We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alison J” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Memories of India

Memories of India
4 Newtonloan Toll, Gorebridge EH23 4LZ, Scotland
01875 820 099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 restaurants in Gorebridge
Price range: $11 - $35
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Alison J”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

I read the mixed reviews for this restaurant but as I was in the area thought I would give it a try. Found it to be good value for money, pleasant waiter and food good. Would certainly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    24
    14
    4
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I must say that I had very low expectations before I ate at 'Memories of India', but my family and I were very pleasantly surprised!!
The service was fantastic, the menu was extensive, the decor very tasteful and the staff could not have been more helpful. Being from Leeds, we eat Indian food in Leeds and Bradford regularly so are quite hard to please, however both our meals at 'Memories of India' were excellent and I would not hesitate to recommend it.
The only thing that slightly irritated me is that they don't have a kids menu, they just knock £1 off the adult price - most Indian restaurants will do a 'half portion' from the normal menu, or offer selected kids meals (ie Korma, Tikka Massala etc) for a reduced price.
That's probably just me being picky, overall I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Fabbydozey!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

No matter what part of he country I am in I cannot wait to get back to this amazing restaurant. The food, staff and ambience are all superb. I can honestly say this is the best Indian restaurant I have eaten in, by far, in the UK. Callum and the boys are always very friendly and cannot do enough for you. If you havent tried it, RUN all the way............

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor standard of food and slow service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I had to sit for ten minutes before even being served. My drinks took roughly the same amount of time to arrive and I was starving after waiting for 20 mins. My food came about 15 mins later too.

My vindaloo wasn't hot enough after I asked for it being very hot. it was also on the aslty side and had too much paprika put in it which was highly unpleasant. My rogan josh was too tough and dry- the lamb was akin to leather. Furthermore it cost a lot!

The toilets were a little mucky and could do with a good clean.

Overall I had an unenjoyable experience here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazzing service but lacks on food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Came here for a sit in anf must say that the place is very small but nicely decorated. Service here is terrific, fast and friendly.

However the food is bog-standard. My samosas were too greasy as so were my curries but they were more than edible.

The premisies appear to be clean.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memories of India also viewed

Gorebridge, Midlothian
Gorebridge, Midlothian
 
Dalkeith, Midlothian
Bonnyrigg, Midlothian
 

Been to Memories of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memories of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.