will have eaten in a pleasant environment served by staff who are lovely . The alleged loss of custom from those that feel shortchanged from £3.49 (or whatever it was) for a full English breakfast is to be seen as a very positive thing for those of us who are prepared to pay a very very fair price for a good product consumed in pleasant surroundings.
"I commend it to the house".

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elms also viewed

Lutterworth, Leicestershire
 
Lutterworth, Leicestershire
Lutterworth, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Elms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.