We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wonderful wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skye of Curr | Near Granton on Spey, Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PA, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Renfrewshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful wonderful wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

Im posting this a second time because I made an error in my previous entry....this place deserves 5 stars all the way!
It is certainly the finest small Hotel in Scotland.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    30
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
167
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Out of all the hotels we stayed in during our time in Scotland, this is the crown jewel we wish we'd dedicated several days to. After a nerve-busting, stomach-wrenching drive across the icy Cairngorms, owner Iain met us at the door with a warm smile, roaring fireplace, and glass of whiskey. This gorgeous historic home of the Lipton tea family has been painstakingly renovated from the studs up by Iain and his wife Elaine, and they have spared no expense in making it a place of beauty, charm and comfort. Lounge on the leather sofas around the fire in good conversation with your neighbors, sharing excellent wine and spirits as the cat curls up on the hearth. Next enjoy a surprisingly varied, extremely well-prepared dinner. We were impressed by the courteous professionalism and truly stellar meals, and we loved the convivial, comfortable atmosphere Iain and Elaine foster. We had such a fun night with everyone, swapping stories and laughs and rounds of whiskey. This is 5 star dining and lodging without pretension. . .and the price tag. Our room was very large, with beautiful views and a huge bath. Extremely clean and warm. Loved it all and can't wait to go back for a longer stay.

  • Liked — Feeling like you're part of the family, excellent food, beautiful room
  • Disliked — Little hard to find
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

Stayed in the Tigh na Sgiath for one night of our honeymoon in the Ballindalloch room - fantastic.

Lovely welcome on arrival, complimentary drink by the fire before being shown to our room. Nice cold bottle of champaign waiting for us in the room. Delicious dinner included in the price followed by a gentle relax with a bottle of wine in the big jacuzzi bath!!

Woke up to enjoy the views from the seating in the turret and watched the red squirrels running and feeding all over the trees right outside the hotel.

All in all, a great stay in a lovely hotel with friendly staff - definately recommended. Hope to visit again!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

Me and my boyfriend went to a little weekend trip to the highlands and had the fortune to book at Tigh Na Sgiath Country Hotel.

This is a quite and charming hotel which is in a beautiful location. The owners are friendly and discrete and extremely professional. We stayed in the "Tulchan" Superior Four Poster Room, which is beautifully decorated, very clean and which has an ensuite bathroom which a hydro bath..amazing!!

The dinner (which was included) was really nice and the dining room, as the rest of the hotel, is finely and tastefully decorated. Both the owners and the hotel cannot be faulted. We really reccomend this hotel to anybody who is heading to the beautiful highlands.

  • Liked — Absolutely everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing we can think of!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morayshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

Superb hotel. We were welcomed when we were arrived and offered a drink even though it was eleven at night. Our bags were then carried to our large room with lovely views and a great bathroom. I especially liked the plush carpets in the room. In fact the whole hotel seemed very plush, and was of a 4* standard.
The room had everything you could have wanted, there were tea making facilities, fruit and biscuits and a TV and DVD player with a selection of DVDs.
The breakfast was Great, with plenty of choice.
Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights in August 08 in a superior room for dinner, bed & breakfast.
1st thing that struck me was how clean the hotel was - especially the bedroom & bathroom. Everything was immaculate. Our bedroom was extremely spacious & it was a nice touch to have fruit provided in the room.
We had booked in for the 5 course dinner each night we stayed & we were not disappointed. The food was excellent & there was plenty of it!
The hosts were very friendly & were quick to recommend places for us to visit.

  • Liked — Location & Cleanliness
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

Anywhere that invites you to sit in the lounge with a free whisky or sherry while checking in has to bode well for the rest of the time.

The owners seem to run the hotel themselves with very few other staff but this does not affect the attention they give you at any time.

Our room was huge and the bathroom had a novel feature in that there was a second door that opened in to the upstairs hall

The are 2 comfortable lounges downstairs, a separate breakfast room and a dining room. There is also a large garden with red squirrels running around and peculiar fungi growing.

There is no bar as such but there is a good selection of local beers avalable.

The food was of a very high standard and the menu changed daily. Breakfast was also excellent.

The location is very quiet: when the road sign on the main road says hotel, B&B and shop thats all there is apart from a few houses; but you are not far from the many attractions of the area.

Many of the guests seemed to be regulars, if you would like a totally relaxing break with superb food and hospitality this is the place.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel

Address: Skye of Curr | Near Granton on Spey, Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey > Dulnain Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former home of the Lipton Tea Family, built in 1902, this elegant mansion is set in its own fabulous grounds in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park. It has retained many original features and offers the highest standards of Scottish hospitality. Open log fires, excellent Scottish cuisine - using local and organic produce. Extensive wine list from around the world. Over 140 malt whiskeys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Sgiath Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.