We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great camping site!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camping Hostel Amsterdamse Bos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Camping Hostel Amsterdamse Bos to your Saves list
Camping Hostel Amsterdamse Bos
Kleine Noorddijk 1, 1187 NZ Amstelveen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“great camping site!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

this place is really quite good value for money. yes it is a little far from the city but thats easy to get too.. ive been there twice now once because the city was full and we had no choice but to stay here but it was great fun and there were bunny's every where! also, the showers are one euro ..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    40
    27
    19
    40
See reviews for
24
24
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coryton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed in a two person hiker cabin for 9 nights, which we had booked before reading the reviews, needless to say we were apprehensive about our arrival - however from our experience there was absolutely nothing to be apprehensive about! We arrived late and found a note on the door letting us know which hiker's cabin was ours... The next morning we checked in and had lovely staff greet us and we were even helped with our pronunciation of dutch towns by the helpful staff. We are friendly, cheery people, and we found their customer service to be friendly too. Paying for showers was a bit of a blow (one night the men's showers only delivered cold water, but was fixed), but if you are a backpacker, we recommend only showering every other night to save your money! It is a nice (although, cold!) walk to the metro station and took about 20 minutes. We recommend heading to the nearby Albert Heijn for groceries which is also about a 20 minute slow walk. The cabin itself was heated very nicely (would be a nice bonus if you did not have to pay for this in the winter time), and we thoroughly enjoyed our 9 nights there - the only real fault was 9 nights ended up feeling like a lot less and we are just counting down the days until we can return to the perfect land of Amsterdam. Don't believe the reviews of the owner, our experience was he definitely tried to be friendly and helpful towards us every time we went into the reception! The grounds are quite at night, but that doesn't mean you can't enjoy yourself, the kitchen was always clean and we thoroughly enjoyed getting to cook ourselves hot meals, the amenities were always clean whenever we used them, and the area is great to wander around! Overall we certainly enjoyed our time here and most definitely return again!

Room Tip: The hikers cabins are great for a limited budget - it looks like a little sauna! Bring sheets if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very noisy campsite, lots of cool wildlife though. Other guests were very unfriendly. Only allowed to stay for a week aswell and it's miles from anywhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Although it's a nice camping zone in the middle of the woods I wouldn't recommend it. You have to pay extra for a shower (1 euro for six minutes) and for sheets, and 1,80 euros for a baguette is just ridiculous. I don't know if it was because I went on new year's season but the reception open a little bit late and closes early (9-18). The thing I love the most is the heating of the cabins, its very powerful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Would not stay here again..Campsite staff were more than helpful, but campsite owner used unacceptable behavior against us when we had parked up in parking area outside campsite to have a quick bite to eat before heading to ferry, demanding we paid him more money for staying on his site past vacation time even though we were outside his campsite.

Disappointing end to a lovely holiday all over france and Holland, also slightly dissapointing that you have to pay for showers when comparing to other sites around same price range. In summary, will be looking for another site to stay when catching ferry back home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The location of the campsite was away from the city. Very quiet and lush green, i liked it very much. Best part were the rabbits. :D
shared bathroom and kitchen were a bit problematic but overall experience was really good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A wonderful place to stay if your budget is a bit low. Beautiful surroundings with rabbits running around. Because the ablutions and kitchen are shared, this can be a problem. The ablutions and kitchen are cleaned every morning by the staff, but some visitors just don't bother to clean-up behind them. They just leave all their utensils dirty ! This is a pity. The bus stops next to the entrance and we had no problem going into Amsterdam itself. A place we would go back to. Helpful, friendly staff !

Room Tip: We would book one of the more expensive cabins next time. It has its own little kitchen with a frid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping Hostel Amsterdamse Bos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Hostel Amsterdamse Bos

Address: Kleine Noorddijk 1, 1187 NZ Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amstelveen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Amstelveen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Camping Hostel Amsterdamse Bos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Hostel Amsterdamse Bos Hotel Amstelveen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping Hostel Amsterdamse Bos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.