We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacks warmth and genuine hospitality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tenuta Specolizzi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tenuta Specolizzi to your Saves list
Tenuta Specolizzi
S.P. Presicce-Lido Marini, 73050 Salve, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Salve
GreenLeadersGold level
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lacks warmth and genuine hospitality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We've been around in Italy, and the rest of the world, but this was not what we expected. May be because we just spoke a bit of Italian, but we found the welcome less than warm. The pools are amazing. As is the breakfast. But you are not allowed to use the pool in the afternoon. And the room decor is not what you would expect for this price. Elsewhere in the area, we've had far better deals. In terms of value for money, especially on the hospitality side of things, you might to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    39
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
83
108
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have some experience in agriturismi in Italy and before arrival I have to admit we were not that sure about Specolizzi. After all it was considerably more expensive then other agriturismi we stayed in. But after one week we can say Specolizzi is excellent. The host Mario makes the difference. My advise is: consult him as much as possible. He can give you the best info about beaches, restaurants and things to visit. Also, the situation of Specolizzi is excellent: you can choose different beaches at less then 15 minutes by car, you can go to Gallipolli, Lecce, Otranto and discover the complete Salento-region. The appartments are comfortable, the swimmingpools are both similar to the ones you can find in a 4 or 5 star hotel. The daily brunch and weekly dinner is great. Even if it costs a bit more, do consider Specolizzi if you are looking for a quiet little paradise in the midst of the beautifull Salento.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

during a trip to Puglia, I stayed for one night at Tenuta Specolizzi. In my opinion, I,ve tried not to take into account bed weather (cold in April 2012). the places not properly marked from main road - weak labeling - improved only in the entry. Far from the sea. The first impression is good - Tenuta is a large area, two swimming pools and beautifully landscaped garden. check-in organized by the owner (we did not have GPS and he led us through narrow Italian roads) was fast and friendly. Despite the cold, efficient air conditioning in the rooms quickly improved temperature. We ordered dinner consisting of local specialities - all perfect. The rooms actually modest for a place with such high qualifications (according to me, 3 stars maximum) but probably compensates for the weather during the summer. To sum up: a nice resort, modest rooms, good service, pretty good kitchen, good place for the summer but a little far from the sea.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We spent 1 week in this place and it t was a big disappointment. First the rooms are built without any charm or privacy. They all look outside to the same big patio and they have a communist feel to them. The swimming pools are nice but you have to wear a cap to go swim.The owners are far away from having the warm and nice hospitality of the apulian people; on the contary they are cold and do not show interest on your comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariolic, Proprietario at Tenuta Specolizzi, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
Dearest lady,
I think you have never stayed in a hotel in the country that offers a stay in old buildings restored and have all the necessary amenities but not the hotels, perhaps you about our hospitality has not benefited as other guests who have stayed by us and thank us with all the comments we leave on various internet forums, so all are false or those who have found more 'than good and satisfied with our hospitality or she was in another building.
Regards,
Mario Licchelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musson
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere and great breakfast with local specialties. We received precious advices from Mario on where to eat which allowed us to find great restaurants only known by indigenes.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

Mario, the owner, had emailed detailed instructions on how to find the hotel before we left the UK, and even though it was dark and late, we found the Hotel easily after a 90 minute drive from Brindisi airport (although the large green metal security gate was a little unexpected.) The duty nightwatchman showed us into the apartment and helped with the formalities.

We had booked the ‘Hotel formula’, which included the buffet breakfast and daily cleaning. However, our apartment (no.3) had a kitchen built in and we were offered the use of this during our stay (for an additional 150 euros a week). This meant we didn’t have to eat out every night, which for a two-week stay paid for itself very quickly as the Euro was very strong during our visit.

We had a large double bedroom and our two daughters had twin beds in the main living room area. The bathroom had a decent shower, a sink, a bidet and a hairdryer. The linen and kitchen equipment provided was all of good quality and everything was very clean. Furnishings were basic but functional, and there was an efficient air-conditioning unit and a small TV.

There was a very pleasant communal sitting area outside the apartment, with olive and fig trees to provide shade if required. The gardens were all beautifully maintained and kept very clean and tidy. We were a little worried about the proximity of the road at first, but the traffic is not noisy or heavy and we soon forgot about it. With that great big sLidong security gate across the entrance it all felt extremely safe and we happily let the children (aged 7 and 8) play by themselves in the grounds.

The pool was delightful - very clean and no hint of chlorine. It is surrounded by trees and shrubs, with darting lizards, thirsty swallows and beautiful pink dragonflies providing extra entertainment for the children. We were very often the only people using the pool (we were told that the Italians prefer the beach!) and it was never crowded. Large umbrellas provided shade if required, and there are enough loungers and chairs for everyone. (Don’t forget the office sells ice-creams!)

Note that you have to bring your own beach/pool towels, and must wear a cloth cap in the pool (to prevent hair clogging the filters). The owners can provide these hats if required. The pool is shut between 1pm and 4pm every day (as is everything else in this part of Italy) but is otherwise open from 8am until 8pm, so late-night and early-morning dips are always a possibility.

The (largely vegetarian) Salentine buffet breakfast, served from 9am to 11am, offers an ever-changing selection of tasty breads, cakes, cheeses, olives, occasional salamis, homemade jams, fruit and yoghurt. All delicious and beautifully presented, and a great opportunity to try something new every day. Silvana’s cakes are a particular highlight - and smelt gorgeous when being baked in the afternoons!

Mario and Silvana are always on hand and extremely helpful, and nothing is too much trouble for them. They can recommend and book restaurants for you and during office hours are always on hand to answer any questions and to give directions or advice.

We tried Li Pali in Lido Marini (a bit too close to the busy coast road for us, but you could ask for a table further back and the quality and choice of food was very good ), Zio Tom (a very smart restaurant perched right above the sea towards Leuca) and Le Calandre (rustic and charming, in the centre of Presicce).

We also walked to the next-door Hotel/Restaurant complex ‘Le Pajare’ which was convenient (in fact, the only place you can walk to) but nothing special - the pizzas looked good, but unfortunately we chose rather expensively elsewhere on the menu. La Kambusa on the coast road towards Leuca was deceptively large and extremely popular - not surprisingly, as the menu was very good and the pizzas excellent. It was good value, and made a good base from which to visit the funfair opposite, which was only open in the evening.

We were truly impressed by the range and quality of the ice creams and pastries on offer in Matinucci’s in Lido Marini - well worth a visit. We were also recommended ‘La Bettola’ in Specchia, which is a butcher’s by day and a restaurant by night. Charming service and good food, in a very attractive location (although it doesn’t really get going until after 9pm).

Mario and Silvana organise a 4-course group meal around the pool on Thursday evenings, with typical Salentine cooking (washed down with granny‘s wine!), which is a good opportunity to chat with the other guests (there are 13 apartments in total). They can also take care of your washing, organise visits to wine merchants and a guided tour and dinner at a local historical Masseria, Le Stanzie’. Also on offer are boat excursions and lots of advice on local beaches.

There is an arrangement with ‘Club Tropical’, a fairly basic lido on a nearby beach 10 minute’s drive away where you can hire an umbrella and a couple of sunbeds for 15 euros. It is worth exploring other beaches in the area though - there are plenty to chose from, and lots of ‘free’ beaches if you prefer not to use a managed lido. We liked the nearby ‘Bambou’ lido near Torre Vado, ‘Bora Bora Beach’ towards Torre S. Giovanni and - our favourite - ‘Lido Pizzo’ (near Gallipolli). You can’t really go wrong anywhere - all along the Ionian coast the sea is warm and crystal clear, with plenty of sand and lots of little fish to keep the children amused. We also visited Ponte Ciolo on the Adriatic side, but although the view, the grotto and the bridge are all spectacular, the ‘beach’ is a dirty concrete ashtray!

Note that it is worth asking Mario and Silvana if you can borrow a beach umbrella, shrimp nets or other beach paraphernalia, as they have a store of goodies which other guests have left behind!

We visited Gallipolli, only 30 minutes’ drive or so away and the old town is lovely to walk around (especially the harbour areas, with all the fisherman selling their morning catch). Santa Maria di Leuca is also worth a trip; no tacky ’Lands End Experience’ but lots of lovely views of the very end of Italy with a good gelataria in the shadow of the spectacular church. Lecce is about an hour’s drive and also a good day out - while we were there it rained for the first time in six months, and there was all sorts of excitement as mothers showed their young babies what rain looked like! The architecture is fascinating, and we can highly recommend the 'Ai Due Corte' restaurant.

Shopping-wise, you can find everything you need on a day-to-day basis in the local shops at Lido Marini (including very good takeaway pizzas and roast chicken if you fancy an easy night in!). The nearest large supermarket is in Presicce (no hypermarkets around here). We couldn’t get the cash point in Lido Marini to work - apparently a common problem - so use the ones in Presicce. We went to Acquarica on market day, and there were lots of stalls selling a selection of clothes, kitchen utensils and local produce (capers, dried tomatoes, hams and cheeses). Market day at Torre Pali was more basic, but handy if you want enormous underwear, saucepans, suggestive beach towels or sparkly plastic shoes!

Specolizzi sells their own olive oil, homemade jams and a range of beauty products (including sun cream) as well as the previously-mentioned ice-creams. You can also buy bottles of local wine from the small bar area.

Note that during office hours you can use their unsecured wi-fi access around the Reception area, although if you are used to broadband you will find it very slow. Mobile phone reception is excellent.

The camping area in the grounds is no longer in use, and I understand more apartments are planned for the future. Work has also started on a ‘Spa/Wellbeing’ area, due to be completed in two years or so.

In summary, Specolizzi is perfect for a ‘getting away from it all’ break, offering peace and tranquillity and the opportunity to visit some fascinating places and try the local Salentine cuisine . The beaches are all gorgeous, and the pool is a perfect oasis in which to relax and enjoy soaking up the sun. Mario and Silvana are perfect hosts and will do everything they can to ensure you have a successful holiday.

  • Liked — Seating area outside
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2005

This converted farm is a gem. The single storey accommodation block looks rather spartan from the outside but the rooms are nice, clean and cool. They have a minibar and air-conditioning if you want to be even cooler and the bathroom is modern. Outside, the courtyard is great to have an aperitif. The pool is quite large for a small place and is in a tropical garden, lovely setting. (There is also a reserved lounger on the beach a mile away but we didn't use it.)

Unusually for Italians, breakfast is in the form of a large brunch (9.00-11.00) of local food, more sweet than savoury but all very good! Also you can buy some products (oil, bottled antipasti, etc) there.

Mario gives excellent (and mainly cheap) restaurant recommendations that you would never find by yourself. One in Patu (10 minutes drive) was superb 'cucina tipica', a very good one in Felline (10 minutes drive) was very good and nice setting in a small old monastery, Li Pali, close by was a nice fish restaurant but beware the price of fresh fish sold by weight. In case you only want to walk the restaurant/hotel next door is OK.

Good days out in this area include a day in Lecce (wonderful baroque city), a walk in Gallipoli and Otranto old towns, a visit to Italys 'Finibus Terrae' (Land's End), a boat trip to visit the caves and grottoes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenuta Specolizzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Specolizzi

Address: S.P. Presicce-Lido Marini, 73050 Salve, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Salve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Salve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Specolizzi Manor is an agritourism located in the Salento area of the region of Puglia, just two kilometers from the Ionian Sea. Immersed in the tranquil greenery of the Mediterranean maquis and surrounded by olive, fig, oleander, eucalyptus, pine trees and prickly pears here you can take in the peaceful and relaxing countryside and, for those who wish it, the sea, thus meeting the needs of the entire family.We are situated in a part of Puglia were long stretches of white sand and dunes frame a limpid and crystalline sea. The loveliest beaches may be found here: Pesculose (known as the Salento Maldives), the Marinas of Ugento, Torre Vado, Torre Mozza, Torre Pali and Lido Marini.From here you can also easily reach the greatest cultural and scenic cities such as Lecce, Santa Maria di Leuca, Gallipoli, Porto Cesareo and Otranto.Guests are welcomed by Mario and Silvana, the proprietors, who offer guests a vacation dedicated to tranquility. The old stables and the manor house barn with its tower were renovated and converted into lodgings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tenuta Specolizzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenuta Specolizzi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.