We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sani Pass Hotel & Leisure Resort

Save Saved
You added Sani Pass Hotel & Leisure Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sani Pass Hotel & Leisure Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Good Hope Farm, Sani Pass Road, Himeville, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Himeville
Maidstone
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as we wanted to go up the Sani Pass. The hotel is in a lovely location with far reaching views. The rooms are large but the décor is tired and drab, could do with maybe white and bright colours to brighten up rather than everywhere in beige and browns even the bedding and towels. I think years ago it would have been a stunning building as it has lots of character but is rather tired now. The staff were helpful and friendly though the hotel was pretty empty, the dining room is far too big for the amount of people and staff in it when we went to breakfast there was only us and four members of staff. The food was tasty and a good selection. if you want to go up the pass its a good place to stay and the Pass is definatly worth doing but not a place to stay in for a longer break

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    14
    9
    9
See reviews for
16
31
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alberton, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed for one night, before a trip up Sani Pass, food was average, the hotel was very empty only a few Dutch tourists, they left early in the morning so my husband and I were the only ones in a huge dining room for breakfast! Service not bad, but I think more supervision would not be a bad idea! The place has been refurbished , but not re-done, you can see its all old stuff thats been recovered and new doors put on etc! Not a bad job, but they need to get people through the door in order to make money and improve the place even more! Please put some net curtains, that can be opened if necessary in the rooms on the ground floor, you have to get dressed with the curtains closed and the light on (lighting very bad in the rooms) no privacy as people can sit outside your room to look at the view! Just feel that something is missing in this hotel, but cant quite put my finger on it! Would only go again if I was going up Sani Pass as its very convenient for this trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Your drinks are served by man in rainjackets. Buffet is worst I tasted in my visit in many hotels in southafrika. And it is expensive,250 rand for food that is warmed up for hours. Warm water is also rare, after ten minutes you have something small stream of warm water as shower. The hotel is more window dressing then a good hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spend the weekend of the 10.08.2013 at the hotel. The rooms and food does not justify the price! The dinner was rather tasteless, we had numerous electricity outages until the hotel disconnected the heater! Not pleasant with snow around! We were only supplied with 1 blanket each which was not enough. Luckily we had our sleeping bags with us - our friends even had taken a heating blanket and oil radiator! We had to run the hot water for 10 minutes before we finally had hot water and if your room had a shower, well, your most certainly will flood your bathroom!
Besides the view - nothing special!

Room Tip: We were made to believe that the hotel rooms are better than the chalets but we could not view any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a great Experience and a Lovely Paradise to unwind, relax and be closer to Nature. a lot of activities to be done and enjoy with. The food was superbly gastronomic, foods are served fresh. it feels like Home.. Though we only stayed for 4 nights but it was Wonderful Experience. The staff are all very friendly and so Helpful, The place is so clean. Would gladly spend another vacation if given a chance..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Went off-season so practically deserted. Staff were good and helpful and food well prepared. Al round no problems and very convenient for Sani Pass excursion - just probably would benefit from a livelier high season ambience!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is an older, traditional SA hotel that has undergone substantial renovations over the last couple of years. The rooms in the main block are fine; neat, clean and really quite large. Be sure to get one with a spectacular view of the mountains. See panorama pic. attached.

The hotel itself has also been upgraded and the furniture has all been reupholstered to an exceptionally high standard with quality fabrics.

Food, service and, importantly attitude, all very good; the bar prices are very reasonable at under R100 for a decent SA wine.

This is an ideal place to stay whether touring in the Drakensberg area of planning a trip up the Sani Pass to Lesotho.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sani Pass Hotel & Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sani Pass Hotel & Leisure Resort

Address: Good Hope Farm, Sani Pass Road, Himeville, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Himeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Himeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sani Pass Hotel & Leisure Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sani Pass Hotel is located at the foot of the Notorious Sani Pass (Gateway between South Arfica & Lesotho). The hotel has been a home away from to many generations since it opened its doors in 1958. The hotel played host over the years as best destination for a family holiday. We provide a variety of facilities & activities to meet all family members needs, from Wellness Center, 9 holes Golf Course,2 Tennis courts, Volley Ball court, Quad bikes,Swimming pool, Horse rides, hikes and kids entertainment to a selection of Bars & Food outlets (Cigar Lounge, Sports Bar, Mountain View Restaurant, Sun Lounge Terrace & Pool Bar).Our staff are well known for being very friendly & always going the extra mile to ensure the guest comfort and our food is famous for it's quality & delectable taste.Our rates include Dinner, Bed & Breakfast per person per night.Nevertheless, the charming mountain views & natural waters falls on the premises positions the hotel as the terminus of the best natural scenery in the Drakensberg consequently the most romantic getaway for couples & honeymooners. Our comfortably furnished bedrooms, personalized service and exquisite food says it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sani Pass Hotel & Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sani Pass Hotel And Leisure Resort
Sani Pass Hotel & Leisure Himeville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sani Pass Hotel & Leisure Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.