We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but a little pricey?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quarry Bank Mill

Quarry Bank Mill
Quarry Bank Road, Styal SK9 4LA, England
44 1625 527468
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Styal
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Quarry Bank Mill and Styal Estate- The 18th century Mill, Apprentice House and Gardens provide the setting for a fantastic visit. Gaze in amazement at the mighty steam powered waterwheel, take a tour round the enchanting Apprentice House to get an insight into a mill-child’s life, listen to the roar of the machinery in the mill and get closer to nature in the beautiful gardens. In addition to these attractions, we have miles of woodland to explore- perfect for a walk in all seasons!Pop into the Mill Restaurant to enjoy a snack or main meal, made with delicious local, seasonal food or picnic on the mill meadow. For a special treat, why not book one of our function rooms and a bespoke menu tailored to your groups needs? Quarry Bank at Styal is a day out to remember.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
“Very good but a little pricey?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Quarry Bank Mill , and the country park, is well worth a visit. The standard 2013 entry price for a car including occupants is £4.50, and this compares well with other attractions in Cheshire. However, you then have to pay additional entry to see the mill and the exhibits. This could prove a little bit costly for a family, but free if you are a members of the NT. The mill is full of information and historical exhibits, and is very interesting and educational. Certainly worth it, but we are not sure whether the prices would put a lot off from making a return visit. Good facilities, a nice little café, and if the weather is decent you could spend the best part of a day here exploring the grounds in addition to the mill. I am sure it does state this somewhere, but it's worth mentioning here that it's not suitable for the disabled, as there are a lot of steep and narrow staircases and nooks and crannies to negotiate within the mill.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    70
    19
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Tote that Bale of Cotton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A working cotton mill since 1784, Quarry Bank presents a well-organised and child-friendly trail through its history from top floor to basement where there are still the clamour and hiss of ancient machines as well as the slow but inexorable turning of a giant waterwheel powered by the burbling waters of the River Bollin.
Following the course of the river there are attractive terraced gardens that lead to spectacular views over the whole valley. Hard to believe you are barely two miles from Manchester Airport.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacup, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“View the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very interesting glimpse into our past. Showing how the old cotton mills worked and giving insight into the lives of the owners & workers. Lots to keep young and old intrigued. Lovely gardens to walk round and desensitise the ears after the noisy spinning and weaving demonstrations.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One to re-visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited Quarry Bank Mill as National Trust members. From the carpark and back again, the signage was very good so we easily found our way to the cafe for a hot lunch. The staff throughout the site were extremely helpful and friendly as well as knowledgeable about the history of the cotton mill. The mill itself has been well organised so the visitor is guided through its several floors in a way which showcases the evolution of spinning and weaving. There are many working parts and explanations. The gardens were a picture with rhododendrons and azaleas at this time of year. Alas, we ran out of time. You need more than an afternoon. Suitable for families. There appeared to be access for the disabled with lifts - but check. Non-members may find it a bit pricey. (P.S. The loos were really modern and very clean.)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Mill today, a Friday in term time, so it was lovely and quiet.

We had lunch first, which was very nice. Soup of the day, and I couldn't resist the Victoria sponge.

Then into the Mill. Kate, who was demonstrating spinning and weaving, was really interesting, despite there being only two of us to talk to at the time. She was very engaging and answered our questions very well.

It's great to see so much of the Mill actually working, as it gives you a proper idea of what times would have been like. Unfortunately we ran out of time to look around the Apprentice House.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quarry Bank Mill also viewed

 
Warrington, Cheshire
 

Been to Quarry Bank Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quarry Bank Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.