We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Morocco! You must go...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Pierre

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boumalne Dades
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Pierre
Save Saved
You added Chez Pierre to your Saves list
Douar Ait Oufi - Ait Sedrat Jbel Soufla | Route des Gorges du Dadès Km 26, Boumalne Dades, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Boumalne Dades
Gibraltar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best of Morocco! You must go...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We arrived Chez Pierre after a recommendation from someone in Riad Touareg/Merzouga. Like all tourists we arrived in transit in the Dades gorges on our way to Marrakesh. We had no fixed plans and our 1st night was so fabulous we stayed for 3 more! Luckily as this was the best moments we had during our 12 day trip in Morocco. Lahcin and his staff are incredible hard working, they go above and beyond, will have a smile on their faces 24/7 and treat you like family rather than customers! Its a place where you can let go and just enjoy the simple breathtaking gorge views or the delicious mint tea talking away to locals... I would encourage anyone to stay more than 1 night there as there is so much to do. The 4x4 off piste tracks in the rose valley they recommended are fabulous and getting back to Chez Pierre after a day of adventure to the best home cooked 4 course meal is just so special! The evenings will be entertained by spontaneous drumming and dancing that you will never forget! I cannot wait to organize my next trip there in the warmer months and enjoy a BBQ by the River with these guys! I now feel like I have found my second home in Dades :)

Room Tip: all the rooms are great and the little riad is also fab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_chezpierre, Owner at Chez Pierre, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks so much for the lovely review, we are so pleased you felt at home here! We really enjoyed having you stay! We're continuing to make improvements to the hotel, and hope you will like it even more next time you come, you are always 'marhaba' - welcome! Best wishes, Lahcen and Ismail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    333
    78
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
91
178
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights at Chez Pierre and did a one day tour with Ismail. Beautiful spot in the red canyon overlooking the river. The food was amount the best we had in morocco, a very pleasant surprise. The tour with Ismail was very interesting. If yo are staying in Dades this this the place to go!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_chezpierre, Owner at Chez Pierre, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Mike, thanks for the review, we are so pleased you enjoyed the stay and the excursion, it was great having you to stay! We're currently doing some more improvements to Chez Pierre, so we hope to give you an even better experience if you - or your friends or family - come again. Best wishes, Lahcen and Ismail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stopped by when visiting the Dades Gorge. Although only one dish of the menu was available, we had a very nice lunch - which easily could have been our dinner. the staff is friendly and the kitchen good. Don't expect Michelin star quality, but it is definately more surprising than the most restaurants you'll find around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_chezpierre, Owner at Chez Pierre, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks for your kind review, we're glad you enjoyed your lunch with us! We can't do anything to improve our location (we do actually think it's rather lovely!), but if you have thoughts about how to improve our value and service, we'd appreciate your thoughts in an email, and will take your suggestions on board as far as we can. Best wishes, Lahcen and Ismail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The room was nice, clean, and exotic. Although we stayed here on December, the heating system worked well. The nice view from the terrace with gougeous stars at night. The last but not least, the hotel staff Ismael was exceptionally nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_chezpierre, Owner at Chez Pierre, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks very much for your lovely review, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay, and we really enjoyed having you! We continue to make improvements to the hotel, so it will be even better next time you come - or maybe your friends or family will visit! Best wishes, Ismail and Lahcen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world wanderer
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Morocco is a beautiful country. I was expecting the Atlas Mountains and the Sahara- but the Gorges du Dades was an unexpected and very welcome surprise. Based on my time at Chez Pierre, I will return to the area to spend a couple of days relaxing and hiking in the gorge.

We felt more like highly regarded friends than "hotel guests". The hotel and room were well appointed, clean, in a scenic area, safe, had good hot showers and excellent wifi in the lobby area. What made this auberge special were the many beautiful additional and unique touches.

As others have said, the French food served was amazing in both presentation and taste. When I peered over to see what the guides and hotel staff were eating, they pulled up chairs for us and had us eat a 2nd dinner with them which was the BEST tagine I had in Morocco! After that the staff all pulled out drums and treated all the guests to a wonderful impromptu concert that had EVERYONE tapping feet and dancing along- it was beautiful!

While they did not arrange the meteor shower that occurred during our stay, they did show us a place by the pool to sit and view the sky and also brought blankets to snuggle up in.

I truly wished in the morning that we had more time scheduled to stay at this particular auberge (and the fresh squeezed orange juice was hard to leave as well!). It would be a mistake to drive through this country and miss not only the gorge area, but this magnificent hotel.

Insha'Allah, we will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_chezpierre, Owner at Chez Pierre, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Kirsten, thanks for your kind words - we are so glad that you feel your stay with us was special - and it was great fun watching the stars! We would very much look forward to welcoming you to Chez Pierre again, and hope we will see you soon. We continue to work on the hotel to make improvements, so it should be even better for your next visit. Warmest best wishes, Ismail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My husband and I have travelled extensively in Morocco, but never have we experienced such a wonderful welcome as at Chez Pierre on my birthday this December! It was our first visit to this delightful auberge, and the dinner was really fantastic- French cuisine as fine as anything one could find in Paris or New York. At the end of our meal, the restaurant was suddenly plunged into darkness - oh no, not a power cut? No! Suddenly the sound of drums and castanets started, and in danced the whole team, manager, waiters and all, bearing a birthday cake on a huge copper tray, surrounded by rose petals and candles.... I couldn't believe it!

This is a very welcoming establishment, with a young and energetic staff who go out of their way to look after your every need. It's great to find a place in such a remote area with free, fast wi-fi for getting in touch with friends and families The setting is very beautiful and calm, with lovely gardens and a swimming pool (for warmer seasons!). It's also a great base for some fantastic daytrips into the Atlas Mountains. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private terraces. For large groups, there is a suite which sleeps 8 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_chezpierre, Owner at Chez Pierre, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Helidjha, many thanks for your kind review. It was great fun surprising you for your birthday - we love an excuse to make music, sing and dance! (As you know, it doesn't take much to get us drumming...) We are still making improvements to the hotel, so when you return at Easter with your in-laws, we hope you will enjoy it even more. Best wishes, Ismail and Lahcen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Thanks to Hassan of Sahara Magic Tours for arranging my stay at Chez Pierre. It was awesome! Amazing views, excellent service, comfortable room and great food. It's a great place to stay in the middle of the Dades Valley. Hassan and Ismail were wonderful hosts. I will definitely go back to Chez Pierre!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_chezpierre, Owner at Chez Pierre, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
thanks so much for your lovely review! it was great to have you stay, and we look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful region again... We're doing more work on the hotel, and hope that your experience at Chez Pierre will be even better next time! Take care, and look forward to seeing you again, Ismail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Pierre

Address: Douar Ait Oufi - Ait Sedrat Jbel Soufla | Route des Gorges du Dadès Km 26, Boumalne Dades, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Boumalne Dades
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Boumalne Dades
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Chez Pierre Tinerhir
Chez Pierre Hotel Tinerhir
Chez Pierre Morocco/Boumalne Dades

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Pierre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.