We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Madrugada Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Madrugada Beach Resort to your Saves list
La Madrugada Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Beach Road, Makunduchi, Tanzania (Formerly Zanzibar Azure Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Makunduchi
Warszawa
1 review
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at La Madrugada for two weeks in the begining of February.
The hotel is rather small, but it is its advantage, not a lot of guests like a boutique hotel.
Rooms are tidy, cleaned every day, in the evening rooms was being preapred for night time by the staff.
Pools are ok, cleaned every day, they have sea water so its no difference from the Ocean.
The Ocean - the colour is magnificent, beach in front of the hotel cleaned everyday. At various times tides are high and low, but it's the Ocean you have get used to it.
Food - breakfasts are a bit dull, we missed some cheese, but in all it was OK. Dinner was a buffet or a'la carte menu.
NOTE: IF YOU WANT PLATE FROM THE MENU ORDER IN ADVANCE OTHERWISE IT MIGHT TAKE MORE THEN 1 HOUR TO PREP.

Staff is always very helpfull and with a lot of smile.
THX to Solomon for taking care of some our desires.

We will be back when it will be possible.

Room Tip: All rooms are close to each other. We had room 504 and it was the closest one to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    17
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent four days in this lovely resort and had a wonderful time: the pools are nice and clean and chlorine-free, and the beach beautiful. We got three spacious rooms for our party of six which meant we had a full floor to ourselves with a porch with a marvellous ocean view. We also enjoyed the trips organized by the hotel: went to see dolphins, did a snorkelling trip and a visit to a spice farm. Oh, and the massage lady is very very good.
The food was not great but it was not in the three other hotels we stayed at in Tanzania, either.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were welcomed at the hotel by a friendly receptionist with refreshing towels and a cold drink. Our room was very comfortable with a good shower, air con, fridge and large bed with mosquito net. We were lucky to have a room nearest to the beach and the views were stunning. There are two pools and a children's pool and they are clean and well kept. In fact the whole of the hotel was very well looked after. There is a bar and restaurant. Very necessary as there is very little else around. The nearest village is Makunduchi which you can walk to, but limited as regards buying anything other than water, fruit etc. You can catch a bus or dala dala from there. Or use local taxis. The hotel does have a small shop,selling gifts and toiletries, biscuits. There are no people selling souvenirs on the beach so it is nice and peaceful, with no hassle. The hotel does provide a bus to Jambiani a couple of nights a week if you want to sample some night life. There is also a small gym and massage available at the hotel, which we found by accident. Perhaps this should be advertised a bit more by the hotel when you arrive. We ended up staying here for a week and had a great holiday. Thanks to all the staff for their help and obvious pride in their hotel. A great place to stay if you want to be away from it all and relax.

Room Tip: Rooms nearest to the beach are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a lovely beach resort with an amazingly beautiful private beach! We loved walking along the beach and seeing the local people going about their daily work. The swimming pools were clean and warm but not too warm - so nice not to have chlorine in the water as instead they were salt water pools! Kids were in there basically most of the time that they weren't on the beach! We travelled here with our daughter/son-in-law and 6 grandkids and our time here was just too short. Rooms were good, except for all the mothballs that we had to 'search out' the first day or two (since I'm allergic to them). Wifi only worked in the pool and reception areas. Food was good but the buffet was rather pricey for kids (although they did give us a break for the 4 and 5 yr. old). Mr. Solomon and Ms Lucia were really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms especially the shower was superb, the service is above par, the swimming pool is excellent. 9 days was simply not enough.

Mr Jurgen, Mr Solomon and Ms Lucia ensured our requests were met and we sincerely appreciate and enjoyed our stay.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

The hotel was peaceful, situated on a private beach. The swimming pools were immaculate.
The bed was decorated beautifully with flowers twice during our four night stay, great attention to detail!. The food was generally better than anywhere else we ate in Stone Town - especially the fish of the day. Juergen, the owner, was very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We really relaxed here!
Only negatives were that we had asked for the hotel menu before arrival and were surprised that no mention was made that only buffets would be served for two of our 4 night stay. If you are on a budget, this was double what the normal food would cost, so I would suggest this be asked before you arrive. The wifi only worked in reception and pool area.

Room Tip: Ask for a irst floor room overlooking the beach and the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jürgen R, General Manager at La Madrugada Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Trisha
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.
I think there was a misunderstanding with our offered buffets. We also offer a la carte menues even when we have a bufet. We just recommend the buffet as the chefs are busy and there will be no waiting time when you select the buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de bilt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

we were looking for a quiet place to stay but still with enough challenges to keep our teenage daughters happy. Happy kids means great holiday. And it worked like a charm. This resort is a friendly and welcoming place. We stayed in the family house - huge!! - and we felt so at ease and at home. Pools are clean and the beach is kept clean. The sea is not as clear as you see at other places but this is because there is life in the sea, which makes it interesting! Coral, and fish, other weird looking animals and unidentified creatures. And when the tide is in, you can swim. The water is lovely and warm. Excursions are organized properly and a lot of fun. 'The blue safari' was a little more crowded than we expected. But on other excursions we saw dolphins and went snorkeling over a beautiful reef.
Food is great - lobster!!! , kids were very happy with the 'pancake man' in the morning and the 'pasta man' in the evening. Management and staff are hardworking and eager to please. Again, it was a great holiday and I would go back tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Madrugada Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Madrugada Beach Resort

Address: Beach Road, Makunduchi, Tanzania (Formerly Zanzibar Azure Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Makunduchi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Makunduchi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Madrugada Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Madrugada Beach Hotel & Resort *** with its 37 rooms is located at the South-East coast of Zanzibar in Makunduchi, which is an amazing coral village with white sand beaches that go down in gentle slope on a turquoise background. Great location to relax from the business life, not recommended for people who search an exiting night life. The location is also perfect for various sorts of beach activities, but also an excellent base to explore the island. Amenties: 2 swimming pools, private beach, SPA and small Gym on site, most rooms with A/C and oceanview, free WiFi, Tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Madrugada Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Madrugada Beach Resort Zanzibar/Makunduchi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Madrugada Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.