We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 39 Steps Restaurant

39 Steps Restaurant
4 Altrincham Road, Styal sk94je, England
+44 1625 548144
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Styal
Price range: $13 - $42
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: 39 Steps Restaurant is a modern British restaurant serving the best of locally sourced produce with an extensive wine list to suit every palate
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I hadn't been to 39 Steps for years and went there with a family group for a quiet midweek dinner, and had a very nice evening. The food selection was good and the food itself was very tasty, well-cooked and amply portioned. The wine list has a French bias, but there are some very reasonable cheaper choices. Food came to the pass only after a bit of a wait, it was said to be a new menu which slowed things down, and parking wasn't the easiest because it was a blistering evening, but we would definitely go again and probably take advantage of one of their offers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    14
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful loaval produce food ! Mitchilon star *”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We went on a Wednesday evening
And we both greater so warmly ! Even had a laugh with the waiter all evening , of which passex the time so quickly , between beautiful courses .
I had lamb . Not fat . Veges so fresh !
I over recommend 39 Steps :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A joyful Father Day lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We were visiting longtime friends and I wanted to take them out for lunch on FathersDay.
We arrived before they opened but were taken to the table I had reserve by phone from the US.
We were made very welcome. We ordered champagne and from then everything was excellent. The waiter was unobtrusive but was always there when we needed him. The menu varied and the food delicious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent restaurant - Styal's best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is an excellent local restaurant which thoroughly deserves to be better known. It is fine dining with a warm, welcoming atmosphere. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Surprisingly It is far better value than the newly refurbished Ship Inn next door. We are vegetarians and although the separate vegetarian menu seems to have been discontinued, the chef is always happy to prepare a vegetarian dish to your liking. Children are catered for too and made to feel welcome.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful local produce cooked to perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

A lovely evening was had at 39 steps for our silver wedding. The service was outstanding and especially as we had our wedding reception at the same venue in 1989.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 39 Steps Restaurant also viewed

Prestbury, Cheshire
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 

Been to 39 Steps Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 39 Steps Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.