We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had great Vacation there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Madrugada Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Madrugada Beach Resort to your Saves list
La Madrugada Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Beach Road, Makunduchi, Tanzania (Formerly Zanzibar Azure Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Makunduchi
Cairo Governorate, Egypt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Had great Vacation there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we had great time there. we were amazed by the service there! the crew was more than amazing with great smile and funny. The room was done twice with great care each day and the 2 free water bottles were a nice gesture :) all in all it was very good and the food was great
Only it's away from everything. if you want nightlife this is not your place

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have stayed here for 8 nights and it was the best deal I could get on the internet! This is my 4th visits to Zanzibar and staying at La Madrugada has been the best! The staff is friendly and rooms are cleaned twice a day and decorated with flowers. Breakfast is fruit , egg and even pancakes! We have asked and they even put a fridge the room . Free coffee and tea are offered 24 hours and 2 bottles of water free. They offered day trips- The Safari blue trip is shared- the more people the cheaper the trip ! The pervious resorts never offered to share a taxi trip...
We brought our mountain bikes - there is a space to store the bikes.
We cycled to Kizimkazi , swam with the dolphins . $50 for a boat to take us there- and we did not even have to get up early!
Free wi fi .
If you have a mountain bike you can do lots of training from here and explore the Island! We will be back! Sepetember is a great time of the year to be in Zanibar. I have been December and April but September are the best weather! So bring your bike and see the Island from here! They do washing as an additional service.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic hotel, lovely staff, service was superb! Location on the island was perfect for me and my boyfriend, quiet and very romantic! Thanks to everyone there especially the manager (Juergen) for making our holiday so magical! Would recommend this to anyone who wanted Paradise....
Short taxi journey to Jambiani for nightlife! Perfect! X

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is very nice, is's clean, the staff is friendly and the price is good. The pool area is beautiful and the beach is beautiful too. The location is a bit out of the way, but it's only 1 hour 10-15 minutes by car to Stone Town and the western side of the island. To Paje it's 15 minutes by car and about 20 minutes to The Rock Restaurant.
if you want peace and quiet while you're in beautiful surroundings then this is the hotel for you

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torshavn, Faroe Islands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a really nice hotel, but it is on the south side of the island. If you would like some peace and quiet, and I mean really quiet, this is the place to go. Really nice staff, nice rooms, nice pool and very good price.
Would not stay again, but that's only because of the location

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jürgen R, Manager at La Madrugada Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Gunnhild
Thank you very much for your review. I know that you have not been satisfied as here around is no nightlife. Like we wrote already on our homepage this is a place for relaxing. Keep in mind that you have to go to Jambiani, which is 10 km north, when you want to have partys and excessive nightlife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although the hotel was far away from the stone town, our stay there was more than awesome!we were a bunch of volunteers coming from Nairobi just for the weekend. We enjoyed the great food in the buffet, swam in the swimming pool, drank amazing cocktails and most important stayed in an excellent condition rooms. You also feel the african spirit to surround you.!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the resort for 3 nights and it was great! Very friendly team, clean rooms and a calm and relaxed place!
If you are looking for a quiet and beautiful place, it's the perfect place!
We rent a motorbike in Stone Town, because in Makunduchi there is really not much around!! That way we could do little day trips on our own and also have lunch outside the resort.


The only thing that could be improved is the music. Even for us (young couple) it was a little strange to hear (loud) popmusic at dinner (sometimes the same song for 3 times...). It didn't really bother us, it just didn't really fit to the resort. ;-)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Madrugada Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Madrugada Beach Resort

Address: Beach Road, Makunduchi, Tanzania (Formerly Zanzibar Azure Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Makunduchi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Makunduchi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Madrugada Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, T4B, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your La Madrugada Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Madrugada Beach Resort Zanzibar/Makunduchi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Madrugada Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.