We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Night's Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lion Hotel to your Saves list
The Lion Hotel
Bridge Street - Belper -, Buckden PE19 5XA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buckden
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Good Night's Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

A one night business stay was well served by the Lion, a very old and characterful hotel. A room over the bar and facing the road I feared would be noisy but not the case. A good sleep was had in a well appointed, clean room. Lots of hot water ,towels, coffee and tea. A good choice for breakfast. Nice to be offered fish, thoroughly enjoyed the kippers. Very good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. We always appreciate feedback from our customers. Thank you especially for letting us know about the fish options on our breakfast being appreciated! They are not always the most popular, and at times we have thought of not having fish on the breakfast menu, however, knowing that it does make a difference to our customers makes us feel that it is the right decision to offer this choice. Thank you for your review, and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    50
    10
    9
    7
See reviews for
11
36
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have stay frequently at this lovely old hotel come pub, it appears to be an old pub (and indeed it is) howvere it has hotel in its name. Est in 1492 it ouzes character, The rooms are standard and what you can expect, a couple of issues. Wifi isnt available in every room which is annoying when staying on business and the other is my old chestnut, the shower. Ive stayed in two of the bedrooms on each occasion the water pressure and control of temp is awful. Apart from these two gripes I have to say the place is worth staying again and again. The service and selection of food is fab. The food is delicious!!!

Room Tip: Will let you know when i find one, room 10 is small and room 8 is great though lacks a decent shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent tripadvisor review. We do realise that sometimes the water in this old building can be an issue. We are trying at the moment to rectify this with the installation of new boilers and pumps, perhaps next time you visit you will see a change. Thank you very much for your positive comments on the hotel also, these are always appreciated. Perhaps next time you book you would like to contact us directly? Either via reception@theloinbuckden.com or 01480810313. If you could possibly let us know when you book which rooms you have stayed in previously, and then we can hopefully allocate you another room to see if there is a difference for you? Many thanks, Rachael Turnock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

It has been some time since we had a meal in the lion. We met up with my wife's best friend and her husband they wanted to go where they had not been before. So we chose the lion for an early evening meal and we were not disappointed. The service and the quality of all of the meals was first class.

Room Tip: Did not stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Working in St Neots, I needed a hotel for the night and to be honest I took a punt on the reviews of The Lion when I made my choice. What a lovely location! Far enough away from work but quick and easy to get there too. An absolutely gorgeous room with a four poster bed. Breakfast was freshly cooked and my room had everything I needed. The best thing of all though was the price - £60 for the night including breakfast! I ate in the hotel on the night I arrived and again the food was first class and well priced. I would not hesitate to return and big thanks to Adam for his help and kind welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My late wife and I were regulars, staying & dining atThe Lion from the mid-70's onwards and seeing it go up and down over the years. Now a widower, I still visit as we have regular Old School Reunions in the village, always gathering at the Lion for our offiicial Luncheons.
When there last year I thought the arrival of Mike & Rachael as General Managers would soon restore it to its former glory - happily confirmed by last weekend's stay. Always comfy, wide menu, excellently prepared dishes & great value all round - particularly when compared with other hotels nearby! The preparations for our meal were perfect - as was the meal itself! Cheerful and competent staff follow the example set by their Managers making the weekend a pleassure. My thanks to all concerned.

Room Tip: Best rooms are perhaps those in the Hotel itself - but don't knock those in the Annexe for they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel was selected from a 'short list' of hotels with available space over the weekend of the England / Italy game....i was one of a group of 4 mates intending to visit the Duxford imperial war museum and wanted accommodation nearby that offered a reasonable priced deal. This place stood out from the crowd...the room prices looked very very reasonable and the 'sample' menu for the restaurant appeared very comprehensive and enticing.

a quick Google search and area search showed it was situated in a small village with 20 minutes of Duxford and at £60 for a twin room was brilliant value.

we arrived in the village which seemed to be 'one street' very busy despite being late Saturday afternoon. there was another hotel opposite and another pub with 75 yards so no shortage of places to visit. the hotel/pub itself is very old world...huge Tudor beams with a nice welcoming feel inside. a lot of the downstairs is handed over to tables for dinners and there is a lunch and evening menu available.

can i say two things here....i have stayed at many hotels and this presented extremely good value for money....ok you might not want this as a honeymoon location but believe me compared to some it was brilliant. the room was large and comfortable. two single beds a large bathroom with shower situated in a separate building within the small car-park.

there is a small amount of off road parking and 7 or so bays outside on the road.

a nice selection of hand pulled ales led us to sample a couple before an evening meal.

THIS was the main surprise. the sample menu on the internet was nothing compared to the actual menu. it was excellent. the service brilliant and attentive and the care delivered by the staff a credit to them. we were stunned by the quality and presentation for what was not an expensive meal......four of us ate brilliant meals all were superb and a i wish i lived nearer to visit more often....i shall however be re booking us in again for next year....if you live nearby then 'use it' and if you fancy a visit to Cambridgeshire and possibly the Duxford museum then this is a brilliant venue to use as a base....

i can't recommend this place highly enough

Room Tip: we were in rooms 25 and 23 i think in the separate annex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

To all the team at the Lion Hotel
Many thanks for hosting our 25th Wedding Anniversary.
We have had so many thank you cards from our guests saying how great the food and how good the hospitality showed by you all.
All that actually stayed the night said how much they enjoyed staying in an old coaching inn with friendly staff and great food.
Well done a faultless performance.
Thank you and our heartfelt thanks.
Nick & Debbie Wastling

Room Tip: speak to the friendly people at the hotel and express your wishes for one of the four poster bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Address: Bridge Street - Belper -, Buckden PE19 5XA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Buckden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buckden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.