We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient stop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amstelveen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Amstelveen to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amstelveen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bovenkerkerweg 81, 1187 XC Amstelveen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Amstelveen
Santa Cristina d'Aro, Spain
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Convenient stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Forget the "Grand Hotel" if that makes you think of old-world opulence. This is a boring no-frills stop in the middle of nowhere, close to Schiphol airport. We keep coming back here: imagine: ample no-charge parking close to Amsterdam (!), decent clean rooms, acceptable breakfast.
Leave your car and take the bus right in front: it will take you to the centre of Amsterdam in half an hour.
They are currently upgrading the fourth floor and let's see: a competent interior decorater could do wonders here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    47
    34
    14
    7
See reviews for
16
33
10
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drachtstercompagnie
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel is located on a quiet place. Rooms are large, but not cosy al=t all. Bathroom, toilet and room is clean. The Wifi has to be payed which is strange for a not at all cheap 4*-hotel. The minibar is empty. Breakfast from 6:45 only, which is late for a business hotel, very simple. Staff is friendly. Parking is free.

Room Tip: Little bit more cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Been 5 days
Hotel us clean but old
The stuff is service oriented
The breakfast is basic
The rooms need upgrade,
TV with local channels, for other you need to buy
Air condition, but heat is central, so it's better to come with warm clothes

Mini bar. Safe in the room
WiFi working perfect everywhere

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

When we arrived at Amsterdam several years ago from Heidelberg, Germany, we stopped at this hotel. Checking in was a breeze . Room was spacious & you have a wonderful view of the surrounding area which looked like a farm. Room was clean & basic essential were there. Breakfast spread was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

There are two good things about the hotel. The rooms are big and the internet is fast. Everything else is very poor.
The aircon did not work, the bed was very old and I had springs in my back all night, the toilet is separate from the bathroom, the food was terrible and the service from some people was appalling.
The restaurant is being refitted so I went to the bar for food. There was a choice of burger, fish or pizza. I went with burger and am not sure what sort of meet it was, but I have had better burgers at a funfair! In the morning everyone was walking into breakfast and not knowing where to sit as the waitress was not greeting anyone and all the tables had dirty plates on them. I then had to wait for ages before the guy cooking the eggs would recognise I was waiting... He kept saying "one minute" to everyone and never serving them... Most people gave up!
They obviousely only survive because other hotels in the area are often fully booked...!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

In no particular order:
The bed was very comfy
The man on the bar was terse and unhelpful
I was in a room with an adjoining door....which didn't shut properly. I therefore heard next door's TV very clearly
Mini bar....but nothing in it!
Good bathroom
Tea and coffee in room.... but when I requested milk sachets I was told I'd have to pay for a glass!
Bar supper (burger) very poor
Reception staff polite but not helpful ("i'm afraid I can't help as I'm the only one here"!
Beer cold and refreshing!
Breakfast adequate but unexciting - but staff delightful.
Lift out of order. Some elderly guests on 3rd floor not offered help with luggage

Room Tip: Try to avoid 302
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

As you arrive at reception the decor immediately welcomes you to the 1970s. The receptionist reminds you that for the €220 you've paid she can't be bothered to upgrade you, and the restaurant is closed (it's 1 minute past 10pm after all).

There is nothing Grand about this place, and after walking around the area there is nothing open for miles.

Positive points? It's clean and rooms are spacious. But what good is that when the corridors feel like The Shining

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amstelveen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amstelveen

Address: Bovenkerkerweg 81, 1187 XC Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amstelveen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Amstelveen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Amstelveen 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Motor Hotel located in suburban area, close to Aalsmeer flower auction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Amstelveen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstelveen Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amstelveen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.