We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old Coaching Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Lion Hotel to your Saves list
The Lion Hotel
Bridge Street - Belper -, Buckden PE19 5XA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buckden
The Midlands
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lovely old Coaching Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Four of us had lunch here for the first time on a cold Friday in November. There was a lovely roaring open fire in the main room and there were just a few other diners. We hadn't made a booking and there were plenty of tables available. The website makes the restaurant look shabby but it certainly isn't in real life. The atmosphere is cosy.

We received quick and friendly service and we ordered from the special lunch menu of two courses for £9.95. Everything was beautifully presented, from the crisp white linen napkins to the way our beer battered fish and chips came arranged in a boat of grease proof paper, accompanied by a small dish of minted peas and homemade tartare sauce. The desserts were good portions and home made too.

We will definitely return here for food when we visit our relatives. It is a shame that there were not more people using the restaurant. Use it or lose it folks!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    51
    11
    9
    7
See reviews for
11
38
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SWINDON
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed for just 1 night on business and would not hesitate to recommend. A good sized room with a sitting area and a massive bath to relax in. Food in the bar is homemade and tasty with good sized portions .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury Plain
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were travelling North along the A1. It was lunchtime as we approached Buckden and so we decided to stop for light lunch as we were dining with friends that evening. I had used The Lion, a historic coaching house on the Great North Road, very many years ago. The fact it is in CAMRA's national Good Beer Guide 2013 had nothing to do with our choice as I was driving. We elected to take our break at The Lion rather than the other two hotels in Buckden.

When we arrived, the staff made it very clear, right at the very start, that there had been a catastrophic failure of the kitchen's extractor fans and the statutory safety interlock had shut off the gas supply to their cookers. They explained that their normal menu was therefore unavailable but they could offer us sandwiches and soup. The staff must be given full marks for their honesty.

We chose to stay and we must confess that our home made soup was truly wonderful: absolutely delicious, great recipe, very well prepared, by their chef, and well presented. Their accompanying home made bread was served hot, had a lovely crumbly texture and was so tasty that we had second helpings.

I would like to commend the Lion's staff for dealing with their crisis with calmness, much good grace and customer friendliness. They also had a wedding party to contend with too. They kept calm and carried on! What heroes, well done!!!

We will certainly return to the Lion in the future, if only to dine from their full menu. If the food on their main menus is as good as their soup then we would be in for a real treat..

Room Tip: It can be approached from a slip road heading south on the A1, to the north of the village. It can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Booked two rooms. Took father, 86. Had booked a larger room for him but found stairs too much. Friendly staff moved him to a lovely, cosy single room on ground floor. Room had bath and shower and facilities. His only negative comment was that the lighting was too soft and this was also an issue in the lovely restaurant where I struggled to read the menu. However, the food was excellent and service superb. Our double room was like a suite I the top floor of the annexe. We also had a bath and shower facility. The building is a great example of a coaching inn circa 1400. Good breakfast and busy bar at night. A popular venue with local people and less pretentious than others we have stayed in.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

A value for money hotel, no frills with everything you need. The staff are warm and welcoming and the food in the restaurant is reasonably priced and really good quality. The rooms are functional and the recent upgrade of the wireless network has made this a really convenient location for me.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

An excellent lunch in a lovely hotel. Quite a bargain at two courses for under a tenner and all beautifully presented. Make sure you go round the corner and look at the palace of the bishops of Lincoln and the archetypical fifteenth century church. Find out about the Dukes of Suffolk in the graveyard

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Following the reviews, of which some are a few years old and only refer to the food, I booked a room for one night.
Even though I didn't eat in the pub, it had a lot of character.
The staff are friendly, but the room is more akin to a B & B than a hotel.
The main problem was the bathroon which smelt of damp.
I tried to open the bathroom window, only to find it had been painted shut.
I then reached and pulled down the top sash window to find my fingers covered in mould.
The problem, I found out in the morning, was that the shower screen allowed the water to leak down the bath, pooling on the floor.
This has resulted in the bath panel rotting.
The mastic and grout around the bath was also mouldy.

The bedroom was O.K. The laminated furniture could do with replacing and net curtains would be good at the windows as you look straight across the main road to another hotel. So you have to keep the curtains closed for any privacy.

Unfortunately after showing me to my room, the room door handle came off in the ladys hand! It looked as if had been replaced a number of times.

A few simple things could resolve these issues.

When I mentioned them the next morning, the response was "Yeh, we know. I think a plumbers going to replace all the baths"

This was room 8 incase you stay.

Room Tip: The other reviews say room 1 is good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buckden hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Address: Bridge Street - Belper -, Buckden PE19 5XA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Buckden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buckden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.