We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Shambles

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Shambles to your Saves list
The Shambles
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   10-12 Bell Street, Lutterworth LE17 4DW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Lutterworth B&B and Inns
Midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were looking forward to a Groupon deal at a lovely restaurant.
The Shambles is actually a pub that really is in need of a makeover.
The staff were friendly but we did ask to discuss the Groupon deal as it was our understanding that we were entitled to a free bottle of wine with the deal. The manager on duty (or owner I suspect) was quite abrupt and whilst we may have misunderstood the deal, we were made to feel uncomfortable. The food was very typical pub food, the service somewhat slow (even though we were the only people in the eating area at that time) and not the experience we were expecting from the write up on the web site.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
8
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

What can I say-Went for a quiet drink at the shambles last night. It started well. Even when what I found out later to be the local ladies rugby team came in for a few drinks all was very pleasant. The ladies and gents must have put at least £100 in the till u till one of the staff, An older lady starting shouting the odds at them in quite a aggressive wAy for bringing their own booze into the pub. Yes in this climate I can understand why the staff have issues but on a quiet Sunday night in Feb-maybe a quiet word may have been more appropriate. The ladies shortly left and so did we-I hope they, as we will be ,take their business elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lutterworth hotels

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Me and my partner had a meal this week and I cannot fault it. I felt as I had walked into my aunts home for a wonderful home cooked meal as the welcoming was like a family member.
I did ask for medium steak but got medium/well but that did not make the meal any less perfect. Homemade chips which I've not had in years but now realise how much I miss them!!
I also laughed at the landlord telling a grown man off for swearing near the bar.
The one and only issue I had was the waitress but in all honesty I will put it down to being so young or it was her first week on the job.
I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This pub has great potential, nice location and decor, reasonable priced menu I was expecting great things and was very disappointed with my visit. We had booked a table but on arrival there was no one behind the bar. The locals advised us that the barman had popped up stairs and wouldn't be long. Several minutes later the bar man appeared and we explained we had a table booked. he directed us to pick any table in the empty dining area and he would send the waitress across. 5 minutes later the waitress whow as young and very sweet arrived and took our food and drink order. We then waited 15 minutes for a pint , a coke and a diet coke before someone came to tell us that the beer was off and ask what was wanted instead. There was then a further wait of 5 minutes before the Pint and coke arrived, and we continued waiting for the diet coke. It duly arrived with an apology from the waitress that they ahd had to change the barrel for the coke hence the delay.

There was only 1 other diner in the restaurant and a few people at the bar so it lacked any real atmosphere.

The starters were reasonably priced and the portion size reflected this. You get what you pay for. I had Brie wedges and my husband garlic mushrooms, and both were of the 'buy it in a big bag from Iceland' variety.

My biggest disappointment was with my steak it was bland and tasteless and had no colour to it at all.

We usually eat out at least once a week and are always looking for reasonable priced places to go to but I am sorry to say the Shambles wont be added to our list when there are so many other better places to eat locally. A real shame because this place has such potential to be great with a bit of effort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We went to The Shambles by chance on Saturday evening with an intention to have a meal. There was a Christmas meal/party going on in one of the rooms so we chose to sit in the bar.

We stood at the bar for 5mins which was taken up by regular drinkers who made no attempt to make space for us to order our drinks. There was a scruffy old man who I assume to be the landlord sitting in the corner of the bar who did nothing more than stare at me and my partner. A smile and a welcome wouldn't have gone a miss.

We went around the corner to the other side of the bar where we were served by the girl behind the bar and it was quieter, again we were being looked at by the local drinkers and made to feel very unwelcome.

We got a couple of menus ourselves as none of the staff made the effort, just before ordering out food there was a stream of hot food being brought out of the kitchen and taken into the carvery for the party in the next room at this point my partner and I noticed a member of staff scratching their head with one hand and holding a bowl of carrots in the other. This for us was the final straw we left our drinks and left.

The Shambles is clearly a local pub for local people and outsiders are not welcome

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We have been here a few time just to eat and it's really nice. The food is really great value for money and the staff are lovely. There is free parking outside the pub for up to 3 hours plus dogs are welcome. Will visit again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Good Beer, Good Food... right in the center of the town. This is a locals pub, but even if you are staying over or passing through you quickly become a local. A good base if you are touring the area, and also hand for business with its free WiFi - Its a pub - not a hotel - but a home from home in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shambles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shambles

Address: 10-12 Bell Street, Lutterworth LE17 4DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Lutterworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lutterworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shambles 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Shambles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shambles Lutterworth, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shambles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.