We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sights and sounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shimba Hills Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shimba Hills Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Shimba Hills Lodge Hotel
Shimba National Reserve, Shimba Hills National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great sights and sounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Stayed for one night during October with my 16yr old son.
Great place to view the nocturnal mammals beneath the resaurant.
Food was excellant, all staff very friendly and attentive.
Look out for the Fish Eagle every morning, and the Busbabies at the restaurant during the evening
Accommodation is basic but that is part of the charm of the place.
Would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    33
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
40
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

had a very quiet and beautiful time.the place is very green and beautiful,hilly and you can see the city from top of the hills.Saw all the animals in that park especially the Sable Antelope which is charecteristic of this park.
The food was very good with good services and i enjoyed the african touch and the make using wood.the waterhole outside our room was very nice and enjoyed seeing animals around it.
I recommend people to visit this place and enjoy the walks on the walkboard,the game drives,the Sheldrick falls and the breathtaking beauty of this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed only one night at this fascinating lodge with every room overlooking a waterhole. The scene was quite magical. Highlights were: the bushbabies being fed on the terrace; the hornbill perched on my balcony; the genuine, warm welcome from the staff. The shared facilities wre fine, right opposite my room. Excellent food; highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weymouth dorset
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed at this amazing lodge for 1 night and was amazed that only 3 people where staying
overnight. Most persons just came for lunch on day safaris.
The rooms do not have on suite and have shared toilets and showers down the corridoor.
The rooms all have a view of the watering hole and there is a feeding station for nocturnal
mammals.
Food was all freshly prepaired and was of an excellent quality.
At night it is so peaceful watching the bushbabies being hand fed is wonderful.
Being just under 1 hour away from the main hotels on the coast it is well worth a night over.
I would stay here again purely because it is so different to other lodges.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We got married here and the staff could not have done more for us. I feel the staff were a little perplexed at our lack of enthusiasm as they were like kids at Christmas. We were a little laid back because they removed all the stress and did anything we wanted. The room was great and the food was fab. Each member of staff took every effort to make our day memorable and could not have done more.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinghorn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This was our first stop on our "Kenyan Encounters" safari and we loved it.
When we arrived we were greeted by the staff with some friendly "Jambos" and shown to our room. All the staff here were very friendly. The rooms are very basic, ours had 3 single beds in with mozzy nets and a small balcony. We didnt mind the basic room though, afterall you are on safari in the middle of the forest - what do you expect! We weren't looking for luxury and enjoyed it for what it was. The showers are in the toilets.
The rooms look out over a huge pond and you can watch lots of wildlife from your balcony or from the bar. It was so peaceful here despite there being lots of guests there the same time as us. We spent the afternoon watching two African Fish Eagles hunting in the pond it was fab. We also saw a giant monitor lizard, colobus monkeys, lots of different birds, lizards and insects. At night we saw a Gennet cat, a mongoose and bush babys. The noises at night were amazing, it was impossible to sleep but I didn't mind just lying there taking in all the sounds!
Dinner was nice, there were a few choices and it was very tasty.
On our game drive in Shimba Hills we saw elephants, giraffe, sable antelope, dik diks and warthogs.
It was a great first day and night to our safari and gave us a little taste of what was to come!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Well, our first night of three on safari, and what an amazing hotel.

There were about 50 people there the night we were and I think it was full. It was so quiet it was even more profound when the cicades and frogs came out to chat after tea. The walkway was under repair on our visit but there were plenty of opportunities to see the fish eagle, mongoose, civet, bushbaby etc from the restaurant and bar.

The staff were amazing and the overall ambience was of a cosy treehouse.

If anyone might be put off the shared shower facilities, don't be. There is two showers and three toilets for us ladies by our six or so rooms and as we all showered after the safari, at about the same time, we were all quick, wanted cool showers anyway to save water and had a giggle whilst queueing for a short time for your turn. There was plenty of hot water. In short, it was a girly short social to tell safari stories and de-dust.

We also discovered that taking lens cleaner for cameras, sunnies, binos, etc and eye wash is a must as by the end of the day, staring for wildlife, whizzing along in an open topped safari bus in the dust results in tired eyes and filthy clothes and gear. It all made up the experience though.

Only hotel with twin beds, but boy were we glad, very humid and sticky.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shimba Hills Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shimba Hills Lodge Hotel

Address: Shimba National Reserve, Shimba Hills National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Shimba Hills National Reserve
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shimba Hills National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Shimba National Reserve a 45 minutes drive from Mombasa town or Diani, Shimba is the last remaining habitat for the magnificent Sable Antelope in the country. A unique rainforest destination with a variety of walking excursions that bring you closer to nature than ever before. Shimba’s proximity to the beach makes it ideal for the perfect beach and bush holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Shimba Hills Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shimba Hills Hotel Shimba Hills National Reserve
Shimba Hills Lodge Hotel Kenya/Shimba Hills National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shimba Hills Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.