We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accomodation for visiting Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alp de Veenen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alp de Veenen Hotel to your Saves list
Alp de Veenen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ouderkerkerlaan 19 | Amstelveen, 1185 AC Amstelveen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Amstelveen
Alesund, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect accomodation for visiting Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hotel with perfect location for a visit to Amsterdam and Amstelveen.
We stayed for 5 nights at Alp de Veenen in september, for a visit to Amsterdam. The location of the hotel, 5 minutes walk from Amstelveen Busstation, was perfect. With the 300-bus from and to Schipol, for 4 Euro each way. For going in to the city of Amsterdam, there was busses available all day, with max 5 minutes waiting time (Line 170, 172 and 174) Only 4 Euro pr person each way. It took from 20 to 35 minutes, depending on what time of day it was.

The hotel was small, but clean, cosy and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. The breakfast was every morning a faboulus start of the day. The selection of bread and "spreads" was very good. And with fresh croissants and chocolate-brioche to the coffe, every day was a good day :)
We also tried lunch the last day, and were sorry that we didin't do this earlier. Please try the Bitterballen for lunch or snack!! We also had dinner there one evening, and that was the best dinner for the whole trip!!

The surrondings of the hotel is placed in an area of residents (?), with peace and quite in the evenings. The garden of Alp de Veenen is small, but a nice place to have your morning coffe, or just a glas of wine, for relaxing after a long day in museums, art gallerys and pancakehouses.

If you continue to the end of the street (ask in the reception) there is an amazing chineese restaurant, with superb food and service. The kitchen of Alp de Veenen is closed in weekends, so they guided us to the best restaurants in Amstelveen. Try the Chineese!!

We also found the shopping Mall of Amstelveen, behind the bus station. Many nice cafes and restaurants, and a wide variety of shops. If you can't find it here, you don't need it....

Next time we are going to Amsterdam, we will stay at Alp de Veenen - our best recommandations to this pearl.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
10
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheerness
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice cosy room. Friendly helpful staff. Great service at breakfast. You can have fried egg and bacon if you want. Although two flights of stairs to climb. Unusual for a continental hotel. 500m walk from Amstelveen bus station: Be careful where you cross the road, I got told off by a motorcycle policeman for trying to cross against the lights. I stayed there for the cricket at the nearby sports area. Most enjoyable stay, but next time I'll ask for a ground floor room.

I should point out that it is now called Alp de Veenen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Spent a few nights here. Nice hotel. Easily accessible from airport. We took the bus from the airport and it was just a short walk after that. In a residential area of Amsterdam. Nice and quiet and good extensive breakfast. Plenty of choice. Nice fresh bread and croissants. Reception are very helpful Would definitely return on my next visit to Amsterdam

Room Tip: It can get a bit hot in the rooms. We kept our window open overnight and it was fine. Liked the choc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and sister while over to support my neice who was competing at the rowing event close by. The hotel was a 30 minute walk from the rowing at Bosbaan. It is easy to walk as it is so flat!!!! It would have been easy to use public transport as it is very accessable. We took the 300 bus from the airport straight to the hotel. it only cost 4 euro and is only a 2 minute walk away. Would recommend this for anyone going to the hotel!!!!!!!!!!!
The hotel is very attractive and individual. It is a good 3 star hotel. Basic but ticks all the boxes. The rooms are not big, but they are spotless and comfortable. Who spends their holiday in a hotel room???
Breakfast was lovely and plentiful. The warm rolls are delicious. You can have as much as you want. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Helped us with directions to walk to the rowing. You can also sit outside with a drink and chill. The hotel is right beside a canal and it is very peaceful and quiet. I would imagine it is easy to get into central Amsterdam as the hotel is beside the Amselveen bus station so no problem there.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights only as we had to pay some family visits in the vicinity. Due to the programmed crowning celebrations all budget hotels seemed to be occupied. We got to " de Veenen" by friends recommendation and did not regret it. Although we ate out usually with the family we enjoyed the generous breakfast.
We did not understand why both the (public) TV channels had to be paid for and the WiFi facility, too on a daily base. And the system went then off for a couple of hours.
Room was good, beds very good. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is very comfortable, and near the metro, it's easy to go to Amsterdam center (no change).
The staff is very welcoming, the kitchen is very well equipped with a confortzble living room, it's very pleasant to eat in the studio.
The free fitness and swimming pool are very pleasent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Excellent hotel for the price. Beautiful location in Amstelveen at a short distance from the shopping centre, near a small canal.I needed a hotel in Amstelveen, for a reasonable price, and choose hotel De Veenen. Never regretted it. Plenty of parking space in the street of the hotel, excellent breakfast( they were fully booked for my last night, so I had to stay at another hotel, which was 40% more expensive, but which served a lesser breakfast! Friendly staff. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alp de Veenen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alp de Veenen Hotel

Address: Ouderkerkerlaan 19 | Amstelveen, 1185 AC Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amstelveen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Amstelveen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alp de Veenen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to 'Alp de Veenen' and welcome at the Family Alp and hostess Maryse Verwoest. Who, together with their staff, will make you feel right at home. Like we alway say:"We have a lot going for us: Excellent Premises..., beautifully and quietly located..., all modern facilities..., just fifteen minutes from Schiphol Airport and the centre of Amsterdam.... Yet without our sincere hospitality and personal approach we would never have had so many loyal customers!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alp de Veenen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alp de Veenen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.