We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service...old school” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Madrugada Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added La Madrugada Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Madrugada Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Beach Road, Makunduchi, Tanzania (Formerly Zanzibar Azure Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Makunduchi
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good service...old school”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

service was good, friendly team, however the hotel is very old school, would have loved more modern decor & ambience.....the toels did not impress either, they were navy blue & quite old....not for me...WIFI coverage outdoors, not in the room we had...

Room Tip: some rooms can access WIFI, the closer to reception..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jürgen R, General Manager at La Madrugada Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and allow me to comment your points: The towels we had in July have been brandnew. We bought them after we finished our renovation, beginning of july. In the meanwhile we noticed that this towels are getting bad when they are used in the pool and coming in contact with saltwater; we are very sorry that you had to experience this. So we replaced all of them just short time ago.
We also had to replace one of our access points, now we have internet even at the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The territory of the hotel is very well arranged, nicely kept and looks just eyes-capturing! Staff is very polite, attentive and friendly. Nice kitchen with good choice and quality of meals, however breakfast is something that needs to be improved - there is no that much variety of food.
Arranging the different tours is done very easy and simple - no headache.
The water at the beach is a bit shallow with some sea weeds spoiling it, so you are more encouraged to enjoy nice swimming pools rather than ocean.

Room Tip: There are rooms with and without air conditioner, in July the aircon is not that much essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in this beach resort for 2 nights, we were 12 friends in total, different nationalities but working in Nairobi.
When we first arrived after the tours in Stonetown and Hakuna Matata Spice Farm, we were welcomed with cool hand towels and fresh fruit juice and the friendly manager, Solomon.
Immediately, one of my friends, a french guy asked me if I had booked them into a 4* resort because the ambiance was exquisite.
The rooms were very clean, beautifully designed and the decor was quite modern. The beds are comfortable and washrooms nicely built.
The drive from the airport or ferry harbor is over an hour long but is well worth it because Makunduchi is very peaceful and serene.
The waiters and generally the staff are really friendly.
The resort has many quiet, exquisite spots where you can read, play card games or simply relax on the beach.
Tours organised by them were magical. The pictures on their website or on trip-advisor are 100% genuine.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms during the day time, to see which receive most light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed for 8 nights in this newly renovated beach resort.

The room was very clean, comfortable and well decorated. It had a fresh look and pleasant smell.
The staff and management were excellent, providing caring, friendly professional service in a most courteous manner.

The new F&B manager, Sandra always asked me what I would like to eat that day and ensured that it was prepared to my satisfaction.

I would definitely recommend this quiet peaceful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We believe that the Hotel was closed, but for very good luck this Hotel was in opening dates after full renovation. It was the best of our time in Zanzibar. All instalations news. Fresh food of the sea.Gentleness of local staff. And very peacefull. Really we feeled so fine that we don't want to move outside of Hotel....!!!!

Room Tip: One junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Madrugada Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Madrugada Beach Resort

Address: Beach Road, Makunduchi, Tanzania (Formerly Zanzibar Azure Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Makunduchi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Makunduchi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Madrugada Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Madrugada Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Madrugada Beach Resort Zanzibar/Makunduchi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Madrugada Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.