We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Villa Goa rocks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villa Goa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Assagao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Villa Goa
35 Saunta Vaddo, Assagao, Bardez 403507, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Lake Worth, Florida, United States
1 review
“the Villa Goa rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I can't imagine a more beautiful house and garden than this. 22foot high ceilings, cool tile floors, a Huge swimming pool and great food! The owners were especially helpful and friendly. It's just a 10minute drive to the beach if you tire of the pool. I can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the villa are air conditioned, but the front bedroom in the house is incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

If you want to chill out, eat & drink in a wonderful villa with a huge pool this is for you. We have done India lots of times in 5 star hotels and this was our first stay in a Villa so we were nervous but no need. Loads of excellent restaurants locally or eat in. Very well designed Villa.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Loved every minute of our stay here for our anniversary trip. Loved the privacy and the feel of the Portuguese style villa. The pool was brilliant and very well maintained and we spent a lot of our time in the pool. The staff were very polite and the service excellent. Loved the food as well! Waiting to get back there again next year! :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kwekwe, Zimbabwe
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed in this Villa over the Christmas and New Year of 2011-2012 and it was a family affair with seven of us and a toddler staying in the villa and a Christmas lunch party of 11 plus the toddler.

The main villa is a well restored 200 year old Portuguese house which has 2 main indoor lounges (one with a TV), 3 bedrooms and an open air central courtyard feature. The villa Jardim is just behind the main Villa with it's own kitchen and TV room, upstairs and downstairs verandas.

All of the Indian staff were excellent to us and very helpful in all aspects. The European staff however needed a touch up on their PR skills. For people working in the hospitality industry we found their demeanour totally unacceptable and it definitely put a damper on the entire holiday.

The rooms were all well maintained although the beds are quite hard (apparently normal in India). The air-conditioning all seemed to work well although the power dips often meant that we had to restart them. The water system was quite good in the Villa Jardim although in the main villa there were a few complaints of not having enough water to shower with! There was a water purifier both in the main villa kitchen and in the villa Jardim kitchen although this required some maintenance and did not always work. A good supply of bottled water was always kept on hand as well as various beers and wines (both local and imported).

The swimming pool area was definitely well used and a great part of the holiday!

Provided with the accommodation was towels, bedding and soap laid out in the bathrooms however you would need to take your own shampoos etc. and blowdryers. Breakfast was served each morning however quality varied greatly (possibly with the chef's mood!).

Laundry service is an issue as this is not provided by the Villa and the outsourced laundry service managed to 'lose' a few of our items.

The welcome booklet provided on arrival gave us all the information we needed for the Villa and also to get around Goa. The taxi's listed in the booklet were all very helpful, reasonably priced and great to use.

All in all if you know what you are going to then you will know how to make the best of it. I wouldn't highly recommend the Villa Goa as such but it is still a good option for Goa.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevillagoa, Manager at The Villa Goa, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Many thanks for writing the review. I'm happy to hear that you found The Villa Goa to be a good option and that the swimming pool was a great part of your holiday. However, sorry to hear that you found the beds to be quite hard. The firm mattresses are made with pocket springs imported from Germany. Now we offer mattress toppers for those guests that prefer a softer option.

Regarding the water to the showers. I've not been told of any shortages of water before. I have checked the system and found that the hot water will run tepid after prolonged use. I'm sure this is what was meant by not having enough water to shower with. Late breakfasts orders did cause problems in the kitchen. Weren't the lost items found by the guests?

Wonderful news about our welcome booklet. We are constantly reviewing the recommendations and information and now have a monsoon edition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patna
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

I stayed for 3 days and 4 nights in this hotel with my 4 friends during my weekend trip. I found this place really good place to stay. The food quality was awesome. Staffs were decent and friendly. The main attraction was its swimming pool and we enjoyed a lot at most affordable cost.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Villa Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Goa

Address: 35 Saunta Vaddo, Assagao, Bardez 403507, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Assagao
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty lodging in Assagao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE VILLA GOA Luxury Villa Rental in Goa.This beautifully restored 200 year old Indo–Portuguese mansion and renovated villa in the garden, Villa Jardim, are situated in a 1.5 acre lush sub–tropical private garden with a stunning infinity swimming pool. Located in Assagao, which is considered one of the most fashionable residential areas in Goa, close to Anjuna & Vagator and the quiet beaches in North Goa, as well as the best restaurants and Mapusa market town. The luxury private villas provide very comfortable and stylish accommodation with contemporary facilities. An ideal Goa hide out, where the friendly staff will take care of all the extra details to make your Goa villa holiday special, from arranging car rentals to booking a relaxing massage. Enjoy the European cook's repertoire of delicious dishes which are inspired by top quality ingredients, when they are at their seasonal best. Dine on the veranda or in the Vasary, and the shaded pergola in the garden is perfect for outdoor dining.The Villa Goa sleeps up to twelve people. Reservations can be made for two or more people. We only accept bookings for one group or family at any time so you will have exclusive use of all facilities during your stay.The Villa Goa - luxury villa rental offering a secure and discreet alternative to hotels and resorts ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Villa Goa Assagao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villa Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Villa Goa to your Saves list