We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skye of Curr | Near Granton on Spey, Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PA, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Layton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“FABULOUS HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from Tigh na Sgiath which is without a doubt one of the best hotels we have ever visited. We stayed with a group of friends and were all agreed that it certainly offers value for money.

The cuisine is first class and the service is second-to-none! The room was well equipped, extremely comfortable and immaculate. The hotel has a pretty garden in which the red squirrels are wonderful time-wasters.

It is the perfect place for a relaxing break, and we visited Inverness, Aviemore, Grantown on Spey, the famous Heather Centre, Logie Steading and the beach at Findhorn, all of which are within easy reach of the hotel. We will definitely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    30
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
171
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aberlour, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We had a wonderful time at this Hotel, we could not find fault with anything. The breakfasts were amazing, sitting watching red squirrels having their breakfast as well added to the delightful ambience of the Hotel. The owner could not have been more welcoming and our room was a real treat, spotlessly clean, extremely comfortable and a great range of reading material. We wanted for nothing. Dinner in the evening was absolutely perfect and catered for all tastes. All in all, this Hotel deserves to be congratulated on the care and attention to detail which makes a stay here an absolute delight.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

We have visited this wonderful hotel many times and cannot praise too highly Iain and Elaine who own and run it. From the moment you are welcomed in by Iain you just relax and know that you are going to be looked after in every way. For ourselves it is our oasis whenever we need our batteries recharged. The hotel is extremely well furnished from the invitingly comfortable public rooms to the attractive individual bedrooms. The dining room is beautifully set up with crisp white linen cloths and napkins, candles or flowers adding to the occasion. Elaine is in full charge of the cooking and each meal is something to be relished. Even the side dish of vegetables is invitingly attractive and tasty.
We would never hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking to spend some time in this lovely part of the world. To finish I would just add that from the moment we leave this lovely hotel we are already looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

I promised this review some time ago and have only just got round to it so don't let this make you think any the less about this hotel. My wife and I had a couple of nights here as a birthday treat for me and to visit a part of Scotland we were not that familiar with. We had an excellent stay. We turned up a bit bedraggled having been for a walk in the hills in the rain and the manager couldn't have been more welcoming. A welcome dram didn't do any harm and we were invited to sit at the roaring log fire as we filled in our registration form.

We had paid a bit extra for the deluxe turret room and it is well worth the money. The excellent view over to the snow covered Cairngorms will be even better when neighbouring houses are screened by the, I assume, recently planted trees. The room itself had a huge bed, plenty of space and piece de resistance a spa bath in the bathroom with some strange underwater lighting effects!

Dinner was excellent, cooked by the manageress. 5 delightful and varied courses, good portions and beautifully presented. A lot of thought has obviously gone into the menu and we were assured that the produce was locally sourced wherever possible. Breakfast did not disappoint either, so much so that in my case lunch was not required on either day we stayed there. I'm a big bloke as well!

There are two lounges, and when we were there at Easter one had the aforementioned fire in full flow with the other room kept as a more quiet room. There were loads of magazines and books available to peruse.

Add all this to our enjoyment of the spectacular surrounding countryside, loads of walks of varying degrees of difficulty and a sighting of a Scottish crossbill at the Osprey centre, this was a special stay indeed!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

My expectations of this place as described on hotel website and last couple of TA reviews were fully met. Go here if you want traditional Scottish hospitality in a peaceful setting well placed for many local places of interest. Iain is a great host.

Large, comfortable, functional rooms and bathrooms with great views over Cairngorms & Cromdale Hills. Weather was quite chilly during our stay and we appreciated just how warm & cosy our room & bathroom were despite being so large. Flowers, fruit and robes in room just add to a feeling of wellbeing.

Excellent quality food well cooked and presented from pre dinner canapes through to petit fours. Sorbets were really delicious. Table d'hote menu had several choices and even after 3 nights I still did not manage to try everything I would have liked to. Soups, vegetables & desserts changed each day. Acceptable wine list & reasonably priced drinks.

A highlight of our stay was watching the daily antics of the family of red squirrels resident in the large garden.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Have just returned from this wonderful hotel. The food was out of this world and the rooms were of a very high standard. look forward to returning very soon.Iain and Elaine do everything to make your stay very special.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

From the moment we arrived Iain was the perfect host. The hotel has wonderful views and is handy for travelling around the surrounding area. We ate in the resteraunt and the food was excellent. The breakfast the following morning was just as good. We have already recommended the hotel to friends - great value for money and a wonderful relaxing atmosphere. We shall return!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel

Address: Skye of Curr | Near Granton on Spey, Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey > Dulnain Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former home of the Lipton Tea Family, built in 1902, this elegant mansion is set in its own fabulous grounds in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park. It has retained many original features and offers the highest standards of Scottish hospitality. Open log fires, excellent Scottish cuisine - using local and organic produce. Extensive wine list from around the world. Over 140 malt whiskeys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Sgiath Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.