We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the Red Squirrels!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Speyside Heather Centre

Speyside Heather Centre
Skye of Curr, Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PA, Scotland
+44 1479 851359
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: An award winning centre in the heart of Speyside, Attractions include a Gift Shop, Exhibition, Art Gallery, Antiques Shop, Traditional homely food served all day in the Clootie Dumpling Restaurant, Freshly made soups are a favourite and of course Starthspeys largest Garden Centre with a large selection of hardy plants & over 300 different Heathers from which to choose a living part of Scotland to take home with you.
Liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beware of the Red Squirrels!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Quite a good gift shop and a nice place to have a snack. Just be careful of not running over any Red Squirrels on the way in to the car park!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    35
    18
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntly, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Old stock and very expensive need to get to the 21st century shop has old stuff which looks dated and the antique area smells and is full of reproductions

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

There is an audio/visual room with information about heather. Unfortunately, the room was very cold and there was no sound with the slides, so we left.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherCentre, Owner at Speyside Heather Centre, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Firstly what a pity, as we have been very aware of the lack of motion in the exhibition, so we have been producing a short video ( 5 mins) that must have been at the tweaking stage when you visited us.
The video is now up and running and we have already addressed the heating issue to make it much cosier.
It is still just £1.00 to go through this exhibition ( Heather Story ) or 50p for concession prices.
This is a small part of the Centre and we sincerely hope that you enjoyed the rest of the visit here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Red Squirrel Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

After spending a week in the area on holiday, and having passed the Heather Centre several times, we decided to call in on our last day to try and get some decent Red Squirrel photographs. We arrived nice and early, hardly anyone around but were welcomed warmly by the staff, one of the sons of the owner. He saw I had my camera and said there were a couple of squirrels about this morning and pointed us in the direction of the hide. Whilst there were no squirrels, there were plenty of birds. The guy came back and said there were a couple in the back garden of the house, which again belonged to the owner. We were very privileged to be shown into the garden where one squirrel was having a feast. We must have sat for 20 minutes and got some fantastic shots. The owner then returned and we chatted for another 20 minutes or so. He said that if we had come at the beginning of the week he could have shown us the locations for some very rare wildlife, so guess where our first stop is next time. During a coffee and cake break, the owner came in and showed us where we might see some Red Deer. What a lovely man, and very knowledgeable on the local wildlife.

The shop was very well stocked, ended up buying a hat for my wife and some gloves for me as well as some Emergency chocolate.

A highly recommended location for Red Squirrels, coffee and conversation. Thanks again for letting us into your garden.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dumpling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

little disappointed with Dumpling topping Heathers were really nice,maybe my taste but Antiques were mostly junk.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speyside Heather Centre also viewed

Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Speyside Heather Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Speyside Heather Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.