We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Sao Vicente” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taberna de S. Vicente

Taberna de S. Vicente
Estrada Regional 104 | Sitio do Calhau, Sao Vicente, Madeira 9240-225, Portugal
+351 291 848 034
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Sao Vicente
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A simple, friendly and cosy restaurant with a rustic feel, where the food is prepared with love and passion. Honest and simple dishes with our "touch".As we use to say: "it's our own dinning-room were customers are friends".On Sundays we close at 20:00. Monday is the "day off". Thank you. PLEASE NOTE: we don't accept reservations via internet.
London
1 review
“Great find in Sao Vicente”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We looked at the restaurants on the seafront that looked pretty much the same as each other and not particularly appealing. We turned the corner and came upon the Taberna. It looked the part and once we sat down we were greeted by Berto (apologies if spelling is incorrect,) who was so helpful and knowledgable. We ordered the tapas which was a great way to go - prawns and octopus tapas were divine. We certainly recommend both the food and the service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    57
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
“Good place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The octopus in tavern sauce with a glas of white wine is fabulous, best I ever had, totally recommend it!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boadilla
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice place, kind people,unbeatable price/quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is an small, cozy little restaurant with Madeiran specialities. The place is just outside Sao Vicente, close to the sea and with a parking space just across the street. Fresh fish and seafood at very reasonable prices. Kind waiters. The place is clean, quiet and the variety of food is astonishing in view of the size of the restaurant. Definitely will recommend it as one of the best madeiran-style restaurants in the island of Madeira.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Only desserts and fresh passion fruit juice are fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

After reading these reviews I expected really wonderful food, but I orded peixe espada with banana and picados and all was average... Really good was home made juice from passion fruitand kind of a pudding from passion fruit and balckberry. And fantastic staff!!! These things deserve your visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We went to this restaurant because we were suggested to do so if we are at Madeira. This is the best :) very very friendly staff, fantasic food, we will go back for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna de S. Vicente also viewed

 

Been to Taberna de S. Vicente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taberna de S. Vicente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.