We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical 4 stars hotel ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amstelveen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Amstelveen to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amstelveen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bovenkerkerweg 81, 1187 XC Amstelveen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Amstelveen
Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Typical 4 stars hotel ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Been 5 days
Hotel us clean but old
The stuff is service oriented
The breakfast is basic
The rooms need upgrade,
TV with local channels, for other you need to buy
Air condition, but heat is central, so it's better to come with warm clothes

Mini bar. Safe in the room
WiFi working perfect everywhere

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    57
    39
    17
    8
See reviews for
19
43
10
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
329 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

When we arrived at Amsterdam several years ago from Heidelberg, Germany, we stopped at this hotel. Checking in was a breeze . Room was spacious & you have a wonderful view of the surrounding area which looked like a farm. Room was clean & basic essential were there. Breakfast spread was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

There are two good things about the hotel. The rooms are big and the internet is fast. Everything else is very poor.
The aircon did not work, the bed was very old and I had springs in my back all night, the toilet is separate from the bathroom, the food was terrible and the service from some people was appalling.
The restaurant is being refitted so I went to the bar for food. There was a choice of burger, fish or pizza. I went with burger and am not sure what sort of meet it was, but I have had better burgers at a funfair! In the morning everyone was walking into breakfast and not knowing where to sit as the waitress was not greeting anyone and all the tables had dirty plates on them. I then had to wait for ages before the guy cooking the eggs would recognise I was waiting... He kept saying "one minute" to everyone and never serving them... Most people gave up!
They obviousely only survive because other hotels in the area are often fully booked...!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

In no particular order:
The bed was very comfy
The man on the bar was terse and unhelpful
I was in a room with an adjoining door....which didn't shut properly. I therefore heard next door's TV very clearly
Mini bar....but nothing in it!
Good bathroom
Tea and coffee in room.... but when I requested milk sachets I was told I'd have to pay for a glass!
Bar supper (burger) very poor
Reception staff polite but not helpful ("i'm afraid I can't help as I'm the only one here"!
Beer cold and refreshing!
Breakfast adequate but unexciting - but staff delightful.
Lift out of order. Some elderly guests on 3rd floor not offered help with luggage

Room Tip: Try to avoid 302
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

As you arrive at reception the decor immediately welcomes you to the 1970s. The receptionist reminds you that for the €220 you've paid she can't be bothered to upgrade you, and the restaurant is closed (it's 1 minute past 10pm after all).

There is nothing Grand about this place, and after walking around the area there is nothing open for miles.

Positive points? It's clean and rooms are spacious. But what good is that when the corridors feel like The Shining

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
177 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was regular nothing special. Regular room, bathroom bigger then regular & appreciate the separated toilet. No internet. Another negative is so far from the main city. Breakfast serve was very ordinary.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I've spent there 2 weeks for business purpose (in 2010), and it was quite good, but there were some things that made it just an average hotel for me. Amstelveen is quite far from Amsterdam, and it was a lot of time to get into the city. Taxi is expensive and there are allways traffic jams in the morning and evening. Metro is far and slow. The hotel is really good, I got the biggest room I've ever been in. There was even a huge terrace for the room. The hotel is well equipped with everything, but only the breakfast was served in the main buillding. The restaurant and all was outside, about 5 mins of walk from there. The area is very calm, which is a good possibility for a running. (I did it and really liked.)

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the corridors has a big terrace. Running to the Amstel river is a good sports a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amstelveen
1.7 mi away
Alp de Veenen Hotel
Alp de Veenen Hotel
#1 of 5 in Amstelveen
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
7.2 mi away
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#209 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
2.4 mi away
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
2.9 mi away
Hotel T Jagershuis
Hotel T Jagershuis
#1 of 2 in Ouderkerk aan de Amstel
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amstelveen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amstelveen

Address: Bovenkerkerweg 81, 1187 XC Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amstelveen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Amstelveen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Amstelveen 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Motor Hotel located in suburban area, close to Aalsmeer flower auction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Amstelveen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstelveen Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amstelveen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.