We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive facility and comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Xaluca Dades

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Xaluca Dades to your Saves list
Hotel Xaluca Dades
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   N 31022'271'', Boumalne Dades, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Boumalne Dades
NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Attractive facility and comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

While not as remarkably beautiful as the Xaluca hotel in Erfoud, the building here was clean and modern and our room was large, with comfortable beds, a big bathroom and even a little balcony overlooking the valley. By the rooftop pool there were tables where one could sit with a drink and just admire the view. The pool itself was cold and somewhat small for the size of the hotel, and the jacuzzi was not working. Yes, it was summer, but the nights were not that hot and the jacuzzi is featured prominently on the hotel website. We thought the dinner and breakfast buffets were more than adequate and enjoyed the novelty of pistachio yogurt. However, the hamman, sauna and massage package at the spa was unispired and not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    189
    62
    12
    6
See reviews for
81
202
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Initially upon walking in to the reception area and encountering a very friendly front-desk lady, we were impressed. The funky African motif was also very interesting - kinda like being at Disneyland. Once in our room on the first floor, my husband and I noticed a lingering sewage odor that persisted throughout the night. The hotel was pretty desolate while we were there, probably due to Ramadan; I think there was only 2 or 3 other guests in the whole hotel. While this seems ideal, it actually wasn't, as there were some areas that were blocked off with the lights out - this was extremely creepy. My youngest son was actually a bit frightened and I didn't blame him because so was I. The only thing worse than the sewage stink, was the food. GOOD GOD - it was horrible. Although most reviews note that it's "buffet-style", it was not during our stay, probably because there were few guests. We had to order from their very limited menu, and none of us ate more than 2 bites of our dinner - it was THAT bad. My son ordered fruit for dessert, reasoning that it would be hard for them to screw that up, but he was horribly mistaken. When my son stumbled upon a giant millipede in the hallway, I thanked Allah that we only had 1 night scheduled there.
Like I said, we were there during Ramadan so maybe that's why they weren't up to par. But I would probably avoid this place during the "off-season" if not for the food, but also for the creep factor. Definately do not get a room on the first floor where the stink is!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Very special decoration, and an interesting new years eve!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

I stayed here for one night after spending a night in the Sahara Desert. It was a great feel to be in a clean, modern hotel with a lot of amenities. The inside decor was very African which gave the hotel its own special charm. The rooms were very clean and had comfortable beds and modern bathrooms. Also, the scenery from the room was amazing! Waking up in the morning to the beautiful reddish color of the land was spectacular. The hotel also had complimentary computers with internet for guests to use in the lobby. The dinner buffet was also good at this hotel. If you are passing through this area, I highly recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetouan, Morocco
Level Contributor
146 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Sleeping with a billion stars my ceiling, a sublime night in the desert is my ideal of peace, solitude and space.
But do yourself a favour and indulge in one night of luxury after your experience in the desert.
Hotel Xaluca - the serene calm in your room, stunning views, fabulous food.

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

This place is fantastic. I don't get some of the negative reviews. The rooms are awesome, great rooftop pool, food was fine, excellent staff, and everything you could ask for. I loved it, thought it was one of the nicest we stayed at in Morocco.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

This chain of hotels seems to not care about the food they provide which is a shame because the setting was great, the room was fine and so was the swimming pool but the food was awful. It felt like its sister hotel in Erfoud that it needs a bit of a management pep up.
However the Dades gorge is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Xaluca Dades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xaluca Dades

Address: N 31022'271'', Boumalne Dades, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Boumalne Dades
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Boumalne Dades
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Xaluca Dades 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Xaluca Dades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Xaluca Dades Morocco/Boumalne Dades

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Xaluca Dades, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.