We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational, Golf, Food and Wine Country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howlong Country Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Howlong Country Golf Club to your Saves list
Howlong Country Golf Club
1 Golf Club Drive, Howlong, New South Wales 2643, Australia (Formerly Howlong Country Golf Club & Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howlong
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rayliegh, Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sensational, Golf, Food and Wine Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just had a long mid weekend at the Howlong Country Golf Club. The family room whilst oversize for us would be excellent value for that group or family. I know the rooms are being upgraded as part of the Club's bigger picture and for the moment I would have to say it is great value for money. Cleaned every day, flat screen TV with John and Margaret the hosts going out of their way to assist with anything they could. I do not profess to be a golfer, more a crazy person with expensive sticks but hey I enjoy it and I can tell you the course and ground are looking excellent at the moment. The Golf Pro Travis and his team are extremely helpful and gave me a few tips that I noticed immediate improvement in my swing. Eating was sensational at the Chinese with an all you can eat buffet (Wednesday and Saturday) which included soup, fresh prawns, mussels and constant fresh made dishes (about 16 to choose from if I remember), desert, great bar prices served by genuine friendly staff (Thanks Ellen, Karen and the others who I forgot your names). Had Australian meals the next night as there is an excellent bistro with great food on offer if you do not like Chinese. Also went to the Court House Hotel in the main street and found "The Kitchen" restaurant. Melbourne and Sydney prices for food but you will not find better outside of those cities. You will need a car to get around as there is no public transport but hey it's a country town and if you like a walk then it's perfect. The Howlong Bakery also has those great sweet tasty treats that I like but Wifey wont let me have even though I said I could walk it of along the Murray River which is spectacular and is a must to visit with the best views from Lions Park. Did the Wineries in the area which are just over the Murray River in Victoria. Morris Winery great reds and home of the Durif, Tokay and Muscat, St Leonards, All Saints with great Cheese Shop stocking fantastic cheeses, The Wicked Virgin with fantastic Olives, Oils and Tapenades. There are over 20 Wineries that I saw but could not visit but hey next trip I'll just tick some more of the list

Room Tip: If you have group or family go for the family room which works out at fantastic value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The motel is out of walking distance to the town centre so if like us you intend to eat at the Kitchen at the Courthouse restaurant in Howlong it's a long walk unless one of you is the designated driver. The motel is primarily for golfers and fine for a lot of blokes wanting to hit a ball around the fairways but I found the room dark and dismal not helped by the cold brick walls. The furniture needs throwing out and the bathroom, including burgundy towels doesn't make you want to go back for a second go. Breakfast was a choice of packet cereals, bottle juices and bread to toast your own. We paid $104.50 for the pleasure of staying and had to eat at the chinese restaurant in the club house.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend you stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNorris73, Manager at Howlong Country Golf Club, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hi and thank-you for taking the time to write a review on our property.

I agree that the rooms are ready for an update and we have this planned for next year. We do however pride ourselves on maintaining a very clean and comfortable Motel.

Our Chinese restaurant is one of the region's best and our new Peking Duck banquet is an experience not to be missed.

In regards to having to walk to the Courthouse, we do offer a courtesy bus and would have been more than happy to drop you down to the main street of Howlong had you requested.

We will review our breakfast offering but it is includede as a complimentary service and is not charged additional to the room rate.

Warm regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed recently for 2 nights, fantastic deal with golf, cooked bfast, wine tasting ,chocys, Keno etc. Room large, well appointed, very clean and comfortable, electric blankets. Club friendly service, meals good. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Only stayed one night but thoroughly enjoyed it. Roomy and extremely clean and cheery. A short walk around the back takes you to the Golf Club where we had an excellent chinese meal, then sat outdoors overlooking the golf course for a drink. Would definately stay again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Stayed recently for two nights, very clean and comfortable for a country hotel, was impressed with the size of the room and the helpfulness of the staff. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howlong Country Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howlong Country Golf Club

Address: 1 Golf Club Drive, Howlong, New South Wales 2643, Australia (Formerly Howlong Country Golf Club & Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Howlong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howlong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Howlong Country Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howlong Country Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.