We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hard to find fault” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos des Fontaines

Save Saved
You added Le Clos des Fontaines to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Clos des Fontaines
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Rue des Fontaines, 76480 Jumieges, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Jumieges
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very hard to find fault”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as a stopover on a longer journey of Normandy. Really impressed with every aspect of the hotel. Excellent and plentiful breakfast with very fresh food. Swimming pool was a real bonus with the added benefit of being heated. Rooms were of a good size and standard, easily accommodating my family. The hotel was very child friendly, with the hotel ensuring that we had everything we needed for our TWO small children during our stay.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as either a stop over or a longer stay in a lovely location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    26
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
64
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Spent two glorious warm sunny days here in August. Beautiful peaceful setting in wonderful Normandy countryside. Spread over a pretty courtyard the rooms are in converted old barns, well styled, furnished and equipped. Large comfortable bed, great views and the bathroom under the eaves had a Jacuzzi bath!

Small heated swimming pool next to the spa a good place to relax. Breakfast could be improved with the addition of fresh fruit, but the coffee is delicious.

Room Tip: All the guests peace was shattered by an English family with three small bored children who appeared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stopped here on the way back to Calais from South of France as wanted to have a short drive the next day and didn't want to stay in a big city like Rouens or Paris. Really lovely hotel with excellent facilities in the gorgeous chocolate box little town of Jumieges. Arrived quite late and were immediately asked if we would like some food, which we didn't but nice touch. Personally shown to our room (standard king - "Fortune") which was more than suitable for a night's stay. Lots of small buildings set in well manicured grounds with a lovely warm swimming pool (sadly it rained so didn't use it!). Had a very good breakfast, which for 15euros may be rather steep if you're staying more than a night or 2. But large buffet selection which more than satisfied a 6 month pregnant woman!! The town of Jumieges is delightful and the Abbey well worth a visit. The only warning I would give is that if like us, you arrive from the other side of the river and need to use the ferry (free - about 2 mins to cross) be aware that it stops at 9pm! We just made it, not even knowing it was there!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was an interesting hotel, having separate small buildings housing 2-4 suites each. Depending on how one gets there, it may involve a ferry crossing over the Seine. Close by, and just adjacent to the northern ferry landing is an outstanding restaurant (service, staff, and food). It's also only a short walk downtown to shops, La Poste, etc, not to mention the fairly well preserved Abbaye de Jumieges. Le Clos has a very pleasant central dining area for breakfast. It focuses on it's very nice pool and grounds, and in warm weather this would be an unbeatable combination.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent one night here during our recent visit to France, as it was close to Caudebec-en-Caux, which we wanted to explore but we couldn't find any reasonably priced rooms in Caudebec-en-Caux so we chose Jumieges. We are very glad we did stay here - we were in Kyoto room, which is ground floor, set off from the main building and very peaceful so we had a great night's sleep. The room is cosy, with exposed wooden beams and incredibly clean with a comfortably sized shower and good toiletries. The hotel has a pool and a spa - so remember your swim wear! We lounged by the pool for a couple of hours in the evening as it was lovely and warm outside.

Only hitch was that we had no bathroom door (although I think other rooms do have one) - we had a funky little screen that we could draw across the door, but when you want to use the toilet it's a bit too much information for your better half!

Nevertheless, we would definitely go back to this beautiful place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on the first night of our holiday from lOndon as a family of 4. I was a little worried about my booking at this hotel because the drive was slightly out of our way, and the price was the top end of our budget. But I wanted to start our holiday with a bit of luxury and I have to say clos des fontaines absolutely hit the spot. The beds were so comfortable and the location peaceful that it only took one night and a morning in the pool and jacuzzi to make us feel like we'd already been away a week. All four of us (including a 4 year old and a baby) were made to feel at home. Others have said it all. But I do want to reiterate how lovely the staff were, very accommodating of the children and their needs. I really love that - when you stay in an ultra swish place, and yet no one minded when my son jumped in the pool with an inflatable turtle and Ben 1O armbands!

Like others who have reviewed I would have Preferred a restaurant on site. But the hotel recommended a lovely place on the seine, it was well worth the very lovely 15 min walk. Next time I'm staying two nights, even if it means making a few sacrifices elsewhere to afford the high season rate and suPplement for children!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Nice little place in a charming village near to the Abbey. No restaurant, and options nearby are limited so advise you take the staff up on their offer to book somewhere at their recommended restaurant - we didn't, it was fully booked, and the alternatives were not great. Note also that this is not a "full service" hotel, so don't expect to wander back late in the evening and find the bar open!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Clos des Fontaines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos des Fontaines

Address: 191 Rue des Fontaines, 76480 Jumieges, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Jumieges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Jumieges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Clos des Fontaines 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Girded by the majestic loops of the Seine and set amidst the apple orchards, Domaine Le Clos des Fontaines reserves a gracious welcome for all its guests. In the unique quality of light cherished by so many painters, the typically Norman half-timbering, mellow brickwork and dressed stone meld perfectly with the idyllic surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Le Clos des Fontaines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Des Fontaines Hotel Jumieges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos des Fontaines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.