We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Casa le Rondini

Save Saved
You added Antica Casa le Rondini to your Saves list
Antica Casa le Rondini
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Antica Casa le Rondini
Via M Pierucci 21 | Colle di Buggiano, Buggiano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Buggiano B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just back from our second stay at this brilliant B&B.

First stayed quite a few years back as a young couple, but traveled this time with our 3 year old boy.

Why I like it;

- stylish ( without trying too hard) historic house in lovely quiet village
- breakfasts in the garden
- excellent hosts; Fulvia and her husband are great
- immaculately clean
- good value

Highlights

- throwing open the shutters and seeing those Tuscan hills
- those 'extra mile' service things like giving us a fan for the room and transporting our bags in the '500'
- breakfasts in the garden........................
- living in the village and its atmosphere

There is one restaurant in the village, but that is all you will need as it is great!.Ask Fulvia to book it (Antico Colle) for you, as it popular. We ate there every night; short walk to it; great food and atmosphere, short walk back.

We've decided we need to go here at least once a year

Room Tip: the top floor apartments are great for small families
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    5
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The reviews speak for themselves and yes it is a superb old house in a walled village. Fulvia and Carlo are wonderful hosts. The garden where we had breakfast was great, and the fod seemed o keep coming. Ad a lovely dinner in the village. Unforgettable. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harxheim, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Thank you Fulvia and Carlo for your hospitality. We stayed in the "Le Rondini" suite and were delighted with this beautiful room including antique furniture, amazing wall and ceiling frescos and the breathtaking view from the bathroom. Breakfast was a joy in the walled garden - we really got into ricotta and honey! We dined most evenings at "Saint Elena" in Castello di Buggiano. As the weather was excellent, we were able to sit out on the large patio and look out over Montecantini Terme and other more faraway places.
An absolute must for those looking for a quiet holiday - no TV, no PCs, no noise, no night revellers - HEAVEN.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahamas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Another great find due to TA and Goslow Italy (see also Le Due Volpi in Mugello).
Fulvia is a wonderful hostess for this large house in this very small town. Beautiful quiet private courtyard for breakfast. Not much business in this town but a nice restaurant (Antica Colle) and a pub bar. Lots to see in the hills around Colle. Also larger towns to visit near by like Lucca and M Terme with its many spas. Clearly rates the high ratings it has received on TA.
To get there, recommend you printout her directions from website.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Colle di Buggiano is a lovely, completely unspoilt gem of a village high up in the North Tuscan hills with Pisa and Lucca within easy reach. Le Rondini itself is a beautifully restored house at one end of the village. Breakfasts are excellent – taken in the pretty walled garden where you can also relax and read or just enjoy the peace and quiet. There’s an excellent restaurant in the town square, by the Church whose bells, when we were there, seemed to strike at completely random times!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We loved the view of the surrounding hills, vineyards, and olive groves. There were flocks of swallows in the evening and morning, and tolling church bells. Breakfast in the garden was wonderful--we discovered fresh ricotta with honey on croissants, and good coffee. Our hosts, Fulvia and Carlo, made us feel totally at home. Because a group of people did not show up Fulvia upgraded us to the apartment with a kitchen at no extra charge. Peaceful village on the hill with a wonderful little restaurant in town. Enjoyed watching the rondini feeding their young in the archway. There were bird songs of many kinds in the mornings and evenings. Altogether a peaceful Tuscan experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Another place I don't really want to reveal because it is so special - don't go there if you want trouser presses and wi-fi - this is a tiny old bed and breakfast run by a lovely lady called Fulvia, it is beautifully presented and very peaceful. The village is tiny with one restaurant and two bars, which were only open in the evenings when we were there - the pizza in the restaurant is the best I have ever eaten - I could have happily stayed for a week. I have two recommendations for improvement, the first is either a new shower curtain or a screen rather than a curtain, and fresh orange juice and espresso at breakfast - other than that, just perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Antica Casa le Rondini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Casa le Rondini

Address: Via M Pierucci 21 | Colle di Buggiano, Buggiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Buggiano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Buggiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B is in a 500-year-old stone house. The rooms are spacious, with modern, private baths, charming antique furniture, and incredibile views of the town and the scenic countryside. There are 200-year-old decorative wall frescoes in the rooms. This place is quite special. We are located at less than 1 hour driving from some of the most beautiful Tuscan cities: Lucca, Florence, Pisa, Pistoia. Siena and the Chianti area are 1 hour and 1/4 away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Antica Casa le Rondini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Casa Le Rondini Italy/Buggiano, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Casa le Rondini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.