We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good, proper home cooking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taberna de S. Vicente

Taberna de S. Vicente
Estrada Regional 104 | Sitio do Calhau, Sao Vicente, Madeira 9240-225, Portugal
+351 291 848 034
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Sao Vicente
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A simple, friendly and cosy restaurant with a rustic feel, where the food is prepared with love and passion. Honest and simple dishes with our "touch".As we use to say: "it's our own dinning-room were customers are friends".On Sundays we close at 20:00. Monday is the "day off". Thank you. PLEASE NOTE: we don't accept reservations via internet.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“So good, proper home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Without tripadvisor I would have driven pass this restaurant what a mistake this would have been. Apart for the friendly staff, traditional decor , cheap prices , local fish the best thing for me was they had to vegetarian options a rare thing in Madeira, the cook made it fresh a vegetable gratin . The sangria was the best I've had and even better €21 for two main courses, coffee, beer and jug of Sangria

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    57
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Absolutely great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

+1 to all previous positive reports. The rice with seafood is still excellent, the portion is still too big for two persons, poncha is still the best! Thanks to that place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

we were positively surprised, although we've read lots of good comments on the Internet before.

we ordered the sea food rice - so delicious and big portion, thanks the owner reminds us about it so I only ordered the small portion of steaks - still too much for us. I would recommend the sea food rice, you can't miss it if you go there.

Very fair price, cheaper than lots of restaurants in Funchal, which offer not so good foods but charge much more than that.

It'll take you some time to find it, because in this area, there is no exact street name and numbers to locate the restaurant. I would recommend you simply drive to the center of Sao Vicente, then if you pass a petro station, you'll see it on the left side of the road.

We'll definitely visit it again by our next Madeira trip.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“The hidden secret of Madeira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

During our 10 Day Stay we went 3 times to this restaurant. Just to be able to try 3 different dishes. All 3 times we got excellent food (delicious fresh seafood and fish) with an excellent service and a fair price. It was a great pleasure to have dinner in this restaurant and we think it is the best one of Madeira! Unfortunately we discovered this restaurant towards the end of our stay, so there was no 4th time.

Greetings from a couple Sweden + Italy

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taberna_s_vicente, Owner at Taberna de S. Vicente, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Many thanks for your review.
With your comments, we achieved the position of 2nd best reviewed restaurant in whole Madeira, out of 425 listed.
Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The welcome we received was delightful and the food excellent. The couple who run this small restaurant make you feel very special and work hard to make sure your eating experience is good. The best place we ate in the whole of Madeira.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna de S. Vicente also viewed

 

Been to Taberna de S. Vicente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taberna de S. Vicente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.