We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We don't want to leave this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pumzika Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Pumzika Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pumzika Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 31 | Makunduchi Beach Street, Makunduchi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Makunduchi
Sion, Switzerland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We don't want to leave this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

If you want to spend a perfect holiday in Zanzibar, you have to go to Pumzika Beach Resort. Near the village of Makunduchi, this place is a little paradise on this island. The bungalows are beautiful, just like the whole complexe. You will enjoy the wonderful swimming pool, and the private beach. If you wanna rest and relax, you're gonna love the peaceful atmosphere of Pumzika. Besides, the two owners are absolutely incredible. Danielle and Andre are really kind and they will take really good care of you. I strongly recommend to everybody to go spend a while at Pumzika beach resort. I've spent there one of the best week of my life.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre J, Owner at Pumzika Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Lionel! Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback! This is very encouraging for us when guests are that happy after their holidays. It was a pleasure to have you at our place.
We would love to have you back in Pumzika Beach Resort sometimes - for sure we will prepare something very special for You. Ashante sana and all the best for your tour around the world...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orillia, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our family of 4 (2 teenagers) had the pleasure of staying at Pumzika Beach Resort for 5 nights over New Years. Danielle and André are amazing hosts. They are attentive and go out of their way to ensure their guests are happy. The resort can accommodate a maximum of 15 people, so it is quiet and intimate. We stayed in 2 of their deluxe bungalows. Each was very spacious and unique, all personally designed by André. The bungalows have a large living room and huge bathrooms. The outdoor verandas are lovely places to spend some quiet time reading or just watching the ocean. We enjoyed the pool as well as the private beach. It was also easy to walk along the public beach and watch the locals fish and tend to the coconuts. The food was fantastic! André is an amazing chef, with healthy meals prepared with fresh, local ingredients. Excellent choices of wine for dinner. We looked forward to every meal. It was a pleasure to be able to sit down and chat with Danielle and André after dinner, as well as dine with the other guests if we wanted. Breakfast included daily homemade bread and jams, fruit salad, juice and coffee. You could also order eggs if you wanted.
Danielle arranged for us to go diving, which was 20 minutes away (in Paje) and also arranged the transportation. Danielle can arrange many local trips/activities and sightseeing. We stayed over New Years and they had a live acoustic band play for us over dinner, Maasai warriors put on a show after dinner and a DJ for dance music at midnight.
Our kids enjoyed playing chess with near life size Maasai pieces, mini putt, bocce ball and we all played ring toss. No TV, which was great! There is Wi-fi access for anyone who wants to still stay connected. It was so nice to be away from it all and to recharge our batteries after 11 days on safari.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre J, Owner at Pumzika Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Our dear family!
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are doing what we can to make sure that our guests enjoy their holidays the way they like! It is always a pleasure to have such nice guests! We send you a lot of sunshine, so you may remember our paradise for a long time. Take care of you and ashante sana...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I went in pumzika, one week with two friends. This is a quiet place an our time there was incredible! The hosts, Danielle and Andre are so adorables! Whatever you need, Danielle's always there for you. Andre is really an artist, he made us dream with his food! We really enjoyed the swimming pool and the private beach with this amazing blue/green ocean. They also propose a lot of activities. We did one of them, swimming with dolphins. It was like a child dream!
In one word, PERFECT time there!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre J, Owner at Pumzika Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Fiona!
Thank you very much for your time and comment! We appreciate your opinion. We hope that the rest of your journey to come will be as appreciate as you seemed to be during your stay at Pumzika. We wish you a wonderful trip around the world with lots of positve impressions. We hope to welcome you soon at our "little place called paradise" as you mentioned it in your comments. Ashante sana...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed three nights at Pumzica Beach Resort at New Year, and really enjoyed the atmosphere there! Danielle and André took very good care of us, and did their best to make the stay relaxing and comfortable. They have built a fantastic place, with a totally relaxed atmosphere. The bungalows were clean and well equipped, the breakfasts were excellent with a broad variety of André´s home made jam and everything fresh - bread, juice and fruit. We rented equipment for snorkling, and Danielle arranged snorkling trips for us. And we really loved the outdoor cinema on the beach!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre J, Owner at Pumzika Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Kjerstin!
Thank you very much for those kind words! We are flattered with all your positive thoughts about your stay. We try to do our best for our guests and are very glad to see satisfied people around us. We are happy that you liked our unique feature on the Island, that is to watch a movie at our private beach. We wish you all the best and ashante sana...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My partner and I stayed at this wonderful resort for 5 days in January and couldn't have asked for a better end to our Zanzibar holiday. I've never stayed somewhere so homely, Andre and Danielle were the perfect hosts and it was clear to see that they really enjoyed having people at their resort. Danielle made us feel so comfortable from the moment we arrived and looked after us throughout, including treating my ear injury following snorkelling issues! Andre's cooking was excellent everyday and his cold soups were awesome, I miss them already! He's also a great host and very funny guy, it was great to be able to sit down with him and Danielle after each meal. The resort is small which we loved as it felt very exclusive. We were asked if we wanted to eat with the other guests to which we agreed and enjoyed the interaction which you wouldn't normally get at other hotels. We were upgraded to a deluxe bungalow on arrival and it was also faultless. It had a balcony looking over the ocean and this is where we had breakfast every morning, perfect. All in all a great stay, I always say I'd never go back to the same place twice as the world is too big but I'd happily return here as it felt like a second home.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre J, Owner at Pumzika Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Friends!
Thank you so much for your feedback, opinion and detailed comments! We are exremely happy that you enyojed to stay at our resort.You are right - Pumzika's main advantage is to feel you as being HOME. This is also advertised on our homepage. This is what we are trying to provide to our guests at the highest level. And that's why people who are looking for quiteness, privacy and, good food often choose our resort.
We are pleased that you liked so much our african-indian cuisine. We are using only fresh ingredients in our kitchen, that's why we are offering only an one 4-course menu for diner. However, as you have experianced it, we change the menu every single day. Our chef makes always special effort to cook at our guests gusto.
Once again thanks for the review and hope you will come back to us someday! HAKUNA MATATA...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Danielle and André have put so much imagination and creativity into their original and welcoming resort. We were received so well, treated so kindly, fed so deliciously. We had full leisure to rest and recover, we made friends with our hosts and have already recommend the address to a few friends. Definitely worth the visit!

Room Tip: They are all great from what we could see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre J, Owner at Pumzika Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Charles
Thank you for all your nice words and taking time to give us your feedback! We liked very much our nightly discussions and will remember you and your wife as being not only interested in many sport activities, but practising and enyoing them very much. We wish you all the best and once more ashanta sana...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have spent 4 nights in Pumzika early in January in the fantastic resort Danielle and Andre have designed with a lot of attention to the finest detail.
It is really a special place with 5 bungalows in a splendid and spacious resort, where the design of the bungalows and the splendid house of our hosts, reminded me being in a fairy tale like Hansel and Gretel.
It has a private front beach with a passage to go to the seaside and enjoy the white sand and the beautiful coral reef. The sea has long tides, so it is marvelous to go for long walks thorough white sand banks and corals.
And there were 2 additional great surprises:
a) the African village of Makunduchi where you can go with a 10 min bike and really experience the local life and discover how from coconut trees local people build their economy and they are making house roofs, ropes, bags, carpets etc. Admiring the Makunduchi women working the coconuts shells on the seaside when there is low tide and then crafting handmade bags in the village is simply priceless.
b) the cooking of chef Andre with his special cold soups (1 fruit, 1 vegetable) we really enjoyed the quality of food and the dinner atmosphere.

As minor remarks, the local people helping Danielle and Andre, in particular taxi driver and local guide, could be better. Not easy to find good local people but for sure an area of improvement.
Definitely looking forward to come back.
Ahsante sana Danielle and Andre

Room Tip: book directly with the hotel (it will be much cheaper than going through Expedia as we learnt....) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre J, Owner at Pumzika Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Giovanni!
Thank you for all your nice words and taking time to give us your feedback! Indeed, you are right, Makunduchi is a nice fishermen village and worse to be visited. We are very happy that you had so much fun during your stay. I have to tell you that your smiling and laughing is contagious. Thanks god. You are also right that some of the emplyees do not always fully understand what they should answer, how to behave in certain situations and always place our guest as kings and queens on number one! We will work on this and try to convince our staff to do better. We would be honoed if you come back again. In the meantime get our warm greetings from Pumzika.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pumzika Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pumzika Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 31 | Makunduchi Beach Street, Makunduchi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Makunduchi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Makunduchi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pumzika Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five bungalows of different shapes and styles, a lovely arranged large garden, a beautiful swimming pool, a large private beach, a restaurant and a bar: this will be your environment during your holiday. You will rest in a warm and relaxed atmosphere. To keep our resort quiet and comfortable, we accept a maximum of fourteen people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pumzika Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pumzika Beach Resort Zanzibar/Makunduchi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pumzika Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.