We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Madrugada Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Madrugada Beach Resort to your Saves list
La Madrugada Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Beach Road, Makunduchi, Tanzania (Formerly Zanzibar Azure Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Makunduchi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at La Madrugada for 4 days in December. Everything about our stay was great. The chef prepared really good meals, great cocktails available from the bar. The owner was very friendly and had great suggestions for excursions. I thoroughly enjoyed the massages too. This is a great no frills resort.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    19
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came to la madrugada to stay for two nights. We were excited as we had seen the beautiful pictures on the website. But don't let that trick you!! When we arrived we didn't get any welcome. When we got to our room ( a familyroom for 4 persons), we found it was very dark in the room and it smelled weird. The beds were very bad, making noice when you turn sides and they had bad matrresses. The swimmingpool however was excellently clean. Next to the pool were beds where you had to put a cushion on. However the cushion were used by local homeless cats to sleep on and do their buisness. On the photo's on the website we saw that the hotel had a beautiful white beach in front. When we got there it was all covered in garbadge. besides the swimming pool and a bar there was no other entertainment. The staff was very unprofessional. Orders were wrong and we had to wait for two bowls of soup an two plates of fries for 1,5 HOURS! and the quality of the food was not even good. We where very disapointed as we had expected a lot more from a three star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jürgen R, Manager at La Madrugada Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Please keep in mind that we informed your friends that the hotel is officially closed in may due to renovation and rainy season. We just opened the hotel extra for you and your friends. So most of the stuff was in holiday and we only had basic services. I am very sorry that we had nearly the whole day rain the whole time you stayed here.
So when you expect full service and entertainment do not book again when you know that there will be no standard hotel services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

great place-traditional, high standard, tasty food, great location- very quiet and away from beach boys, very friendly and carrying staff, great view from the pool to the sea, rooms spacious and bathrooms as well, good value for money, sweet kittens to stroke if you miss your one left at home;-)

Room Tip: take a first floor room, nice and private balcony available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moshi, Tanzania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

I booked this hotel online; the pics were quite convincing, they had everything I was looking for - white sands, turquoise ocean, bluest pool and comfy furnishing. I was hoping for the best. It took a two hour ride with the public transport, I was exhausted and somewhat bored until I stepped into the hotel premises - indescribable.
The online pics were very accurate but what the pics didn't show me is how remarkably nice the hotel staff are and how amazing the food tasted.
It is worth your while.

Room Tip: the junior suite with beach view is tastefully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

La Madrugada was a gem we discovered by chance after hunting for weeks for a place in Zanzibar. We loved the pics and just came along not knowing what to expect. It is unfortunate that we only spent 2 nights because we wish it could have been longer. From the moment we called the resort we received a nice welcome from the hotel manager Solomon. Once we got there we enjoyed our stay especially the attentive care from staff, clean and spacious rooms,2 beautiful pools and a well kept beach front and to top it all a really delicious menu from the chef Hamdu & pastry chef Mahmood. The resort is a long distance from town making it perfect for detox and relaxation. They offer taxi pick up and drop off just arrange with the manager. Try at least one of the activities listed on their website to add a bit of adventure. As a busy professional I would definitely recommend this place for a time out.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

We stayed here for 12 nights from the end of January. The hotel was very quiet for the first few days but more people arrived at the beginning of February.
We had a basic room furthest away from the sea, which suited us perfectly as we were also away from the families with children!!!
In truth, all the rooms are basic but you can pay for an upgrade to get aircon and a fridge. As the hotel was not even 1/2 full, Juergen gave us a fridge in our room, which was great. He also arranged for a sofa with cushions to be put on our terrace, as we sat there every evening playing scrabble.
This hotel maybe basic but it is so full of charm, and the staff are delightful, nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are cleaned daily, there is ample hot water, the only downside is that the matresses on the single beds do sag a bit, making them a bit uncomfortable...........could be improved.
Having said that, almost everything else was excellent, location, service, food, swimming pools (salt water, so no chlorine, and SO clean and warm).
The hotel may be a bit remote for some as there is no real resort in walkable distance and the only local restaurant was closed when we were there, so we ended up eating almost everyday at the hotel, which was fine.
But the setting and location is idyllic, perfect for a relaxing holiday and although there is a lot of coral on the beach, there is a clear sandy area just opposite the hotel......just watch out for jelly fish! Nobody on the beach trying to sell you anything, just a few locals working, the odd holidaymaker and miles of white sand dotted with an amazing selection of beautiful shells......what more do you want?

Room Tip: The rooms furthest from the sea are quieter and you can receive wifi virtually constantly. They are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

We stayed at La Madrugada for two weeks in the begining of February.
The hotel is rather small, but it is its advantage, not a lot of guests like a boutique hotel.
Rooms are tidy, cleaned every day, in the evening rooms was being preapred for night time by the staff.
Pools are ok, cleaned every day, they have sea water so its no difference from the Ocean.
The Ocean - the colour is magnificent, beach in front of the hotel cleaned everyday. At various times tides are high and low, but it's the Ocean you have get used to it.
Food - breakfasts are a bit dull, we missed some cheese, but in all it was OK. Dinner was a buffet or a'la carte menu.
NOTE: IF YOU WANT PLATE FROM THE MENU ORDER IN ADVANCE OTHERWISE IT MIGHT TAKE MORE THEN 1 HOUR TO PREP.

Staff is always very helpfull and with a lot of smile.
THX to Solomon for taking care of some our desires.

We will be back when it will be possible.

Room Tip: All rooms are close to each other. We had room 504 and it was the closest one to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Madrugada Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Madrugada Beach Resort

Address: Beach Road, Makunduchi, Tanzania (Formerly Zanzibar Azure Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Makunduchi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Makunduchi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Madrugada Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Madrugada Beach Hotel & Resort *** with its 37 rooms is located at the South-East coast of Zanzibar in Makunduchi, which is an amazing coral village with white sand beaches that go down in gentle slope on a turquoise background. Great location to relax from the business life, not recommended for people who search an exiting night life. The location is also perfect for various sorts of beach activities, but also an excellent base to explore the island. Amenties: 2 swimming pools, private beach, SPA and small Gym on site, most rooms with A/C and oceanview, free WiFi, Tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your La Madrugada Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Madrugada Beach Resort Zanzibar Island/Makunduchi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Madrugada Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.